We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic and relaxing in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Ranked #5 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This is a romantic hotel with a zen like feeling. When you walk in the hotel there is a waterfall creating a tranquil and soothing noise. The front desk is on the 2nd floor (you will want to remember that upon arrival). My wife and I stayed in a courtyard room overlooking the waterfalls. The courtyard rooms on the 4th and 5th floor come with a table and chairs out on the balcony. The plants in the courtyard are nice to wake up to along with the fire at the bottom of the waterfall at night. The room was very quiet with lights that dim to set the mood after a night on the riverwalk. The beds were very soft with high quality bedding. The bar and lounge also have a romantic vibe. The hotel is less than 5-10 minutes walking distance to everything on the riverwalk (including the mall) but not located in the heart of everything on the river. For that reason it is a quiet. There is a modern mexican resturant in the hotel that has exellant food and views facing the river for reasonable prices. We ate there twice. There are two restaurants and we didn't eat at the other one. If your looking for romance this is probably the best on the riverwalk. We visit the riverwalk yearly. If your looking for a bright hotel to take your kids or a family hotel, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcusdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Marcusdale,

We are happy to have had you stay with us at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others. The 5-star review is greatly appreciated.

We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you make it down from Austin. Let us know if we can be of any assistance until then.

Thank you,

Trent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,117 - 2,123 of 3,117 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Valencia this past weekend (12/6-12-8). The staff was very nice, but we immediately ran into problems within 5 minutes of being in our room. The window overlooking the riverwalk had beautiful wooden blinds that were.....broken. Blinds were hanging down at an angle from one side and the wood was split at the connections. We called down to the front desk and they immediately sent someone up. However, the 'repair' man simply pushed the original pin into the splintered, still-broken wood and just told us to be careful with it. The wooden blinds are on a frame that is supposed to open so you can get a look at the riverwalk. Ours didn't open more then 4 inches because the top of the frame hits a part of the ceiling. Good thing we paid extra for that riverwalk view that we couldn't look at because of poor design and broken blinds.....

Our next issue was that we didn't have an iron and had to call down again for someone to bring an iron up. Admittedly, this wasn't not a huge problem and not our main area of contention.

After having 2 people in our room during our short stay, we decided we could just get over the fact that one of the light bulbs was burnt out.

In the bathroom, the faucet for the bath tub was disconnected from the tile and actually moved back and forth. The textured stripping to help people not slip in the tub was loose and peeled up. It was disgusting to feel that flop around on your feet as you're trying to take a shower.

Interested in brushing your teeth? Better be quick about it. If you left the sink on for any time longer than a few seconds, the sink backed up and took a while to drain.

When it was (finally) time to check out, we got out of their as fast as we could. Again, the staff was very nice and we didn't have a single complaint about them. However, the price set for this experience is miles above what is delivered.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Ryan D,

We appreciate you staying with us and, while painful to read, really appreciate you taking the time to complete an objective review. It means a lot that you took the time to mention the staff however it is disappointing to see you had such issues with your accommodations. I have reviewed the room with our Director of Housekeeping and we can assure you that we will tighten our inspection process as a result of your feedback. We (the whole team) apologize for the poor experience.

We are better than what you have experienced. I encourage you to contact me at your convenience so that I can ensure this is not your last impression of our accommodations.

Sincerely,

Trent

tfreeman@valenciagroup.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Checkout 11/30/13 (room 0423) for 3 nights with 3rd night FREE deducted at checkout. King Bed room overlooks GOOD Riverview. Enjoyed Friday eve holiday floats parade. Room Service is 24/7 and priced well. Bed was clouds of HEAVEN, shower pressure was HEAVENLY and the Staff made me feel like I went to HEAVEN. Valet Parket was $29 day. Never had to call to request my car because everything was centralized within walking distance unless you chose to pay a minimal river taxi fee to get from point A,B,C unless you buy the $10 Unlimited Daily Pass (worth the cost). Had to use car once on Thanksgiving Day to drive into suburbs for dinner and valet had car waiting for BOTH dropoff and pickup at front hotel door entrance. Paid $149 per nt promotional rate and worth EVERY DOLLAR Amt thereafter. Perfect location for seniors, family with kids and singles, etc.

PS: THANK YOU Valencia for the Complimentary Champagne with box of chocolates!

Room Tip: Always request a room opposite from street view within your MEMO of Resv' for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mr B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Mr. B,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an awesome 5-star review! We are truly glad to see you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in San Antonio.

Sincerely,

Trent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed at the Valencia one night and it was a first class experience. It was Thanksgiving night and the hotel was decorated for the holidays. All the service people were first class. At breakfast we asked about a New York Times. During breakfast someone appeared with one - he had gone to the nearby Starbuck's to buy the paper for us. Wish we had stayed longer, and we will next time. My kind of hotel, smallish, stylish and quiet.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 56003Nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear 56003Nancy,

It is rewarding to see we were able to provide you with a 5-star experience during your stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to complete your review.

We are also sorry to see you couldn't stay longer however we look forward to having you back the next time you make it over from Houston.

Sincerely,

Trent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

As a regular guest of the Valencia group property in Houston, and a return guest to Hotel Valencia, I expected more. We booked two rooms to take visitors from Germany to see The Riverwalk. Certainly, on the upside, the location of the hotel is excellent. This is where the excellence ceased. Upon arrival we were met with a doorman that stood and watched us unload bags and carry them in. At the front desk, we found three young ladies who continued with the conversation rather than service us. Once they chose to do so, the procedure was laborious and a bit confusing as no information was provided, such as direction to rooms or even the lobby elevator. Rooms were darker than I recall and, frankly, a bit suspect to cleanliness because of the lack of light. One night stay worked for us due to location, but unfortunately, I cannot recommend Hotel Valencia when compared with other fine hotels in San Antonio.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside facing room in hopes of getting more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Russell P,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to San Antonio. Your objective review is greatly appreciated and I can assure you we will be a better hotel as a result of your feedback. It pains all of us to see that any of our guests was ignored by any of our team members. We set out to exceed your expectations and we apologize for failing to do so.

We hope you will consider staying with us the next time you are in San Antonio. Please contact me directly if there is anything I can do to recover your confidence in us.

Sincerely,

Trent

tfreeman@valenciagroup.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed here for just 1 night. Hotel was clean, quiet, with a nice subdued ambiance. Liked the decor. Only odd part was that the check-in was on the 2nd floor, so you would enter in, then loop around to the elevator to get to the next floor. Other than that, well situated on the Riverwalk with many places to eat only steps away. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gatzbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Gatzbee,

The 4-star review is greatly appreciated. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to seeing you in the hotel again if your travels bring you back to San Antonio.

Thank you!

Trent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Right next to the riverwalk, Impressive entrance with its' own waterfall! (A bit noisy in my hearing aids but fine for most people!) Reception helpful and efficient, rooms large and comfortable, beds superb. We didn't eat in as there were so many exciting eating places along the river walk and we also wanted to experience brunch in some of the local mexican restaurants. Got a good internet deal and formed a really good base to explore from. The room had free internet. My only criticism was the lack of seating in the room, the comfortable chair was huge and very comfortable but 2 slightly smaller ones would have been appreciated!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank birdwatcherpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear birdwatcherpg,

Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk and taking the time to share your experience with others. Disappointing to see you didn't have the opportunity to take in Citrus however great to see you had a 5-star experience in the hotel.

We hope your future travels bring you back to San Antonio and we have the opportunity to see you in the hotel again.

Sincerely,

Trent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 358 in San Antonio
3,931 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#8 of 358 in San Antonio
3,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,149 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 358 in San Antonio
1,541 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valencia Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Address: 150 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $181 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valencia Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the San Antonio River Walk, within walking distance of the Alamo, Hotel Valencia Riverwalk is a boutique hotel in the heart of downtown San Antonio. Hotel Valencia is ideal for a romantic or weekend getaway, a business trip or a group or convention. Our hotel is a short walk from the San Antonio Convention Center, downtown attractions and only a short drive to The Pearl, theme parks and various golf courses. Enjoy signature cocktails in Naranja bar and dine in Dorrego's Restaurant. Amenities include signature beds with Egyptian cotton linens, complimentary FIT breakfast and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Valencia Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valencia Riverwalk Hotel
Valencia Riverwalk San Antonio
Hotel Valencia San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing