We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Holiday Inn in San Antonio”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites San Antonio Northwest
Ranked #136 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Holiday Inn in San Antonio”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This Holiday Inn is brand new (built in 2012) and it shows. The hotel is extremely comfortable and looks very fresh. The rooms are very spacious and the bedding is fantastic. The customer service is extremely attentive and I have encountered zero negative issues. The location is also excellent, being next door to Fiesta Texas and La Cantera, as well as being within walking distance of UTSA and a short drive down I-10 to downtown.

Their gym is wonderful. Being a new hotel, all the machines are brand new. That is quite the upgrade from typical hotel offerings of old and sometimes dilapidated or out of date machines. Four aerobic machines, a flat screen TV on the wall, along with a complement of free weights and a medicine ball round out the offerings.

As a Platinum Elite member, I received recognition at check-in along with a breakfast voucher and a complimentary suite upgrade. This place is a bargain that cannot be beat. If you are planning on staying in San Antonio, whether for business or pleasure, do not do yourself a disservice and stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enrique R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    30
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
61
11
2
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This Holiday Inn is close to Fiesta Texas. My husband and I stay here every time we travel to San Antonio. The rates cannot be beat, and it's only a 10 minutes drive to downtown Riverwalk. New, clean and great rates!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJWKaty_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Probably the nicest holday inn I've stayed at. Definitely exceeded my expectations based on Brand name. Stayed there while driving through town, staff was very nice. Rooms were larger than I expected. Liked it so much, I stayed there on the way back through.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckypeekn
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

1 night business stay. Pros - The rooms are very modern and functional! I love that they had two different types of tables on wheels... it made it easy to eat and work while in the hotel. There is a bar and restaurant downstairs that looked nice, but did not have the pleasure of eating there. The workout room was ample for cardio and had a nice view of the pool. Cons - it is in the Sam's club parking lot, which is a little weird (but you cannot access it from the Sam's club parking lot). The WIFI was awful! I could barely get a signal, and when I did, it dropped out entirely.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buckypeekn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Nice new clean hotel but when we checked in & went to our room the lock was broken so I had to carry all our bags back down to get a different room. Was looking forward to sleeping in didn't happen due to a fire alarm going off! (We found out later it was burnt toast, why it took 5-10mins to turn it off I don't know!) Then to add to the torture, housekeeping came into my room while I was dressing (abt 8:30 am) the pool was decent size & clean. The beds were comfy, water pressure was good & if not for the fire drill & housekeeping waking us it was a nice hotel. Hot tub was working. Matamoras is a Mexican restaurant next to the hotel very yummy try it if you stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willncristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites San Antonio Northwest, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear willncristy,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding cleanliness.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding housekeeping and the fire alarm during your stay. We will look into this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I loved this hotel, the staff and location was awesome. I was scared from the reviews but I found my hotel beautiful and brand new. The hotel is a year old. The water pressure was perfect and the beds were wonderful. I didn't have breakfast but everything is close by and I mean everything from Sam's club to Target. My room was super duper clean no smell. They had Laundry room and soap for the washer. The sodas have a good price what is the normal prices for a hotel. They have fridge and microwave. Did I say it was so beautiful and clean. The pool was small but very clean and cute with a hot tub. The bathroom was spacious and very clean. I got it for a super price and I love it ! maybe they worked out all the kinks from before since it is a new hotel. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: I got the elevator so my kids would not bother others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Motorgirl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Wi
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here from July 5-7, 2013 in a standard two queen bed room. We are Priority Club platinum members and used points for our stay.

The Good: Beautiful new hotel; large, open lobby; modern design; clean rooms; convenient shuttle service

The Bad: low water pressure in shower; small outdoor pool (made even smaller due to crowded 4th of July holiday weekend); very young, immature staff may cause this establishment to be run down way before its time (one young worker we encountered talked about how much he liked to drink and party outside of work, another female worker talked to her co-worker on the elevator I was on about how terrible her period was this month and the awful cramps she was experiencing)

The Ugly: Poor communication between front desk and restaurant staff- front desk informed customers that restaurant was open from 7:00-11:00 am. Restaurant manager turned many people away both days we were there. We got to the restaurant the first morning at 10:30 am and were told they closed up early due to being slow. This made no sense as many people were still coming in trying to get breakfast. The second morning, we were there at 10:00 am and again were told they decided to close early. When I pressed the manager for more information, he stated that some of the outlets weren't working in the kitchen. I let him know we were platinum members and had a free breakfast coupon and the manager agreed to let us order. Again, many other people were turned away without any explanation given them. I suggested to our waitress that they let people know what was going on up front with the kitchen. She indicated it was more than just a few outlets not working, that the cook decided to walk out, and that they were feuding with the front desk staff for telling customers that breakfast went until 11:00 am when the restaurant said there hours were only until 10:00 am.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desertf8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites San Antonio Northwest, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear desertf8,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northwest Side
Best Western Plus Fiesta Inn
Best Western Plus Fiesta Inn
#53 of 358 in San Antonio
291 reviews
Northwest Side
Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Antonio Medical Center North
Northwest Side
Staybridge Suites San Antonio NW near Six Flags Fiesta Texas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Side
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Near La Cantera Parkway
Northwest Side
Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio Northwest/Medical Center
Northwest Side
Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio At The Rim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites San Antonio Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites San Antonio Northwest

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites San Antonio Northwest
Address: 5535 University Heights Blvd, San Antonio, TX 78249
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites San Antonio Northwest 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Holiday Inn & Suites San Antonio Northwest. Discover all that San Antonio has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn & Suites San Antonio Northwest near UTSA. At our hotel, you will find modern luxury and contemporary southern hospitality. The Holiday Inn & Suites San Antonio near Six Flags is located at the heart of shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts in the Northwest corridor of San Antonio. We are located minutes from Six Flags Fiesta Texas, The Shops at La Cantera, The Rim Outdoor Mall, La Cantera Golf Resort, UTSA, USAA, Medical Center, Valero, KCI, NuStar, FBI Regional Offices, and many more. Getting here is fast and convenient too. Out Hotel boasts easy access to IH-10, Hwy 1604, Loop 410 and IH-35. We are about 10 miles north of the San Antonio International Airport, Downtown San Antonio and the Riverwalk. Whether you are coming to San Antonio for business or just for fun, your room at the Holiday Inn & Suites San Antonio near UTSA is your personal retreat. With amenities such as complimentary Wi-Fi Internet Access, outdoor Pool and Hot-Tub and Kem's, our full service restaurant and bar; you'll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites San Antonio Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing