We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no more...Hotel Valencia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Ranked #6 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
stafford, tx
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Look no more...Hotel Valencia”
Reviewed February 3, 2009

From the time we pulled up this Hotel screamed modern luxury. We are... well I am early 30's (she's mid 20s). Hotel Valencia...lets start with check in....no problems....Got to our room...It was beautiful. Entry way layed with mahogany wood....bathroom was gorgeous....white marble everywhere and his and her robes...Berber carpet entering the bed room....Faux mink throw with "goose down" everything...Pillows for days..hard ones..soft ones....42'' LCD TV was great after coming home from a night on the town... eating the best 3am room service food ever....Though there is also a mini bar in the room...can coke was over $3.00 and beer was higher...Can't put a price on convenience. The BEST part about our room was the BALCONY....It over looked the River Walk....We slept with doors open....skyline was nice...As far proximity to attractions...food, bars and shopping...you could really walk to everything.....Only complaint I had is parking....Valet is like $25.00 plus per night......The parking garage is a couple blocks away...but unprotected...plus if it rains.....Overall this hotel is by far the best hotel in San Antonio....Oh you have to go to Howl at the Moon...

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank daybien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,093
    560
    219
    134
    73
See reviews for
485
1,254
87
603
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (725)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2009

Just returned form our first stay at the Valencia booked by American Express. It is always exciting to see the boutique hotels they recommend for us. The Valencia didn't disappoint in any way...Check In was smooth, no surprises, the hotel was really cool.. However the service was like you may expect at at Howard Johnson's.... near the airport..... in Wichita.
I don't think we will be returning. I am sure we are spoiled, like that button on your phone for room service is more like a crank call you make to yourself... ordering food that never arrives.

  • Liked — Lobby and upgrade
  • Disliked — Service...food...
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lisasamex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin,tx
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2009

Overall, it was a unique experience, but not one that was pleasant enough for us to return to. The staff training is lacking and service is rather amatuerish.

Room comments:

Only book the Riverwalk view rooms if you can tolerate the noise on the riverwalk and if you don't mind walking up to the window and looking down or diagonally to see the riverwalk. The city view room ($50 less) was a much better view.

There isn't any storage in the rooms - this place is not really meant for long stays or going with kids. They don't have a trash bin in the room - ran a bit too far with the 'minimalist theme'.

Service comments:

People were friendly, but many mistakes. We were told the rooms would have 42" plasmas - our room had an old tube TV. The phones didn't work in two rooms. People complained of getting wake up calls when none was set up. Valet rates are through the roof!

Overall, I am glad we only paid $170 for our room. It was a unique experience - but service was generally lacking - but that maybe part of the 'hipness' of the hotel?

  • Liked — courtyard, proximity to riverwalk and downtown
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kyuriostraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
1 review
Reviewed January 17, 2009

We had an awesome stay at Hotel Valencia. The atmosphere is extremely relaxing and very cool. We were upgraded to a court yard view which was very nice. We enjoyed sitting on our balcony and watching the fire/waterfall. At check in we mentioned it was our anniversary and within moments of getting to our room they showed up with Champagne and chocolate covered strawberries. They are running a special in January called a Bed and Breakfast special. This gives you free valet and free breakfast. Our breakfast came right on time and was great. Our room was clean and very relaxing. The pillows were comfy, the towels were oversized. We plan on going back for sure and will be our hotel of choice from now on when we visit.

  • Liked — Atmosphere, value, relaxing vibe
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lcall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanazawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2009

Good location, nice room, but the worst services.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Services
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Rossa308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2009

I'm really glad I read reviews of Hotel Valencia before I decided to stay there. The reviews were spot on! The hotel is exactly as pictured on their website. If you like bright lighting in your hotels, then I would recommend not booking here. The lobby is very dark. I loved it. The courtyard was so beautiful at night, and in daylight it is even more enchanting! The check-in gentleman was super friendly. The rooms are definitely reminiscent of W hotels. I especially liked the dimmer switch in the bathroom! The room can be dark, or if you turn on all the lights in the room it can be bright as well! Also, I actually preferred the Hotel Valencia being located away from the major riverwalk traffic. I know some people prefer to walk out of their hotel into all the foot traffic, but not me. It was the perfect location in my opinion. The first night we were in the mood for Italian so we started walking along the riverwalk from our hotel. Then we stumbled onto Stefania's Dolores del Rio Italian restaurant and I absolutely recommend it! It's got so much character, and the food is excellent! I look forward to going back there soon. And I'll definitely be staying at Hotel Valencia again.

  • Liked — Staff, beautiful courtyard, rooms
  • Disliked — A slight damp, musty smell in my room. My friends did not have the same issue, however.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aurore_george
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2008

The Hotel was well situated on the River Walk, with friendly staff and facilities easily accessible. Hotel Restaurant positioned for classic views and more special was walking distance to most tour sites i.e The Alamo. Rich in History as San Antonio was, more precious was to see the oldest Catholic Church in America. The Hotel Courtyard was stunning. The entrance Lobby dimmed with light created a spacious feeling of walking into a Movie theatre. Bar facilities and lounge were great to meet new friends. San Antonio closes at 2am, so enjoy every waking hour while you can. All in all, I had a great stay and would return.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything at all.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ms_Aquarian_One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 358 in San Antonio
3,789 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Contessa
#7 of 358 in San Antonio
3,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
3,051 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 358 in San Antonio
1,497 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valencia Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Property: Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Address: 150 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valencia Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the San Antonio River Walk, within walking distance of the Alamo, Hotel Valencia Riverwalk is a boutique hotel in the heart of downtown San Antonio. Hotel Valencia is ideal for a romantic or weekend getaway, a business trip or a group or convention. Our hotel is a short walk from the San Antonio Convention Center, downtown attractions and only a short drive to The Pearl, theme parks and various golf courses. Enjoy signature cocktails in Naranja bar and dine in Dorregos Restaurant. Amenities include signature beds with Egyptian cotton linens, complimentary continental breakfast and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Valencia Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valencia Riverwalk Hotel
Valencia Riverwalk San Antonio
Hotel Valencia San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing