We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very soothing and relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Ranked #10 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very soothing and relaxing stay”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Upon entering, the waterfall, low lighting and candles helped you feel relaxed immediately. The staff at the desk were very nice and helpful. The rooms were clean and the bed was amazing! so comfortable! My husband and I stayed 3 nights over 4th of July. the location was great- really close to the Riverwalk. There was a great sitting area outside on the third floor that had a waterfall and they lit a fire at night, which was peaceful after a busy day on the Riverwalk. My only negative would be that there is no pool.

Room Tip: We had a city view room on the 10th floor, which was great because it minimized traffic sounds below...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,994
    549
    216
    132
    72
See reviews for
458
1,210
83
575
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2014

My husband and I decided that, after 34 years of marriage, we needed to have our first date night on the Riverwalk. We chose to stay at this lovely hotel at the recommendation of many, and couldn't be more pleased with our stay. From the moment we walked in, we were treated so well by all of the staff-- we wish we could remember all of their names, but I can definitely tell you that each and every one of them were incredibly friendly and you can tell that they love working at such an awesome place!
How often does the General Manager of the hotel come up and personally greet you?? Chad Taylor did just that when we arrived, and took the time to walk us to the elevator and recommend some dishes for our dinner reservations that evening at Citrus. You can tell how passionate he is about his hotel and the guest experience.
Everyone, from our waiters Logan and Greg, Ivan, who was managing the restaurant that night, to the valet boys (Jonathan, so sweet!), was so kind and helpful!!
The decor is beautiful, the beds are super comfortable (I'm very picky about my mattresses), and the atmosphere was unforgettable.
We will be back and will be bringing our friends to share such a wonderful experience!!!

Room Tip: We had a room with a view into the courtyard-- wonderful balcony and loved being able to look down a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Valencia a few months ago to propose to my now fiance, and I still think about it everyday. I recently stayed in a hotel in Dallas, Tx and although it was nice, after comparing it to the Hotel Valencia it didn't even come close. The customer service at the Valencia definitely puts it over the top. Wayne Stout made my trip one to never forget. Mr. Stout will help you every step of the way no matter what you are planning and make you feel like nothing is more important to him. If you are looking for a romantic getaway with a staff that wants nothing more than to keep you happy, then this is the place for you. Ask for Wayne Stout!!!

Room Tip: The junior suites are incredible! Just plan for some loud noise at the Vbar if you are planning to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skoch4717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We were surprised by this hotel! We never expected it to be so beautiful! My daughter even said...wow!! this is just a fancy hotel! On top of the excellent service and wonderful and cozy ambience, we were able to have a one-on-one encounter with efficient and excellent staff. Greg Pedrazive, server at the Citrus, was able to recommend and explain the different food for breakfast. He even got us maps and gave us directions as to where to get the best cowboy boots! Housekeepers Rubi and Rosa A. relentlessly cleans and upgrades amenities in our room. We know this are their jobs but we felt they have exceeded as to what is expected from them. Next time we travel, we will make sure to check out the Valencia Group of hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PrivateJDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft myers
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Valencia from 7/3/14-7/6/14. It was an extremely busy time and the hotel was bustling. The only reason I did not give a 5 is because housekeeping services were very limited. I think it was likely due to how busy the hotel was. They did send staff to see if we needed anything late in the afternoon but had received any services prior. Not a huge deal for us but can't give a 5 :) The Valet Supervisor, Israel Gonzales is awesome! We asked about his thoughts on restaurants and he provided us with 2 recommendations that were superb! He was helpful with giving us information about things to do and see in the area and options for transportation since we did not have a car. He definitely helped our weekend trip to be as enjoyable as it was. The room itself was very comfortable and well appointed and the hotel is in a great location. Would definitely recommend it for a stay in San Antonio

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swcm09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We booked this hotel with part of our Qantas miles so we got it for $75/night during the 4th of July weekend. As most downtown hotel it's very chaotic from a traffic/parking standpoint. The valet parking logistic is not partiuclarly good, people waited for an hour for their vehicile after they checked out.

We arrived at 5pm, didn't get a handicap room and waited 1.5 hours for them to get the room ready and it was still not ready by the time we headed for dinner. The hotel needs some updating (i.e. bathroom, and you can tell the TV is pretty dated). The hotel is very trendy, but the 'flow' is not good, the front desk is on the 2nd floor and there is a big staircase in the middle of it and take up so much usable space - when people have a bunch of luggage who is going to use the stairs? We had breakfast in the restaurant Citrus which was really good. There is really nothing 'really wrong' about this hotel, the room is quiet, the bed is comfy and the courtyard is cool. But as a hotel like this people expect more. We were wanting to stay an extra night (Sunday night, which is typically not a busy night) and the front desk agent told me that since you booked with the 3rd party, blah blah blah...and that would be $198.00. So, no thank you. I think for $75.00 a night I am definitely happy with what I am getting, however I would not pay close to $200/night for this.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was my first time visiting San Antonio. The hotel is very beautiful and located on the river walk. Israel Gonzales the Doorman/Valet Supervisor is a wonderful asset to this hotel - he gives excellent suggestions and was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaeschelleL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,563 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,083 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valencia Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Property: Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Address: 150 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valencia Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the San Antonio River Walk, within walking distance of the Alamo, Hotel Valencia Riverwalk is a boutique hotel in the heart of downtown San Antonio. Hotel Valencia is ideal for a romantic or weekend getaway, a business trip or a group or convention. Our hotel is a short walk from the San Antonio Convention Center, downtown attractions and only a short drive to The Pearl, theme parks and various golf courses. Enjoy signature cocktails in Naranja bar and dine in Dorregos Restaurant. Amenities include signature beds with Egyptian cotton linens, complimentary continental breakfast and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Valencia Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valencia Riverwalk Hotel
Valencia Riverwalk San Antonio
Hotel Valencia San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing