We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of 5 STARS...I'd give it 10!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area
Ranked #171 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed October 9, 2009

I traveled with my Senior Citizen mom, my 24 year old daughter and my 18 year old daughter. This was the PERFECT hotel for us. The suite had a separete living room with pull-out couch and television, fridge and microwave. The door could be pulled shut between the bedroom and living area. The girls wanted to stay up late, and they could without disturbing Mom and me. Mom wakes up EARLY for coffee, so she was agle to get up, have her coffee, watch television and read a complimentary USA Today without disturbing the rest of us. The price was reasonable, the staff was friendly, continental breakfast was free and the beds were VERY comfortable! It's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gingermom4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttribby, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2010

Thank you for your review and feedback.
We use your your review to enhance & improve our service and product.
We strive hard to create a "memorable" experience for our guests.
Please call us the next time you plan to visit San Antonio. Let us make your
reservations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

220 - 226 of 262 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2009

I have been traveling to San Antonio for the past six years, and i have always chose the Holiday Inn Down Town Market Area simply because each and every experience has been a pleasure, The staff has always gone the extra mile to assure my needs were met. The rooms are always clean and properly staffed. The location provides easy access to just about anywhere you need to go. This location will continue to get all my business when traveling to the area. When i book this hotel, i know i will get the best value and customer service each and everytime!!
Jim Skelton

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BOO0856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttribby, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2010

Thank you for the review & feedback.
We use your words to enhance & improve our product & service.
Please let us make your reservations, the next time you plan to visit San Antonio.
Thank you again for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

The rooms are huge with 2 queen beds and 2 TVs. The pool was decent size and refreshing for July in Texas. The breakfast was fantastic, but a bit crowded a few of the days. You can catch a trolley a few blocks away or walk to the river about 3 blocks away and follow it downtown. The hotel was clean and comfortable. If there was a downside, it would be that the A/C did not kick butt, but it was sufficient. And, the breakfast was a zoo 2 of the 4 days we stayed there. I would stay there again for sure. Parking was not a problem. We found a spot every night in the lot.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guynamedjay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttribby, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2010

Thank you for the review and comments.
We use your feedback to enhance our product & service.
We appreciate your business!
Please let us make your reservations the next time you plan to visit San Antonio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2009

Originally booked at a Microtel, but room was terrible. Called Holiday Inn and got a room right away. Room was GREAT. Location was good for us. Service was excellent (Priority Club member). Came into town for nephew's Grad. This trip was made better by our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stingworm67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttribby, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2010

Thank you for your review & feedback.
We use your words & thoughts to enhance our service & product.
We appreciate your candor.
Thank you again for your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2009

There are several Holiday Inns surrounding downtown San Antonio. This one was probably the farthest walking distance, from what I could see, and the location is the beginning of an industrious area, right in front of the freeway, so we were occassionally woken up by large trucks or Harleys. But when my husband made the comment of wishing we were staying on the Riverwalk I stated that we would have had to pay twice as much for half the room and he then agreed, for us we did the best thing. For our family, the size of our room was very comfortable. We really appreciated the two room look as well as two QUEEN beds and the sofa bed. But if you can get the same a little closer to the Riverwalk, I would reccomend you do that.
Our taxi driver from the airport, stated that he would be happy to take us to Sea World the next day and as we left our room at 9:00am, he was waiting outside for us. This saved us the possiblity of getting lost, the $13 parking fee at Sea World as well as the long walk from the parking area. We did a lot of walking during our trip, for the Riverwalk and the Alamo, which was enjoyable. We spent one day seeing the Bridge Caverns as well as driving the safari, next door (Highly recommend both!) and rented a car for one day, from Enterprise to do that. Unless you get a sweet deal for a rental car, this saved us a lot of money rather than renting a car for our entire trip.
We were happy with breakfast, and the sweet lady (I think Gladys) worked very hard to try to keep up with keeping everything stocked. The front desk always appeared happy to help also. I specifically asked to stay on the main floor so I wouldn't have to deal with the slow elevator, something I'm glad I did.
If I had one main complaint it was housekeeping. When we first entered our room, everything looked decent. The beds are very comfortable! But the floor wasn't vacuumed very well. Then that night the kids ate a small bag of potato chips and the few crumbs from that were still on the floor the next day, along with what was on the floor when we first arrived. We came in late and got up early the next day so I didn't say anything. When we came in our second night, to the same, very obvious, several, small messes still all over the floor, I borrowed a vacuum from the front desk and vacuumed myself! It made all the difference! It was obvious that room hadn't been vacummed for a while and it felt 10 times cleaner after I gave it a good vacuuming. The next day we slept in and kept a do not disturb sign on our door until 10:15am. Then when we left at 10:15, I changed the sign to "Housekeeping Please". We came in that night to find out that housekeeping never showed. I guess 10:15 is too late to be asking for housekeeping.
Also we asked for an extra blanket and throw. The throw given to us at the front desk was covered with what looked like a spilled pizza. The blanket had what looked like a fresh urine stain. Definately neither had been put in the washing machine yet, and both made me pretty sick.
Lastly, (if you're still reading) be careful when you book a Holiday Inn. Because there are so many you can think you are going to be at one and end up at a different one. Look twice if you get on holidayinn.com and make sure you are booking the one you want to be staying at. The site has the locations close together and easy to mix up.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wesaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttribby, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2010

Thank you for your review & feedback.
We use your comments to enhance our service & product.
We are sorry your stay was disappointing.
Please call us the next time you plan to visit San Antonio.
You will be pleased to see new things at the Holiday Inn Express!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2008

I stayed at this HIE for 13 days in early November. It was clean, quiet and fairly well maintained. Staff was friendly and I heard them assisting many with directions and recommendations.

Pros
Nice value, easy access to downtown & Market area
Easy on & off highway
I had a King Suite, very nice size
Excellent water pressure

Cons
Breakfast was iffy; eggs tasted like too much water was mixed in them before scarmbling most days
Immediate surrounding area was mostly warehouse, small businesses. You could walk in the day to the Market area, but some may feel uncomfortable because it is a bit deserted. Transit to downtown & Riverwalk was about 1 1/2 block walk.

I had a very strange occurrence. My first day, they had no shampoo for the room. The clerk check some unoccupied rooms, but said they had already borrowed from Peter to pay Paul, so he didn't expect to find any. The 2nd day, still no shampoo to be had!!

Overall. not a bad stay, some bumps in the road, but comfortable and always clean.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HudsonValleyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Holiday Inn Express SAN ANTONIO-DTWN MARKET AREA.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our brand to improve the guest experience. We noticed you made your accommodations through a third party website and it was reserved as a standard room. When making reservations as a standard room it creates a reservation that will occupy what the hotel has available at the time of check-in. We apologize for any confusion this may have caused. Also we are sorry if the elevator was not working properly. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2008

I was a little leary of staying here after I read the last posting however, I am glad I did. The hotel accomodations and staff are great. The weekned I stayed, the hotel was full each day. Nevertheless, they had plenty of everything. The only thing that I could say negative is that they probably need more than one elevator because it is slow. however, this was not much of a problem for me because my room was on the second floor and I took the stairs. The exercise was good for me. I recommend the hotel for the price and because of its location.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank darnellmays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how we did during your stay! We hope to see you again in your future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Avenida Guadalupe
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenida Guadalupe
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown Market Square
Best Western Alamo Suites
#86 of 358 in San Antonio
510 reviews
Avenida Guadalupe
Courtyard San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area

Address: 102 El Paso St, San Antonio, TX 78204-3101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $89 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Downtown Market Area welcomes you. Located in the heart of downtown San Antonio, our all suite hotel has recently been renovated and is just a few miles from The Alamo, the downtown market district and the scenic River Walk, offering convenient access to the San Antonio International Airport. Our hotel is perfect for your next San Antonio vacation. This San Antonio hotel in the downtown market district provides easy access to area attractions including Sea World of Texas, the San Antonio Zoo, Six Flags Fiesta Texas and Splashtown Water Park. Many popular shopping destinations are also nearby, such as the Rivercenter Mall, El Mercado Market Square and the North Star Mall. Other area attractions not far from our hotel in San Antonio include the Alamodome, the San Antonio Convention Center and the AT&T Center, home of the San Antonio Spurs.Business travelers will enjoy a stay at our newly renovated hotel in downtown San Antonio due to its close proximity to companies such as Tesoro, Xerox, Washington Mutual, IBC, Toyota and SBC. Our San Antonio hotel is just 15 miles from the San Antonio International Airport.During your stay at our San Antonio hotel, enjoy the 24-hour fitness center, heated, outdoor pool, relaxing whirlpool and complimentary hot breakfast bar. Check out the discount rates on our quality San Antonio hotel rooms by the River Walk and start planning your visit today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area
Holiday Inn San Antonio
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing