We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Ranked #10 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Not only is the Valencia right on the Riverwalk, the staff are totally helpful. They made sure we found all the places we were looking for.

The room is very, make that VERY, nice! And best of all was the shower. I'm a bit of a shower snob but this one had a great showerhead with full flow of water. It was the best shower of the year and their toiletries are upscale.

We usually stay at larger upscale chains but we're so glad we gave it a try. San Antonio was a great visit and we'll definitely return to the Valencia!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmhitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,985
    545
    216
    132
    72
See reviews for
455
1,206
82
572
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (701)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This hotel is nice but the location is great. After visiting different location and hotels , I dont find anything particulaly great or bad about this hotel. The hotel has intersting unique decor but does feel little dark all through out the hotel. The rooms are spacious and come with standard features. Our room was on busy street and didnt hear much traffic so good noise insulation! They serve good food and has nice river side seating area. Valet service is good , but does take 10 - 15 mins to bring you car. We also found a nice little restaurant right hext to Hotel again with very nice river side seating area. Bottomline....great location kinda justifies the amount you would pay to stay here....

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samkool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The short version:
The good: Great location, nice décor, friendly staff, had a great in-room massage.
The not so good: Bathrooms are a little small, plan on using the valet.
Definitely planning on staying here again.

The details:
My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Valencia for a short weekend away and were very impressed. The hotel is in a great location on the river walk. If you are like my wife, you will appreciate that there is a Starbucks across the street. It is maybe a 1 min walk from the front door. The rooms are very nice, but could be considered a little dark. They have wood shutters rather than curtains that do a good job of blocking out the sun. The bathroom is a little small, but clean.

Hotel Valencia does a deal, where after you book your room they will send you another email to sign up for a room upgrade. The way that it works is that you select which possible room upgrades you would like. If any of them become available you are automatically upgraded to that room at a discount. By doing this we got a king sized river view for about $40 less than it would have been if I had initially reserved that room.

Most of the spa services that the hotel offers can be performed in your room. Since I haven’t seen any reviews on these services I would like to comment on them. I scheduled 90 min massages for my wife and I. I have only had two before this one, and never in my hotel room so I didn’t quite know what to expect. The therapists arrived a little before the scheduled appointment so that they could set up. They moved some of the furniture and set up their tables. I would recommend adjusting the A/C to a little higher temperature before they get there because you don’t want the room to be too cold (found that out the hard way). The therapists brought everything they needed including the obligatory relaxing spa type music. The therapists did a great job. It was a little more expensive that what I have paid in the past, but still worth the money. When the massage was over they packed up and it was billed to the room.

The parking issue could be a pain if you plan on driving around San Antonio much. Since we were just staying around the river walk we did not get the car until we checked out. The valets were really good. I actually left a bag in the car and had to call the front desk. It was brought up to our room in about 5 minutes. They were also very quick at bringing the car back to the front when we checked out.

Over all, it was a great experience. The next time we are able to get the grandparents to watch the baby for a night we are planning on staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Hotel Valencia does a deal, where after you book your room they will send you another email to sign...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigRed639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Our overall stay was pretty good. It's a bit dark in the hotel. My only complaint is that the cleaning staff did not change the sheets or leave toiletries.

There is a pretty good sandwich shop to the right of the hotel entrance. There is also a tex mex restaurant to the left of the hotel entrance.

There is a mall in walking distance as well.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick4734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This was my 2nd time staying in this hotel. It's really great and worth every dollar. The staff was really helpful and nice. I enjoy the location of the hotel since its next to the Riverwalk and walking distance to plenty of other good restaurants and bars. The rooms are always clean and just perfect. They have a gym too which was good. I can always pick another hotel but I won't since I fell in love with this place and I will be staying here for all my trips to San Antonio from now on.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bmunoz0783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
151 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

As returning guests celebrating our anniversary we got upgraded to a suite which was huge! Everyone is always courteous and professional. Wedding party while we were there and it was totally unobtrusive. We live in SA and go to Valencia for a mini get away. Eat at Citrus... Sensational. Best steak I've ever had.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RK O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Our daughter now lives in San Antonio and we are trying all different hotels. The Valencia happens to house her favorite restaurant and so we gave it a try. Unfortunately, I wanted a great experience but it was just OK. The hotel is a W wannabe. Dark, trendy, chic, nice waterfall when you come in, red colors but...it falls short. The mood lighting puts you in a mood - but does not go all the way. Where at a W, everything is designed for a W, everything here is retrofitted. Imagine kitchen cabinet refacing. There is nothing wrong with it - but it is not the same as a custom cabinet.

By the way, I am not a trendy and chic hotel lover. While I spend about 75 nights a year in hotels of all ends, this hotel is a little tired. First, there are definate sounds of the elevator weights when it moves up and down. I mean THUMPS that are clear and if you are sensative to noise, you will hear them. Also, like older hotels, you hear a lot of street noise. Not drunken party goers but buses, etc. There is also musty smell in the hotel on the floor rooms. It is not over powering but it is there and smells like you old aunt's house because she does not open her windows very much. The staff is nice and friendly and did everything they said they would do. But the room and hotel itself were OK.

Would I eat at the restaurant on the Riverwalk - definately. Would I stay at the hotel again...nope we will keep looking...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EzraCornell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,547 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,075 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valencia Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Property: Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Address: 150 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valencia Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the San Antonio River Walk, within walking distance of the Alamo, Hotel Valencia Riverwalk is a boutique hotel in the heart of downtown San Antonio. Hotel Valencia is ideal for a romantic or weekend getaway, a business trip or a group or convention. Our hotel is a short walk from the San Antonio Convention Center, downtown attractions and only a short drive to The Pearl, theme parks and various golf courses. Enjoy signature cocktails in Naranja bar and dine in Dorregos Restaurant. Amenities include signature beds with Egyptian cotton linens, complimentary continental breakfast and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Valencia Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valencia Riverwalk Hotel
Valencia Riverwalk San Antonio
Hotel Valencia San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing