We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely boutique hotel on the Riverwalk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Ranked #7 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A lovely boutique hotel on the Riverwalk”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed at the Valencia one night and it was a first class experience. It was Thanksgiving night and the hotel was decorated for the holidays. All the service people were first class. At breakfast we asked about a New York Times. During breakfast someone appeared with one - he had gone to the nearby Starbuck's to buy the paper for us. Wish we had stayed longer, and we will next time. My kind of hotel, smallish, stylish and quiet.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 56003Nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear 56003Nancy,

It is rewarding to see we were able to provide you with a 5-star experience during your stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to complete your review.

We are also sorry to see you couldn't stay longer however we look forward to having you back the next time you make it over from Houston.

Sincerely,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,074
    555
    218
    132
    73
See reviews for
476
1,243
87
599
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (719)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

As a regular guest of the Valencia group property in Houston, and a return guest to Hotel Valencia, I expected more. We booked two rooms to take visitors from Germany to see The Riverwalk. Certainly, on the upside, the location of the hotel is excellent. This is where the excellence ceased. Upon arrival we were met with a doorman that stood and watched us unload bags and carry them in. At the front desk, we found three young ladies who continued with the conversation rather than service us. Once they chose to do so, the procedure was laborious and a bit confusing as no information was provided, such as direction to rooms or even the lobby elevator. Rooms were darker than I recall and, frankly, a bit suspect to cleanliness because of the lack of light. One night stay worked for us due to location, but unfortunately, I cannot recommend Hotel Valencia when compared with other fine hotels in San Antonio.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside facing room in hopes of getting more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Russell P,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to San Antonio. Your objective review is greatly appreciated and I can assure you we will be a better hotel as a result of your feedback. It pains all of us to see that any of our guests was ignored by any of our team members. We set out to exceed your expectations and we apologize for failing to do so.

We hope you will consider staying with us the next time you are in San Antonio. Please contact me directly if there is anything I can do to recover your confidence in us.

Sincerely,

Trent

tfreeman@valenciagroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed here for just 1 night. Hotel was clean, quiet, with a nice subdued ambiance. Liked the decor. Only odd part was that the check-in was on the 2nd floor, so you would enter in, then loop around to the elevator to get to the next floor. Other than that, well situated on the Riverwalk with many places to eat only steps away. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gatzbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Gatzbee,

The 4-star review is greatly appreciated. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to seeing you in the hotel again if your travels bring you back to San Antonio.

Thank you!

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Right next to the riverwalk, Impressive entrance with its' own waterfall! (A bit noisy in my hearing aids but fine for most people!) Reception helpful and efficient, rooms large and comfortable, beds superb. We didn't eat in as there were so many exciting eating places along the river walk and we also wanted to experience brunch in some of the local mexican restaurants. Got a good internet deal and formed a really good base to explore from. The room had free internet. My only criticism was the lack of seating in the room, the comfortable chair was huge and very comfortable but 2 slightly smaller ones would have been appreciated!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birdwatcherpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear birdwatcherpg,

Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk and taking the time to share your experience with others. Disappointing to see you didn't have the opportunity to take in Citrus however great to see you had a 5-star experience in the hotel.

We hope your future travels bring you back to San Antonio and we have the opportunity to see you in the hotel again.

Sincerely,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hilton head
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I was staying in the hotel for a wedding. I changed my reservation, which was not easy, and after many frustrating attempts to get an email sent to me, I finally received one. I kept being put on hold and then told that they would return my call, never returned my call. I had to finally get testy and and the email was sent. Upon arriving, we were suppose to receive our welcome package and was told that there was no welcome package. Finally we got our welcome package. I called down to be connected to another room in the hotel and had to wait for the operator to stop giggling with her friend. The rooms are dark, black carpet and dark walls. My husband's coat fell off the hanger and it took me 15 minutes to realize that it had fallen on the floor. More than usual limited lighting. The bathtubs were small. Do not spend the money to stay on the river side, you can hardly see it unless you stand at the window and look down. The restaurant if over priced. Keep looking for another hotel. Tintz

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tintz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Tintz,

We appreciate you choosing to stay with us on your trip to San Antonio and it is very disappointing to see failed to provide you with a satisfactory experience. We apologize for the poor execution and hope you were otherwise able to enjoy the wedding and your time in San Antonio. We have taken the information you have provided and I can assure you we will be a better hotel as a result.

I encourage you to contact me directly if there is anything I can do to recover your perception of the hotel and make things right.

Sincerely,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I reserved a balcony room with a river view, but when we got there we clearly did not get a balcony room. The confusion happened because I also requested 2 beds. Well, the priority for us was the balcony/river view, but they thought our priority would be two beds. Apparently they have no balcony river view rooms with 2 beds - which is odd. So we moved to a beautiful room balcony/river view with a king bed. We were very happy. I felt they did a nice job fixing the problem caused by miscommunication. We spent every morning sipping our coffee on that balcony.
As an added bonus, there are two amazing restaurants right on the premises. We ate at both. And there is a very impressive fire pit in the hotel courtyard.

Room Tip: I would insist on a river view. After all, that's a huge part of visiting in San Antonio. Having...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear 2again,

We appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to complete your review. It is great to see the issue with the room features was handled well by our team and that you enjoyed your new room. We are also glad to see you were able to experience both Citrus and Acenar. We are proud of the of the menu Chef Jeffrey has put together in Citrus.

Hopefully we have the opportunity to see you in the hotel again if you make it back down to San Antonio.

Sincerely,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel located right on the San Antonio Riverwalk downtown. The rooms are well appointed with big flatscreen TVs and comfy beds. There is a nice interior, open air courtyard with a nice water feature and fireplace. Free Wi-Fi in the rooms. Delicious on-site restaurant, full bar and very polite and helpful staff. This is my first stay at the hotel Valencia and I will certainly be back.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Utefan2427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trent F, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Utefan2427,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to complete the 5-star review. Your experience is important to us and we are truly glad to see you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to seeing you when you return.

Sincerely,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#23 of 355 in San Antonio
3,726 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#9 of 355 in San Antonio
3,173 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 355 in San Antonio
1,475 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#12 of 355 in San Antonio
2,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valencia Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Property: Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Address: 150 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valencia Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the San Antonio River Walk, within walking distance of the Alamo, Hotel Valencia Riverwalk is a boutique hotel in the heart of downtown San Antonio. Hotel Valencia is ideal for a romantic or weekend getaway, a business trip or a group or convention. Our hotel is a short walk from the San Antonio Convention Center, downtown attractions and only a short drive to The Pearl, theme parks and various golf courses. Enjoy signature cocktails in Naranja bar and dine in Dorregos Restaurant. Amenities include signature beds with Egyptian cotton linens, complimentary continental breakfast and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Valencia Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valencia Riverwalk Hotel
Valencia Riverwalk San Antonio
Hotel Valencia San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing