We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Ranked #11 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
ft myers
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Valencia from 7/3/14-7/6/14. It was an extremely busy time and the hotel was bustling. The only reason I did not give a 5 is because housekeeping services were very limited. I think it was likely due to how busy the hotel was. They did send staff to see if we needed anything late in the afternoon but had received any services prior. Not a huge deal for us but can't give a 5 :) The Valet Supervisor, Israel Gonzales is awesome! We asked about his thoughts on restaurants and he provided us with 2 recommendations that were superb! He was helpful with giving us information about things to do and see in the area and options for transportation since we did not have a car. He definitely helped our weekend trip to be as enjoyable as it was. The room itself was very comfortable and well appointed and the hotel is in a great location. Would definitely recommend it for a stay in San Antonio

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swcm09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,876
    527
    212
    132
    72
See reviews for
432
1,170
78
528
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (673)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

We booked this hotel with part of our Qantas miles so we got it for $75/night during the 4th of July weekend. As most downtown hotel it's very chaotic from a traffic/parking standpoint. The valet parking logistic is not partiuclarly good, people waited for an hour for their vehicile after they checked out.

We arrived at 5pm, didn't get a handicap room and waited 1.5 hours for them to get the room ready and it was still not ready by the time we headed for dinner. The hotel needs some updating (i.e. bathroom, and you can tell the TV is pretty dated). The hotel is very trendy, but the 'flow' is not good, the front desk is on the 2nd floor and there is a big staircase in the middle of it and take up so much usable space - when people have a bunch of luggage who is going to use the stairs? We had breakfast in the restaurant Citrus which was really good. There is really nothing 'really wrong' about this hotel, the room is quiet, the bed is comfy and the courtyard is cool. But as a hotel like this people expect more. We were wanting to stay an extra night (Sunday night, which is typically not a busy night) and the front desk agent told me that since you booked with the 3rd party, blah blah blah...and that would be $198.00. So, no thank you. I think for $75.00 a night I am definitely happy with what I am getting, however I would not pay close to $200/night for this.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was my first time visiting San Antonio. The hotel is very beautiful and located on the river walk. Israel Gonzales the Doorman/Valet Supervisor is a wonderful asset to this hotel - he gives excellent suggestions and was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RaeschelleL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

my girlfriend and I booked 4th of july weekend there for our first time ever to san antonio and loved it. excellent location with a lot to do walking distance from there. very nice hotel, great showers, great bed, service was awesome. best bartenders ever, jenny and richard were awesome. if we ever come back to san antonio we will be staying there for sure.
highly recommend it to anyone thinking of a trip to that wonderful city.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was our 1st time to the Hotel Valencia. The hotel room was clean, spacious, quiet, and comfortable.The entire staff was exceptionally friendly with special acknowledgement to Israel Gonzales and his staff. When traveling, you never know for sure if you're going to a great restaurant and rely mostly on word-of-mouth. Israel went out his way to recommended restaurants that offered some of the best meals we ever had. He also gave us ideas on things-to-do that were away from the main tourist attractions. The Hotel Valencia was our "home away from home" and always looked forward to our return after hours of sightseeing.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Valencia in May for our 15th anniversary. We stay in a Suite overlooking the riverwalk. All the staff was wonderful. Nicole Phillips was awesome, she made our stay very romantic. There was a bucket of ice with wine and beer, including snacks. The bed was wonderful, did not want to get out of it and the room was beautiful. We have been to the hotel once before and each time was treaded amazingly. We will continue to go back to the Valencia for our anniversaries!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for the proximity to the Majestic Theater, but really we were spoiled by the hotel and staff. Easy in/easy out. Valet parking simple and affordable. Bobby greeted us at entry, everytime we went out and on departure. He was gracious and genuinely helpful, also assisted in upgrading our room to a river view with balcony. TIP: ask for third floor overlooking the River, you get a balcony and chairs to enjoy the view. Rooms were well appointed and the bed was comfy. We liked EVERYTHING. Highly recommend this hotel for location, comfort, friendliness, and value.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,378 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#9 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,000 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valencia Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Property: Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Address: 150 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valencia Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the historic San Antonio River Walk, Hotel Valencia Riverwalk is a boutique hotel in San Antonio located in the heart of downtown. Hotel Valencia is ideal for a romantic or weekend getaway, a business trip or a group or convention. Our hotel is within walking distance of the Alamo and other downtown attractions and only a short drive to Sea World, Six Flags Fiesta Texas and various golf courses. Enjoy signature cocktails in Vbar and dine in the acclaimed Citrus Restaurant. Amenities include signature beds with Egyptian cotton linens, complimentary high speed internet and newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Valencia Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valencia Riverwalk Hotel
Valencia Riverwalk San Antonio
Hotel Valencia San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing