We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites San Antonio Northwest
Ranked #136 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I loved this hotel, the staff and location was awesome. I was scared from the reviews but I found my hotel beautiful and brand new. The hotel is a year old. The water pressure was perfect and the beds were wonderful. I didn't have breakfast but everything is close by and I mean everything from Sam's club to Target. My room was super duper clean no smell. They had Laundry room and soap for the washer. The sodas have a good price what is the normal prices for a hotel. They have fridge and microwave. Did I say it was so beautiful and clean. The pool was small but very clean and cute with a hot tub. The bathroom was spacious and very clean. I got it for a super price and I love it ! maybe they worked out all the kinks from before since it is a new hotel. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: I got the elevator so my kids would not bother others.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Motorgirl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites San Antonio Northwest
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 136 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here from July 5-7, 2013 in a standard two queen bed room. We are Priority Club platinum members and used points for our stay.

The Good: Beautiful new hotel; large, open lobby; modern design; clean rooms; convenient shuttle service

The Bad: low water pressure in shower; small outdoor pool (made even smaller due to crowded 4th of July holiday weekend); very young, immature staff may cause this establishment to be run down way before its time (one young worker we encountered talked about how much he liked to drink and party outside of work, another female worker talked to her co-worker on the elevator I was on about how terrible her period was this month and the awful cramps she was experiencing)

The Ugly: Poor communication between front desk and restaurant staff- front desk informed customers that restaurant was open from 7:00-11:00 am. Restaurant manager turned many people away both days we were there. We got to the restaurant the first morning at 10:30 am and were told they closed up early due to being slow. This made no sense as many people were still coming in trying to get breakfast. The second morning, we were there at 10:00 am and again were told they decided to close early. When I pressed the manager for more information, he stated that some of the outlets weren't working in the kitchen. I let him know we were platinum members and had a free breakfast coupon and the manager agreed to let us order. Again, many other people were turned away without any explanation given them. I suggested to our waitress that they let people know what was going on up front with the kitchen. She indicated it was more than just a few outlets not working, that the cook decided to walk out, and that they were feuding with the front desk staff for telling customers that breakfast went until 11:00 am when the restaurant said there hours were only until 10:00 am.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank desertf8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites San Antonio Northwest, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear desertf8,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I am finishing up a stay at this hotel. I always try to stay at the Holiday Inn chain as I have good experiences. I must must start off saying that this hotel is new and very clean. However, the front desk staff leaves something to be desired. When I checked in, the young girl at the front wasn't super friendly and appeared to be a new employee. Maybe she is just learning so I let it slide. However, for the rest of the stay, there were a couple of younger guys working the front desk and had no customer service skills whatsoever. You pass by the desk and they either just look at you or don't acknowledge your presence. So....3 start based on a new hotel but the poor staff prevented it from getting 5.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites San Antonio Northwest, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Anthony A,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered over the unfriendliness of the staff. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests as your comments are being shared with the hotel's management and appropriate action will be taken. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is rated as a 3 star hotel and I must say it doesn't come close. For a newer hotel it will be run down quickly by the poor cleaning staff. We entered our room to a stench that turned our stomach. We found found bags of takeout in the refrigerator to be the culprit. Trying to call the front desk, we did initially did not get an answer. We finally got a response, that this was the last room available in the hotel with two beds. The reason there were no rooms, was because they were short staffed and not all of the rooms were cleaned from the night before. I'm assuming this room had not been touched in days or they would have found the food in the refrigerator. In lieu of the smell we roasted a cereal bar in the microwave and stuck them on top of the air conditioner to overwhelm the smell.

When our room was finally cleaned late afternoon the 2nd day, they left only one towel. After we called we were delivered 3 towels about an hour later. Don't understand that logic, but assume it's just laziness or once again not staffed enough to clean the towels in a timely manner.

Beware of this nice looking hotel in a great location. Reset your expectations on this place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevintadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites San Antonio Northwest, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Adams_Dallas,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. We are very sorry you were not happy with your recent stay at our hotel and offer my sincere apologies for the poor housekeeping service and conditions you experienced, which are certainly not up to our usual standards. Please be assured that all comments are acted upon and used to improve the products and service we provide to our guests.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I was very disappointed with my stay and feel it was overpriced for what you receive. The suites were clean, however it felt crowded and small. There was no coffee/tea area in the lobby area. Breakfast was not included, which given the price I felt it should have been. We did eat in the restaurant during the evening and the service was HORRIBLE, with the wait staff focused more on socializing with each other, than waiting on the customer. Not surprising given gratuity was automatically applied (no matter how small the party - we were 4), so wait staff had no reason to to be concern with the service they provided. The food was OK.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank floridavolunteer_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites San Antonio Northwest, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear floridavolunteer_11,

Thank you so much for your recent comments. Please accept my apology that our service fell below your expectations on this visit most particularly with the condition of the room you were given and restaurant experience being sub par. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into.

Again, thanks for your feedback. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed one night and our room was very nice, modern and spacious! Comfortable beds! Loved the decor. This hotel is close to UTSA and La Cantera shopping mall. Would have given it a five star if the staff at the front desk had been friendlier. The person who checked me in did not even greet me with a hello.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swtbby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This hotel is new. Got upgraded to a suite which was very spacious. Separate bedroom from living area. 2 TVs. Close by to UTSA, Sams club, Walmart and lots of restaurants.
Does not have comp breakfast but it is worth the stay as there are many other places to eat.
I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 891travelling891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northwest Side
Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Antonio Medical Center North
Northwest Side
Best Western Plus Fiesta Inn
Best Western Plus Fiesta Inn
#58 of 358 in San Antonio
293 reviews
Northwest Side
Staybridge Suites San Antonio NW near Six Flags Fiesta Texas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Side
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Near La Cantera Parkway
Northwest Side
Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio Northwest/Medical Center
Northwest Side
Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio At The Rim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites San Antonio Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites San Antonio Northwest

Address: 5535 University Heights Blvd, San Antonio, TX 78249
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range: $97 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites San Antonio Northwest 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Holiday Inn & Suites San Antonio Northwest. Discover all that San Antonio has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn & Suites San Antonio Northwest near UTSA. At our hotel, you will find modern luxury and contemporary southern hospitality. The Holiday Inn & Suites San Antonio near Six Flags is located at the heart of shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts in the Northwest corridor of San Antonio. We are located minutes from Six Flags Fiesta Texas, The Shops at La Cantera, The Rim Outdoor Mall, La Cantera Golf Resort, UTSA, USAA, Medical Center, Valero, KCI, NuStar, FBI Regional Offices, and many more. Getting here is fast and convenient too. Out Hotel boasts easy access to IH-10, Hwy 1604, Loop 410 and IH-35. We are about 10 miles north of the San Antonio International Airport, Downtown San Antonio and the Riverwalk. Whether you are coming to San Antonio for business or just for fun, your room at the Holiday Inn & Suites San Antonio near UTSA is your personal retreat. With amenities such as complimentary Wi-Fi Internet Access, outdoor Pool and Hot-Tub and Kem's, our full service restaurant and bar; you'll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites San Antonio Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing