We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Overall, A Very Nice Stay...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Ranked #6 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
165 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Overall, A Very Nice Stay...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights on our last trip to SA. Staff were very friendly & helpful, room was beautiful! The layout is a bit confusing when you first arrive, as the front desk is actually ABOVE the entrance, on the second floor- The lobby & common areas are very nice, the whole place has a great vibe/ atmosphere about it. The rooms are quite dark, as others have mentioned, which wasn't an issue for me, but watch out for the bed frame! We loved the bar & restaurant, service & food were excellent. Richard, the bartender, is a very nice guy & does an awesome job! Valet was great, we never waited more than 5-10 minutes for our car (be aware that valet parking is $30/ night- worth it to us, but we weren't told ahead of time). The one weak point that needs to be mentioned was the bathroom. The tub was a bit older & run down (again, not a horrible thing, just not what we expected from a hotel of this caliber)- chips & rust spots in many places. Also, we found many hairs in the bathroom that were not ours (there when we arrived), especially in the sink. But when mentioned to the front desk, corrected... The courtyard was beautiful, especially at night, with the "fire".

Overall, a beautiful hotel and a pleasant stay! I would not reccomend it for families with small children (no pool or real "kid-friendly" areas), but great for a romantic get away or business trip. We visit SA at least 4-5 times a year & enjoy trying out the various accommodations. Hotel Valencia was a treat. For a short stay, we would defiantly return. For a longer stay we would probably choose a location with a pool & more casual atmosphere. So, depending on what you are looking for, this "could" be a wonderful choice!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdh713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,685
    490
    186
    114
    58
See reviews for
381
1,053
72
459
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (617)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Converse, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

A nice high end hotel located on the Riverwalk. First and foremost be aware that there is no swimming pool at this property. My wife and I spent our anniversary here this year and were pleased with the size and quality of our room. The room offered great solitude and was very very quiet. It has a great downtown location with access to verything downtown San Antonio. There was a mild mix up when my luggage was taken to another room with another quest's luggage that was mistakingly placed in my room and then removed to the correct room. Everything was cleared up in short order though.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EISMTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Land, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at the Valencia for two nights at the beginning of November, and we enjoyed it. The location is good, the hotel was nice, and had very friendly, helpful staff. We did not care for the darkness of the lobby and rooms, but they were attractive and clean. We had drinks in the bar and breakfast in Citrus, which was really good. It's a good location for doing all the tourist stuff. We really enjoyed San Antonio, the Alamo was really interesting and the Riverwalk Cruise (evening) was lots of fun (bring your own wine/beer). Also, spend some time in the hotel inner patio area, it has a great fireplace, nice place to sit with wine and mingle with other guests. All in all, it was a very nice time

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bosgirl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This hotel rocks!! It's a hidden Spanish retreat in the center of touristy San Antonio. I loved the decor, ambiance, and the restaurant was to die for! Couldn't have asked for more!
Great gym, location, and minibar selections.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrszatopek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I personally liked this hotel. But, there is one warning, if you like bright light, it is not hotel for you. It is very stylish, however for somebody it will be too dark. I saw a number of negative reviews only for this reason.
Location: Excellent!!! One of facades is on Riverwalk. Huge amount of bars and restaurants nearby.
Valet parking. Not cheap and one time we were waiting for 10 minutes for our car.
Service good and helpful. We arrive for New Year and didn't book any restaurant. The concierge helped us to fix this issue to our satisfaction).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OldMoscower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
115 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This hotel is really a first-class place that makes you feel fantastic just for having chosen it! The interior is beautifully decorated and boasts a really cool outdoor patio with a waterfall on the third floor. The morning breakfast is worth paying for, and the beds are super comfortable. The location can't be beat - it's right on the RiverWalk! The breakfast is a bit slow to come out to the table once you've ordered, and it takes quite a while for the valets to bring your car around once you request it. Just plan accordingly and call for your car 30 minutes before you need it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamieLynn2158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel is beautiful and close to great restruants. The food and service is outstanding. The hotel was dark and so were the rooms. I would have perferred more light in the bathroom. I was there on business and the staff made sure we were well taken care of in the confrence room we reserved for our training.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#18 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,835 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#10 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,694 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk
Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk
#9 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,360 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk
Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk
#8 of 357 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valencia Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Property: Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Address: 150 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valencia Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the historic San Antonio River Walk, Hotel Valencia Riverwalk is a boutique hotel in San Antonio located in the heart of downtown. Hotel Valencia is ideal for a romantic or weekend getaway, a business trip or a group or convention. Our hotel is within walking distance of the Alamo and other downtown attractions and only a short drive to Sea World, Six Flags Fiesta Texas and various golf courses. Enjoy signature cocktails in Vbar and dine in the acclaimed Citrus Restaurant. Amenities include signature beds with Egyptian cotton linens, complimentary high speed internet and newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Valencia Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valencia Riverwalk Hotel
Valencia Riverwalk San Antonio
Hotel Valencia San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing