We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious, Great Customer Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Ranked #7 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Corinth, Texas
2 reviews
“Luxurious, Great Customer Service!”
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Hotel Valencia was a fabulous experience. It was located on the Riverwalk, but on the quieter side so we were able to aviod the noisy crowds. Walking distance from many museums, the Alamo, and other great tourist attractions. My husband and I stayed here for our 1year wedding anniversary and chose a room which opened onto the hotel's private courtyard. We chose this to aviod the noise of the streetside and riverside; however, other guests were loud and disruptive late into the night in the courtyard. Still beautiful and relaxing with the large waterfall. You can always tell when hotels prioritize customer service and Hotel Valencia definitely does! All the employees were great and very polite. Even had an anniversary card signed with by managers; personalized cheesecake; and complimentary wine at our room when we arrived. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NVinzant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Mgr150, Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, May 26, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to submit a review. Nothing makes us happier than hearing the praises from a satisfied guest, especially on such a special occasion. Thank you for recognizing our genuine, caring employees. We can't wait to have you back for your 2nd anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,077
    555
    219
    133
    73
See reviews for
479
1,244
87
599
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Beautiful hotel, very chic and modern. Parking is a nightmare; be prepared to pay $30.00 a night for valet parking. We chose a courtyard balcony, as their website describes these as "being on the quieter side of the hotel". We had people from the next room talking on their balcony until 2 AM; it sounded as if they were sitting on the side of our bed. We asked the front desk if perhaps they could ask them to lower the volume, but nothing ever happened. I am unsure if there is a better location, as I have read that the riverview baconies are extremely noisy, and the cityview rooms face the side of a building; so choose carefully, as it is can be a long (and expensive) night. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant, Citrus; food was good, service was unpolished and uneven. At almost $200 for the two of us for dinner they could have done much better. Breakfast was even worse as we sat waiting for coffee until we finally just ate and went down the street to Starbucks. The next morning, still tired from the prior night's lack of sleep, we went out to see the Riverwalk. We returned at 5:00 PM to find that the room had not yet been made up. After calling, the maid came and we sat in the lobby while she serviced the room. Upon returning we found there were no glasses or soap; it appears that she ran a mop over the bathroom floor and left. This is not a cheap place to stay; at $200 per night plus, it should be better than this. Bottom line, hotel decor is great, the rest of the experience was really disappointing. Couple of tips. Don't pay for a balcony; too hot in the summer, and the noise level is awful. Riverwalk was really very nice, again too hot in the daytime. Stay somewhere with a pool (Valencia does not have one), hang out there during the day and hit the Riverwalk in the evening. You can ride a trolley for $1.10 anywhere you want to go, and there is a lot to see! We went to a show at the Majestic; don't miss it, it is a really special place.There is no shortage of hotels in the area; it is almost Vegas like in this respect, so maybe look at some of the others. If you are walking down Houston Street, definitely step into the Valencia, it really is fantastic to look at, but the shine wears off quickly once you check in.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler5595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Mgr150, Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It seems that you have given us some things to think about. I can say without a doubt that your experience was unusual and we do apologize that your stay was not as satisfying as we would have liked. We do take our guests comments seriously, especially when we don't hit the mark. We will be sure to address issues that were outlined with careful attention and detail. I do hope that we can have the opportunity to host you again in the future as I can assure you, your expereince would be quite different.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvarado, Texas
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed for a weekend, arriving on Friday and leaving on a Sunday. We came to San Antonio to visit his family, and have stayed on the Riverwalk before. We decided to try the Valencia because the hotel we usually stayed at didn't have any rooms available at short notice. We saw some favorable reviews about the Valencia and decided to try it. We traveled without out kids and although there were some guests there with children, I did not feel it was a family oriented hotel and that is not a bad thing! The Valencia has a very modern, upscale atmosphere. The lobby and hallways are dimly lit I suppose to add to the atmosphere, but it did take some getting used too! The rooms are beautiful, hardwood floors and carpet, down pillows and comforter on the bed. We had a city view with large California shutters on the windows which swung open. The room was very clean and quiet, we hardly heard any noise from the hallways, but even though we were on the 11th floor, there was quite a bit of street noise, but nothing that kept us awake. There is a locked bar in the room, they give you a key to open it if you want to purchase an alcoholic beverage, which we didn't use, but the prices were pretty reasonable. There was a variety of snacks in the room you could buy, a one cup maker, good coffee! There is not a pool there which was a little disappointing but it would not keep us from staying there again. Houston street where the hotel is located, is a busy street with lots of restaurtant, bars and shops a short walk away. You can go outside and walk down the block and be on the river. They have valet parking there for about $29.00 a night, but there are also numerous parking lots and garages in that area. We found one about 2 quick blocks away that charged $8.00 a night. The Citrus restaurant inside the hotel is very nice. We had dinner there one night and had excellent service. A little pricey, but the food was excellent! The next morning we went there for breakfast. There weren't many people there when we arrived and got seated right away, but it took a long time to get any service, they seemed short staffed. The waiter was young and apologetic and when we did get our food, it was excellent! We had drinks at the V Bar in the hotel one night and enjoyed ourselves. The atmosphere is very relaxed, large comfy chairs and couches to sit in and great service. We will definitely go back the the Valencia!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeflo2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Mgr150, Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
There is a lot of great information here. Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and the effort in compiling some great information. We certainly enjoyed hosting you and would love to welcome you back. We do apologize for the delay in breakfast, but will be sure to address the issue. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2011

A great relaxing hotel right off the Riverwalk. The Staff is very friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is outstanding!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cwb215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Mgr150, Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Glad you enjoyed it. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

the hotel is amazing, its located in a beautiful part of san antonio. the valet parking is very convenient and the guys running it are super efficient.

the staff throughout are exceptional.. front desk got me a spurs ticket while i was travelling there by car from south texas,, we are talking play offs game!!

rooms are amazing, they are clean and have great ambience

you have to go to Citrus, the hotels restaurant.. they have an incredible chef.. i had a meal with 2 friends and we all were blown away by the menu..

the entire team there, from front to back, top to bottom are real good, they will look after everything and they are genuine!!

i have recommended this one to many people and will continue to, and will stay there for sure if i am back in san antonio

100% a brilliant hotel..

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agentm_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Mgr150, Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay! You did a great job of describing some of the highlights. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

I've stayed here a couple of times and i will admit that this is a great hotel to party. my wife loves this hotel. it is chic and swanky, even a little sexy. for a quick getaway weekend, this is a great choice. the rooms are relatively small but comfortable. lots of slick furniture and comfortable bed. the location is great right on the riverwalk. I wouldn't want to bring a family here as their are more family friendly hotels on the riverwalk.
The bar, v-bar, is cool. drinks are expensive but it is a nice cocktail lounge, it can get crazy there. the restaurant is really awesome, great upscale mexican fare. the hotel itself is very beautiful in mexican casa style. i haven't used the pool or business center here.

service here has always been ok, nothing amazing but nothing bad. I feel like they bill you for everything though... expensive parking, pay internet, $4 water bottles..

If you are looking for a fun break with someone special, the valencia will fit the bill.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nfrasercolumbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Mgr150, Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, May 12, 2011
We are always happy to hear when someone chooses to introduce a significant other to our property! We will always do our best to make the stay excellent and make you look good! Just some information...we don't have a pool, internet access is complimentary and our restaurant is on the 2nd floor and is an award winning New American Cuisine restaurant. We also have complimentary computers and a printer for guest use in the Lobby area. We do have complimentary waters on the front drive while you wait for your car to be retrieved also. Thank you for staying with us and for posting a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Dodd Mitchell interiors invite to this upscale retreat on the newer, quieter, and prettier part of the Riverwalk. Well managed and great for all, from families to reception holders.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicasgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Mgr150, Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, May 12, 2011
That is some great insight you shared about the designer. Thank you for sharing and for posting a review. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#23 of 357 in San Antonio
3,739 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#5 of 357 in San Antonio
3,179 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 357 in San Antonio
1,483 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#19 of 357 in San Antonio
3,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valencia Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Property: Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Address: 150 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valencia Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the San Antonio River Walk, within walking distance of the Alamo, Hotel Valencia Riverwalk is a boutique hotel in the heart of downtown San Antonio. Hotel Valencia is ideal for a romantic or weekend getaway, a business trip or a group or convention. Our hotel is a short walk from the San Antonio Convention Center, downtown attractions and only a short drive to The Pearl, theme parks and various golf courses. Enjoy signature cocktails in Naranja bar and dine in Dorregos Restaurant. Amenities include signature beds with Egyptian cotton linens, complimentary continental breakfast and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Valencia Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valencia Riverwalk Hotel
Valencia Riverwalk San Antonio
Hotel Valencia San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing