We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite nice, good service, restaurant may be sliding.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Ranked #11 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Sanford, FL
Level Contributor
62 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Quite nice, good service, restaurant may be sliding.”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We spent four days here to celebrate a birthday and enjoyed our stay. The personnel are very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The room was Riverwalk view, however on the 10th floor, that does not hold much charm as the real view is the air conditioning on adjoining hotel roofs. Opt for a lower floor or forgo the "view". The room was comfortable with the exception of an overstuffed chair situated in front of the thermostat and mirror. Climbing over to see yourself or adjust the temperature was inconvenient.
The Citrus restaurant had excellent service and a very nice breakfast menu. We did not go there for dinner as the menu did not entice us.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OscarandAvivasMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear OscarandAvivasMom,

We appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to write a review. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay. It's very rewarding to see you mention the friendliness of the staff.

It would be great if your travels bring you back to San Antonio. We would love to have you return. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance.

Sincerely,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,035
    551
    217
    132
    72
See reviews for
467
1,229
85
584
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (710)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Have stayed here before. Nice hotel on riverwalk. FYI - If you are light sleeper choose court yard view rm. The court yard closes at 10pm and the only thing I heard was the water feature, soothing. Rooms here have nice balcony with 2 chairs & table, however, they are not private. Service is great here. Hotel is in nice area with restaurants & shopping nearby. You are in walking distance to so many things....Market Square (Mexican Market), Alamo, fun attractions for the kids, etc. Beautiful lobby to meet friends or just relax. Hotel Valencia has a calming zen-like feel to it. I will return!

Room Tip: Court yard view rooms are quiet. City view and riverwalk view rooms can be quite noisy late at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Becky C,

We are glad you enjoyed your trip to San Antonio and your time in the hotel. The comments regarding the features and décor of the hotel are greatly appreciated. Thank you for sharing your experience with others.

We look forward to having you back when you make it back down. Let us know if we can be of any assistance until then.

Thank you,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

This is a very hip and cool hotel located right on the river walk. The staff is friendly and the manager was very attentive. The weight room is small but very nice and they have two restaurants and a bar. Rooms are nice, clean, and my girlfriend was impressed she could charge her iPhone 5 in the room after leaving her charger in the car. Valet parking only.

This hotel is right on the river walk with access by stairs or elevator. The elevator was very handy in our case because we were traveling with an elderly woman with limited mobility. Just take a left and you are a short walk to the Alamo.

I reserved two rooms through Hotwire for a one night stay on 04-23-14. I called ahead to ask for a handicap accessible room since we were traveling with my girlfriend’s elderly mother who has trouble with mobility. When we arrived at 3:00 PM they had two adjoining rooms reserved for us with one a handicap room. Our room was ready but her mother’s wasn’t. The second room was ready an hour later but unfortunately smelled like smoke. In the end we wound up with rooms on two different floors, but we did have another accessible room.

My girlfriend and her mother were very agitated because of the wait, smell, and necessity of moving to another floor. Rudy was the manager on duty and he handled the situation and guests with professional ease. He calmed them both down, apologized for any inconvenience, and gave us a complimentary breakfast. Everyone was happy after that and Rudy even saw us off the next day opening the car doors for the ladies.

What impressed me was the way the staff went out of their way to accommodate the room request. Sometimes when I book through Hotwire the staff is very inflexible

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Ray N,

What a great Review! Thank you for staying with us and sharing you experience with others. It's disappointing to see we didn't get your room right the first time however good to see we recovered. Rudy is a valuable asset to our hotel and he and his team are relentless in their effort to provide exceptional service.

We hope you have the opportunity to make it back down to the Riverwalk again soon and hope to see you in the hotel. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance until then.

Sincerely,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I was here for a business meeting and had a most relaxing stay. The rooms are very spacious and free from clutter. I had a room which opened onto the interior courtyard - loved the fountain and flames. The low level of lighting in rooms and public spaces is very soothing. The bar/lounge areas are very comfortable too. The best thing is the location, right along the Riverwalk. I'll be back if I return to San Antonio.

Room Tip: Rooms that open to the interior courtyard are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beau S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Beau S,

We appreciate you staying with us at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk and taking the time to write such a great 5-star review. We also believe we have the best location on the Riverwalk, just around the corner from the noisier part, and walkable to SAMA and the Pearl. Thank you for this and the other kind mentions.

We are happy to have had you in the hotel and look forward to your next visit. Let us know if we can be of assistance until then.

Sincerely,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Overall, we had a great stay. My kids loved the room.

Valet service was great, lots of friendly staff ready to meet your needs. The bell hop delivered our luggage while we checked in, very convenient! The room was nice (two beds) but my only complaint would be the drawer space. There was a 3'x4' closet and only two inlaid drawers below the room safe, not counting the bedside drawer. The room had a nice long countertop/shelf that was very useful but the space underneath was empty. Perhaps the management should consider adding more drawer space there. Breakfast at the Citrus was great, they have a buffet with lots of options. My kids loved room service as well.

Great location! Away from the main Riverwalk activities but close enough to get there (about one block away). There is a drugstore (Walgreen Drugs) a block away on Houston (to the right as you exit the main hotel entrance), along with two coffee houses (Starbucks and "Sip"). On Houston there several dining options as well.

I would definitely consider staying here next time in San Antonio.

Room Tip: If you don't like overstuffed pillows consider packing your own. The bed and linens were in goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Mike L,

It was great to have you as a guest at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk. Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful survey and share your experience with others. It means everything to us to see you enjoyed your stay.

Please let know the next time you plan on visiting San Antonio. We would love to have you return to the hotel.

Thank you,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The person who posted the comment about the wifi below was correct, and even got a response from management. But,I'm staying at the hotel right now and the wifi is either not working, and when it does is super slow. I've called three times and in all instances I've been told they don't know of any problem. I will not stay here again, and will not recomend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Jose V,

We really appreciate you staying with us and appreciate your feedback. We understand that effective, consistent Wi-Fi is an essential when traveling and we apologize for the poor experience.

We are in the process of upgrading, as you saw from my response to the previous guest with the same issue. We have received the new equipment for the install and are just awaiting the install date from the service provider. We look forward to having this up and running ASAP.

We hope to see you return to the hotel in the near future and get your feedback on the upgrade. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance until then.

Thank you,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Delighted with our stay on March 16-18. Staff recovered nicely from Spring Break/SXSW festival held in nearby Austin last week. Our room was even ready for an hour early check in on a Sunday. Nicely done and much appreciated. Five stars for the attention to small details and in room amenities. Genuinely friendly folks, as we have come to expect everywhere in San Antonio where hospitality is an ingrained cultural value. We WILL do it again. Soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room. A limited number are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Rick S,

The 5-star review means a lot to us. We are glad to see you enjoyed your experience. It is easier to run a successful hotel when you fill it with people engrained with Texas hospitality. Thank you for taking the time to mention the associates.

We look forward to doing it all over again the next time you make it up to San Antonio. Please reach out to us if we can be an any assistance whatsoever.

Sincerely,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 355 in San Antonio
3,661 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#10 of 355 in San Antonio
3,136 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 355 in San Antonio
1,456 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#14 of 355 in San Antonio
2,799 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valencia Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Property: Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Address: 150 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valencia Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the San Antonio River Walk, within walking distance of the Alamo, Hotel Valencia Riverwalk is a boutique hotel in the heart of downtown San Antonio. Hotel Valencia is ideal for a romantic or weekend getaway, a business trip or a group or convention. Our hotel is a short walk from the San Antonio Convention Center, downtown attractions and only a short drive to The Pearl, theme parks and various golf courses. Enjoy signature cocktails in Naranja bar and dine in Dorregos Restaurant. Amenities include signature beds with Egyptian cotton linens, complimentary continental breakfast and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Valencia Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valencia Riverwalk Hotel
Valencia Riverwalk San Antonio
Hotel Valencia San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing