We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for a better stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Ranked #7 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for a better stay”
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Offers military discount. Great price. Convenient location. Extraordinary service. Beautifully decorated.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wenola, Owner at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Nikki,
Thank you for your kind review and for staying with us during your time in San Antonio last November. We're glad to know you loved your stay! We appreciate all of your compliments to our attentive staff, elegant decor, and convenient location on the River Walk. We also appreciate your mention of our Yellow Ribbon Special. In honor of our troops, we are offering discounted rates to all military personnel until September 15, 2012. We're pleased you could take advantage of that, and we thank you for your service, too. Next time you are in town, we would love to welcome you back.
Warm regards,
Beth Smith, Valencia Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,074
    555
    219
    132
    73
See reviews for
476
1,243
87
599
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (720)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2011

My 2nd trip to San Antonio.
1st trip for my oldest son graduating from Lackland AFB, I stayed at the Westin. Very nice, but lacked that warm feeling.
2nd trip..Valencia was amazing! Warmth, charm & very romantic.
Stay on the 5th floor overlooking the courtyard, which is beautiful.
The wife kept saying "Love, love love this place".
Delicious coffee.
X-mas lighting is amazing on the Riverwalk!

Room Tip: Overlook the courtyard with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eds_World_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wenola, Owner at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Thank you for the great review and for staying with us during your second trip to San Antonio. It's great to hear you and your family were so pleased with the atmosphere and amenities of our hotel. The private balconies and beautiful courtyard are essential to that charming, romantic ambiance you mention. The Christmas lights along the River Walk certainly don't hurt, either! We hope you enjoyed exploring the River Walk as well as the rest of the city. Hopefully, for your third trip to San Antonio, we can welcome you back again!
Warm regards,
Beth Smith, Valencia Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmp10
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

This was our third stay and, again we loved it. The contemporary decor, the bed, the lounge were all perfect. This is our favorite Houston hotel. Love the City Center - Straits restaurant is fabulous

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmp10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This hotel is in a nice spot on the Riverwalk. The hotel staff were generally nice and friendly, though not the most efficient. The part of our stay that made this hotel really disappointing was the hotel itself - it is very dark, not unlike a cave. Every hallway, elevator, even the reception area and room were very dark giving the whole place depressing feel. I really didn't like the cave like atmosphere and probably wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: If you stay here, ask for a room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trravelling_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wenola, Owner at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dave,
Thank you for taking the time to review us.  I’m sorry to hear you were disappointed with the interior lighting; we certainly do not intend to create a depressing feel for our guests.  We aim for the Valencia to be more of an experience than merely a hotel.  We feel the low lighting in the reception area accentuates the old world-inspired décor and lends elegance to the modern interior design.   In the bedrooms, we rely mostly on lamp lighting, rather than overhead lights, for the same reason.  Many of our guests appreciate this atmosphere as it helps them relax and enjoy the luxury of vacation, but we also know that everyone has their own taste.   Your suggestion to request a room with a view of the river is a great tip to potential guests.   Again, thank you for your feedback.  We are always looking to improve, and whatever we could have done to improve your experience— we would love to hear.  We still hope to welcome you back in the future and hopefully make a much better impression.
Warm regards,
Beth Smith, Valencia Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I've stayed the Hotel Valencia Riverwak in SA countless times over the years. It is consistantly excellent in every way. Staff is courteous, knowledgeable and accomodating. The bar is wonderful. The rooms are nice and big with a wonderful and warm feeling. While the location is on the Riverwalk it is not in the middle of the noisy, heavily commerical area. I love this hotel. You will, too!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 684JaniceH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wenola, Owner at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Janice,
Thank you for always returning to the Valencia for your stays in San Antonio and also for taking the time to write a review last November. We're glad you haven't found us to falter from our elegance and excellence. Thank you for your compliments to the warm feeling of the bedrooms— we feel the clean decor accentuated with rich, dark wood creates a welcoming, relaxing atmosphere. We also appreciate you mentioning our convenient yet quiet location on the River Walk. We look forward to welcoming you back in 2012!
Warm regards,
Beth Smith, Valencia Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Wonderful place, great staff, lovely courtyard, beautiful riverwalk views!!! Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wenola, Owner at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Kalero,
Thank you for your short but sweet review back in November. It was our pleasure to have you back in December 2010, and we're happy to see we made a great impression! Thank you for all of your compliments. The next time you are in San Antonio, we would love to welcome you back.
Warm regards,
Beth Smith, Valencia Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

The hotel is located on the River Walk and convenient to major attractions in the city. The room we stay was beautiful with nice modern urbon interior. They have a nice bar which we enjoyed some drink before go to bed. We'd go back when we have a chance to go San Antonio again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yukon23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Mgr150, Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
YukoN23,
Thank you for staying with us and submitting a review. We are happy to read about your excellent stay and can't wait to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#23 of 356 in San Antonio
3,728 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#8 of 356 in San Antonio
3,178 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 356 in San Antonio
1,478 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#18 of 356 in San Antonio
3,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valencia Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Property: Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Address: 150 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valencia Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the San Antonio River Walk, within walking distance of the Alamo, Hotel Valencia Riverwalk is a boutique hotel in the heart of downtown San Antonio. Hotel Valencia is ideal for a romantic or weekend getaway, a business trip or a group or convention. Our hotel is a short walk from the San Antonio Convention Center, downtown attractions and only a short drive to The Pearl, theme parks and various golf courses. Enjoy signature cocktails in Naranja bar and dine in Dorregos Restaurant. Amenities include signature beds with Egyptian cotton linens, complimentary continental breakfast and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Valencia Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valencia Riverwalk Hotel
Valencia Riverwalk San Antonio
Hotel Valencia San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing