We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel, but Noisy” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Ranked #12 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Hotel, but Noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hotel was beautiful and had a fantastic location on the Riverwalk right next to the Majestic Theater. The inside was decorated in a relaxing bohemian style and it has an excellent courtyard in lieu of a pool. I'm sure this is not the norm, but unfortunately our room was plagued with a decidedly noisy rattling air conditioner. It wasn't so bad to sleep through and ignore but we really felt it when we tried to watch a movie on our last night there. Apparently they restrict the television volume to 16 and so we were unable to hear the movie over the rattle. We would have called down to report it, but apparently our phone was out of order because it just beeped no matter which button we pressed. Between the road noise outside and the rattling air conditioner, the movie was impossible to hear. I was too tired to care, so we did not inform the hotel and they were not given a chance to make good.

As a side note, if you are planning to visit San Antonio I highly recommend that you get a Rio Taxi pass for everyone during the time of your stay. Skip the boat tour, the taxi is much nicer. For $10 you can get on and off as much as you like for 24 hours and there isn't really anyplace downtown the taxi can't get you close to including the Alamo and the Tower of America. They also have the museum reach if you want to pay a few bucks more and get to all the museums.

Room Tip: Don't pick room 303, it has a noisy air conditioner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amp1276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wenola, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear amp1276,

We appreciate you staying with us at Hotel Valencia and taking the time to complete your review. It is disappointing to see you endured such aggravation as a result of the A/C noise. We apologize for the inconvenience. It is great to see you left your room number so we can get this issue taken care of, along with the phone issue.

Hopefully you have an opportunity to stay with us again in the future and we can provide you with the 5-star experience you deserve.

Sincerely,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,875
    526
    212
    132
    72
See reviews for
432
1,169
78
527
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (673)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

My Mom and I stayed here for a long weekend. It was very convenient, super friendly staff, very clean, comfy beds and great design. There is a fabulous water feature right when you walk in the hotel. There were lots of valets so you were taken care of right away. I saw the pool area but we did not have time to enjoy that or the bar area though it looked really nice as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpaDiva73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wenola, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear SpaDiva73,

We really appreciate the 5-star review. It is important to us to see that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to San Antonio.

Thank you!

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

So this Hotel is one of the best around, I booked my Birthday weekend for myself, my partner and my mother in law. The hotel look is amazing from the moment you drive up its a great look check in was fast we got two rooms with king beds rooms were great beds are comfortable bathroom great as well.. So we got in and got ready to go out on the town so when we got back from our night out the A/C was not working in my room we call front desk they moved us to a different smaller room for the night. They gave us a free meal at their resturant but were unable to fix A/C in original room then management found out it was my B-Day weekend so he told us to go out see the town and that he would fix the problem. Well needles to sad he sure fix the problem he just moved our luggage to the penthouse suite which all I have to say is WOW!! It was the best weekend I have had and on top of that he sent me some chocolate cake... Highly recommend this hotel.. Enjoy

Room Tip: Management are great they go out of their way to make it a stay to remember
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jagtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wenola, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Jagtx,

This was an awesome review to read and share with the team. We're so glad you took the time to share your experience. While we're disappointed to see you had the issue with your A/C, we're really happy to see our management team handled it appropriately. We love to see the WOW in a review.

We look forward to seeing you in the hotel again. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance until then.

Thank you!

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife and I just celebrated our two year anniversary at the Hotel Valencia this weekend. We haven't felt that relaxed since our honeymoon. The Hotel Valencia is simply the best hotel at which we've ever stayed. The room (Courtyard, 3rd floor) was spacious, clean, and modern, with many lights on dimmers. We were able to make the room as bright or as ambient as we wanted. The bed was incredible and we got such good sleep.

Citrus was excellent for dinner. Our server was super friendly and very knowledgeable about the food and wine menus. Vbar was great as well. The artisan cheese & meat plate that we had for a snack was superb. Room service breakfast was nice, if pricey, and we had nightcaps brought to the room in the evening.

The only glitch the whole weekend was that the valet did not get our car for us one afternoon (I had called down, but someone failed to pass the ticket # to the valets). This was a minor affair, but the valet comped our parking for a night, which they did without asking and without either of us acting irritated or fussy.

Honestly, our stay was perfect and we plan on making Hotel Valencia our staycation hotel of choice from now on. This wasn't the cheapest weekend our our life, but you truly get what you pay for here. What we got was exceptional quality and service.

Room Tip: Rooms on the courtyard have access to a lovely, shared outdoor space for guests, but bear in mind th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wenola, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Gary T.,

What a great review! We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others and look forward to having you return. Thank you for the 5-stars and the great comments.

Sincerely,

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giddings, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Best bed ever! So comfortable....All of the hotel staff are the friendliest and most accommodating staff anywhere! The only (slight) complaint was, our bed faced the windows and the T.V. was on the side wall...this made it uncomfortable to watch T.V. from our bed...but that is minor...the staff was so helpful any time we needed assistance or to ask for help or directions somewhere...Love the V Bar! We enjoyed sitting comfortably on a couch with pillows, relaxed having our drinks and appetizers...staff (especially Richard, our bartender) was very attentive. Citrus Restaurant food was excellent...the ambiance, candles galore...was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank josephreba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wenola, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear josephreba,

We are so glad you chose to stay with us for your getaway. We are happy to see you enjoyed your stay with and that you took the time to share it with others. Richard is great at what he does and we are proud to have him on our team.

We looking forward to having you stay with us again the next time you make it over from Giddings.

Thank you!

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Good hotel. Located next to the river walk. More of a modern themed hotel unlike many of its downtown competitors. Rooms are nice enough. Beds are comfortable. No parking garage attached so parking can be a challenge if you do not valet. I suggest the public garage a block away on Travis st. The staff was helpful. We would consider staying here again. Located near many restaurant a short walk away. Flat screen tv.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wenola, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear D R,

We are glad you had the opportunity to stay with us and appreciate you taking the time to complete your review. It always makes us feel good to see that we are unlike the other hotels in the area. That's exactly what we are going for.

We hope to see you in the hotel again the next time your visit SA.

Thank you!

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Excellent location and terrific, helpful, and friendly staff. Room was very comfortable and well decorated. Every staff member that we interacted with knew the area very well and each provided very good recommendations. I especially appreciated the soft and large bath towels which is not something you always get.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eriejack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wenola, Hotel Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear eriejack,

We're really happy to see you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the great review. Our friendly staff is what we are all about.

We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to San Antonio.

Thank you!

Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,376 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#10 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,999 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valencia Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Property: Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Address: 150 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valencia Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the historic San Antonio River Walk, Hotel Valencia Riverwalk is a boutique hotel in San Antonio located in the heart of downtown. Hotel Valencia is ideal for a romantic or weekend getaway, a business trip or a group or convention. Our hotel is within walking distance of the Alamo and other downtown attractions and only a short drive to Sea World, Six Flags Fiesta Texas and various golf courses. Enjoy signature cocktails in Vbar and dine in the acclaimed Citrus Restaurant. Amenities include signature beds with Egyptian cotton linens, complimentary high speed internet and newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Valencia Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valencia Riverwalk Hotel
Valencia Riverwalk San Antonio
Hotel Valencia San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing