We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and more choices of beer than you can imagine!”

The Friendly Spot Ice House
Ranked #81 of 4,629 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly and more choices of beer than you can imagine!”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

A local police officer recommended this spot to us and we had a great time. It was very casual and friendly. The atmosphere was a bit like going to a party at a friend's house. There is even a playground for the little ones. My only complaint is that there were no decent bathrooms only porta potties lined up near the side of the property. If they added a ladies room this spot would be perfect!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shalee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    69
    14
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Friendly is definitely the right name”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I started visiting the Friendly Spot in the summer of 2011 when a friend introduced me to the bar. I love it. I've been during the craziness of First Friday, and I've enjoyed a quiet Sunday afternoon there. Throughout the year they have Wednesday Family Movie nights on a giant blow-up screen. They also use the screen for sports.
As a beer lover though, my favorite thing is the selection of beer. I can always find something new to try. Often they have $2 tap specials, so there's no harm in trying a new beer. If you're not a beer drinker, they have delicious mimosas and sangria. I keep telling myself to try something new, but every time I still get the black bean chipotle burger. It's that good.
It's kid-friendly, dog-friendly, and very cyclist-friendly.
Be warned though, it is mostly an outside bar and San Antonio gets warm!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trevi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice beer, nice food”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

I found this place by accident while walking past. Great selection of beer, great food, friendly people. There's a kids play area and dogs are allowed.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unique hang out”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Loved the relaxed atmosphere and the avocado nachos.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank JCarnegie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a craft brew in San Antonio.”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

If you are staying in the King William neighbourhood or are passing through, this is a great place to stop for a craft beer. Quite an eclectic crowd when we were there. It feels like everyone, and their kids, and their parents, and their dogs, are welcome. Exellent beer selection too!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KimBWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Friendly Spot Ice House also viewed

 

Been to The Friendly Spot Ice House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing