We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent ambiance, amenities and atttitude on the San Antonio Riverwalk.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Ranked #6 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Dodd Mitchell interiors invite to this upscale retreat on the newer, quieter, and prettier part of the Riverwalk. Well managed and great for all, from families to reception holders.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chicasgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Mgr150, Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2011

That is some great insight you shared about the designer. Thank you for sharing and for posting a review. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,753 - 2,759 of 3,185 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2011

The Valencia is a modern designed hotel on a good location. Parking is a disaster. Valet parking (US$29) is slow and long lines will be experienced.

Our room was nice despite being only on the 4th floor. Large room good amenities. Reception area is ok but slow.
Good internet facilities both in the room as in the lobby. The access to the River walk is good and easy, might not be on the main part of the river walk but close enough. We did not really have complaints about noise. If you book a hotel at the river walk it is quite logic there is noise. We rather enjoyed it.
We have never ever experienced such a slow breakfast restaurant luckily we were on a holiday but waiting 10 minutes for your table and then 15 min for a waiter to show up should not happen in such a nice hotel with the breakfast room half empty.

The trouble we got was 01:30 am fire alarm. The alarm system worked perfect with clear automated instructions through the intercom system. But then it went completely wrong. The Valencia staff seems completely not prepared for fire alarms. No communication / no support in fact they were nowhere to be seen. A potential dangerous situation. Luckily it was a false alarm but one would wonder what if….

Room Tip: high floor - Use public parking accr the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scirocco-frk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Mgr150, Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2011

Thank you for reviewing Hotel Valencia. I am sorry about your experience in the restaurant. We would never want to make our guests wait for such a long period of time. I can assure you this has been discussed with our team to correct the service misstep.
Parking is $29 and is smack in the middle range of the $24 -$36 range of our competition. We do offer the option of dropping your luggage at the front drive so you can park somewhere at your discretion. There is not parking across the street as you had suggested, but we can direct you to some lots from our front drive.
I am sorry we did not do more to make you feel like we were prepared for a fire alarm. We will be sure to review ways to project our preparedness to guests. I did mention in another post that there was some work being done in another business in the building. Their fire alarm does set off all the fire alarms in the building when not shut off in a reasonable time. There was a water leak shorting the system there not allowing for a reset of the false alarm or to make an announcement. When we were finally able to make an announcement, it was much later and we did not want to disturb the entire building with a false alarm announcement. We did hope the letters we sent up to all guests would help explain the situation. During the alarm, much of our staff was consumed on the phone with the alarm company, on the phone trying to locate the owner/managers of the business, on the phone keeping in contact with the fire department, and trying to ascertain whether we could contact the building owners to let us in. We were truly doing our best to remedy the situation and our staff was certainly upset that we could not do more to keep our guests from getting disturbed. We do recognize it was late and disturbed our guest's sleep. I can asure you that this is not a normal situation. Had it been a true alarm, we would have been able to show our preparedness. Additionally, we do have a police substation less than 100 yards from the hotel and quick fire department response (since it is about 1 mile away) which would also have been helpful. We do apologize for the disturbance. I hope you were able take advantage of the late checkout, breakfast or valet parking we were offering as a tangible apology.

Thank you again for your review. I hope these responses were able to assure you that these are issues that will be resolved so that you may enjoy a future stay at Hotel Valencia. I apologize for the long response!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

The ambience of this hotel is excellent and overall it is a great place to stay, however, there were some areas of improvement. Let's start with the observed postives of my stay there:
- Excellent decoration in the rooms and restaurants
- Very clean rooms and common areas
- Helpful doorman
- Great location
- Rooms complete with nightly turndown, large sized towels and robes

The following are areas that could be better
- I enjoyed the size of the towels but not the quality
- Street level foryer feels like you are entering an upscale brothel
- Reserved a queen bed and received two doubles. I let the front desk know about it and they said they could do nothing about it. There were several other guests with reservation issues at the counter when I was checking in.
- False fire alarm went off at 1AM
- No pool or balcony in room

All and all a very nice place, but I recommend confirming the accomodations and room type the day before.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bloveisfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Mgr150, Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to detail your stay with us. Of course we are pleased with the positive aspect of your stay, but wanted to address your "could be better" list:

We did replace a dryer in early May. I suspect that it may have something to do with your dislike of the quality. We did take your critique seriously and have double checked our formulas and settings for washer, dryer and presser.

I am sincerely sorry about the miscommunication on the room type. I've been in the situation before and I know it is not the experience you were expecting. I'm sure if we had the capacity to fix it for your stay we certainly would have. We have King and Double rooms available, but not Queens.

We do not have a pool, but do have riverwalk, city and courtyard balconies available.

The fire alarm (of course) was truly unexpected. There was some work being done in another business in the building. Their fire alarm does set off all the fire alarms in the building when not shut off in a reasonable time. There was a water leak shorting the system there not allowing for a reset of the false alarm. Truly, truly sorry. I hope you were able take advantage of the late checkout, breakfast or valet parking we were offering as a tangible apology. We do recognize it was late and disturbed our guest's sleep.

Thank you staying with us and posting your review. I hope these responses were helpful and we would love to host you again. I can assure you that your stay would certainly be even better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Very clean hotel, friendly staff and walking distance to a lot of great and fun locations :)

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsRey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Mgr150, Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2011

5's all around! It was our pleasure hosting you! Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

I surprised my wife with a trip to San Antonio and we stayed at the Valencia. The hotel was great for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhodewarrior51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Mgr150, Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2011

Fantastic! Please do visit us again. Thank you for taking the time to submit a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

The Hotel Valencia provided the perfect retreat for the second stage of our Texas holiday.
The doormen were a model of efficiency and the delightful water feature that greets you is a nice architectural touch! The reception is on the 2nd floor with a lovely open feel that leads into the curved bar (with nice views over the river). The room was nicely arranged (the mink throws an elegant touch). The hotel's location (slightly away from the bustle) was a huge plus. Close enough to stroll along the riverwalk though. And moments from the Alamo. Do check out the quiet courtyard with flames and more falling water! Take a good book and relax in a soft chair as the sun sets...

Room Tip: Perfect for the Riverwalk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DumDumBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Mgr150, Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2011

We appreciate you taking the the time to post your comments. We are glad to hear you had such a "wonderful, wonderful stay". Your review did a great job of pointing out many of the attributes that set us apart from the cookie cutter hotels. Thank you for visiting Texas and the Hotel Valencia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

Saved through Priceline. Gorgeous room...bed just a little firm for my liking but slept well. We spent two nights and were absolutely blown away that a 4-star hotel like this did/does not have pay-per-view movies??? That blows my mind.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prsist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Mgr150, Manager at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2011

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your room. I am sorry you are disappointed in the lack of pay per view movies. When given the choice between HD quality versus standard definition with a movie option, we chose the former. Our service provider has promised to develop the movie option to add to our HD service. Thank you for taking the time to complete a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#24 of 357 in San Antonio
4,082 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#5 of 357 in San Antonio
3,323 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#17 of 357 in San Antonio
3,268 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 357 in San Antonio
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valencia Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Address: 150 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $174 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valencia Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the San Antonio River Walk, within walking distance of the Alamo, Hotel Valencia Riverwalk is a boutique hotel in the heart of downtown San Antonio. Hotel Valencia is ideal for a romantic or weekend getaway, a business trip or a group or convention. Our hotel is a short walk from the San Antonio Convention Center, downtown attractions and only a short drive to The Pearl, theme parks and various golf courses. Enjoy signature cocktails in Naranja bar and dine in Dorrego's Restaurant. Amenities include signature beds with Egyptian cotton linens, complimentary FIT breakfast and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Valencia Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valencia Riverwalk Hotel
Valencia Riverwalk San Antonio
Hotel Valencia San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing