We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Valencia experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Ranked #6 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed January 14, 2012

This is a very modern and hip hotel with a great location on the River Walk. It is not on the horseshoe where most of the restaurants are but very near. Room was good size, clean and good decor. Our room faced Houston St and we could hear some street noise on the sixth floor so if you are a light sleeper or not used to city noise, you may want to pay a little more and get a river or courtyard view. I thought this hotel was a great value for what we paid and the staff was friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wenola, Owner at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2012

James,

Thank you for all of your compliments. We love our location, just off the busier strip of the Riverwalk. This way, we still enjoy the convenience but can avoid the (occasional) chaos!

I'm glad both of you enjoyed your stay back in January. The next time you are in San Antonio, we would love to welcome you back!

All the best,
Beth Smith, Valencia Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,615 - 2,621 of 3,185 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2012

Stayed 3 nights...great location, great staff. Riverwalk was still alive with Christmas lights. Breakfast was so-so. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJHomeRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wenola, Owner at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2012

Thanks for your short, sweet review and for staying with us while in town from New Jersey! It's great to hear you loved our location and helpful staff. The Riverwalk is just beautiful with all of the Christmas lights, isn't it? We will be sad to see them go, but will gladly take gorgeous spring weather in exchange!

Also, if you have any suggestions of how we might improve the breakfast, we would love to hear them. The more we know, the more improvements we can make.

Thanks again for recommending our hotel. If you return to San Antonio, we would love to welcome you back.
Warm regards,
Beth Smith, Valencia Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed here the day after Christmas and the hotel was wonderful. The lobby is small and minimal but last time I checked, I never send much time in any hotel lobby. We had a junior suite and the room was exceptional. King size bed which partially opened up to the living room area. The living room was rounded providing views to the city and Riverwalk. All the staff were very nice to us. Very nice intimate bar with great drinks. We didn't eat at he restaurant but a lot of people claimed it is very good.

We had a slight problem with our bed but within 20 minutes from our phone call, they checked out our issue, fixed it and provided turn down. Next time I go back to SA, I am staying here again without a doubt. Thank you Hotel Valencia for making our trip memorable.

Room Tip: Junior suite is a beautiful room and provides 180 degree views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowdystylz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wenola, Owner at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us, and even more excited to know we made your stay in San Antonio more memorable. We appreciate your detailed attention to the junior suite and are pleased you found it relaxing and comfortable. The pretty views don't hurt! Vbar is a great place to unwind and enjoy a delicious cocktail. Hopefully, you can try Citrus the next time you stay (I recommend the grilled Texas quail and brisket). We do apologize for any inconvenience with your bed, but are happy to hear that our helpful staff responded quickly. Nothing is more important to us than the comfort of our guests, and I know the staff will appreciate your compliments. Thanks again for your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Warm regards,
Beth Smith, Valencia Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Highly recommend this hotel. We got a very good rate using hotel tonight app and we were very happy with the place. Right on river walk convenient to everything

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Togny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wenola, Owner at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2012

Thank you for your review and for staying with us last month. We're glad you enjoyed our hotel! Hotel Tonight is a great resource. We hope you had fun exploring the River Walk, and hope to welcome you back to Hotel Valencia the next time you're in town!
Warm regards,
Beth Smith, Valencia Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We have traveled to many locations around the globe but San Antonio is one of our favorite cities. I expected more from a hotel listed in the Fine Hotels and Resorts guide. The room was clean but the carpeting was loose almost causing me to fall. The windows/doors were not soundproofed allowing noise to enter the room. The next time we travel to San Antonio we'll stay at the Omni Mansion on the Riverwalk.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lindabuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wenola, Owner at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2012

Linda,
Thank you for taking the time to review us after your stay in December. We're happy you chose our hotel for a visit to one of your favorite cities! I'm concerned, however, to hear of the loose carpeting and lack of soundproofing in your room. This definitely does not sound typical of Hotel Valencia, as we take our guests' comfort and safety as a top priority. I will have our maintenance staff look into these issues immediately; thank you for bringing them to our attention. The next time you visit San Antonio, we would still love to welcome you back.
Warm regards,
Beth Smith, Valencia Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Valencia for the 4th time during the week between Christmas and New Years as a little get away while the in-laws watched our one year old. The location is walkable to just about any downtown/riverwalk destination. I had read about lunch at the onsite restaurant, Citrus, and it did not disaapoint. For $10 per person you get made to order Paella, pasta, soup, salad, and aqua fresca or Sangria. All the items were excellent and easily on par with a $30 per person price point based on quality. The room was clean and spacious as always, staff friendly. Highly recommended for under $200 a night, parking is extra though.

Room Tip: courtyard view on a lower floor would be nice, as would higher floor river view, city view okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank textalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wenola, Owner at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We're so glad you and your wife enjoy your stays at Hotel Valencia— especially your getaway during the holidays. We bet your in-laws had just as much fun! We appreciate your compliments to the pleasant room, friendly staff, and delicious lunch. Your lunch at Citrus certainly sounds tasty! Our unique restaurant is known for its imaginative menu and exquisite execution, under Chef Jeffery Balfour, and its setting is perfect for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Thanks again for recommending our hotel to fellow travelers and anyone in need of a romantic getaway. We look forward to welcoming back you both in the future!
Warm regards,
Beth Smith, Valencia Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed on a holiday trip. We arrived on the 17th of December and left on the 23rd of December. The staff was wonderful,smiling and very friendly. They were extremely professional. The valet staff was really nice. I do not have a complaint about the hotel itself. I didn't have to want for anything. The courtyard was beauitful at night as well as the terrace looking onto the Riverwalk. Amanda T. was great. I would stay again.

Room Tip: I just got a city view room. No complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emerald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wenola, Owner at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2012

Emerald,
It was a pleasure to host you and your family during the holiday season. We hope you had a lovely stay, full of cheer! Thank you for your compliments to our professional, friendly staff; we will share them with everyone, especially Amanda T. The next time you are in town, we would love to welcome you all back!
Warm regards,
Beth Smith, Valencia Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#24 of 357 in San Antonio
4,081 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#5 of 357 in San Antonio
3,323 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#17 of 357 in San Antonio
3,268 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 357 in San Antonio
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valencia Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Address: 150 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $172 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valencia Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the San Antonio River Walk, within walking distance of the Alamo, Hotel Valencia Riverwalk is a boutique hotel in the heart of downtown San Antonio. Hotel Valencia is ideal for a romantic or weekend getaway, a business trip or a group or convention. Our hotel is a short walk from the San Antonio Convention Center, downtown attractions and only a short drive to The Pearl, theme parks and various golf courses. Enjoy signature cocktails in Naranja bar and dine in Dorrego's Restaurant. Amenities include signature beds with Egyptian cotton linens, complimentary FIT breakfast and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Valencia Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valencia Riverwalk Hotel
Valencia Riverwalk San Antonio
Hotel Valencia San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing