We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area
Ranked #171 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Came to San Antonio for 4 night stay on business. At the time, this hotel offered the best rate. I liked the location; easy to walk into downtown center. Pizza Hut across the way. Room suite a little dark (I was on the 4th floor). Furnishings normal and bedding comfortable. Full cable and decent WiFi (not the fastest but it's does the job). Elevator is slow (take the stairs if you can).

Front Office staff all extremely friendly (especially Chris the Manager). Breakfast is good and complimentary (but get there early! Soo busy in the mornings) and limited seating. May want to get breakfast and bring to the room.

Overall, for business or family, a good standard hotel. Definitely need to get a car. Tip! : Get the handicapped room. Why? They're cheaper! Easy access to entrance. Why cheaper? Because handicapped rooms have lower bathtub walls (i.e. water splashes could occur more easily). But if you're okay with that, go for it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Thank you so much for the fantastic words about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Market Square. It is not often that someone goes into that much detail in a review and let me assure you it is greatly appreciated. It was great to hear all the things you enjoyed about your stay and that you enjoyed the property and the rooms. I cannot wait to share this with the entire staff of the property so they can see what a stellar job they did for your stay. I must say the entire management team here at the property is very proud to hear what you had to say about the staff. Thank you again for taking so much time to give such a thorough review of the property. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in San Antonio.

Sincerely,
Cindy Albano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

123 - 129 of 262 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014

Wanted to enjoy a exciting first get away with my fiancé, and that's exactly what we got! Holiday Inn Express is a great hotel to stay at from the friendly greetings to the complementary breakfast! The rooms are a good size, especially for the price. Security cameras in the parking lot also give the sense of safety for your vehicle and well being. The outdoor pool (including Jacuzzi) was a good bonus for our stay. This particular hotel is also close to every event you can think of (Riverwalk, Splashtown, Zoo, etc.). As an overall experience Holiday Inn Express is a 5 star for the reasonable price. Would highly recommend!

Room Tip: The hotel is next to a highway but it not disturbing at all. The 2nd and 3rd floor have ice machines...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Megan H Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. Value is an important factor when choosing a place to stay. Then it gets even better when you come to "experience" The Holiday Inn Express Way! We value and appreciate you choosing us for your lodging needs. Should you find yourself traveling to San Antonio, please feel free to give us a call directly for special rates.

Sincerely,
Cindy Albano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I just want to commend whoever hired Dana Alexander as the Concierge for Wyndham Resorts at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area . She was extremely helpful and made our stay much more pleasant. Thank you for having her there to assist us.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 325LittleBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

325Littlebear, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Holiday Inn Express Downtown Market Square. We were happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the property. We strive on a daily basis to meet the needs of each and every guest. Once again,
Thank you.

Sincerely,
Cindy Albano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

I stayed here one night while in town for business. I had stayed here in January and not been back because at that time the ceiling fan in my room was super dirty. After I checked in everything seemed clean and fine in the room, although the air conditioner was barely blowing. I took a pillow off the bed and laid on the couch to watch TV. In the morning the pillow I had left on the couch was covered in dust and fuzzy particles from a vent above the couch. The air conditioner filter had not been changed for months. It was disgusting to say the least. I left the manager a voice mail and never heard back. Safe to say I will not be back.

Room Tip: If you get room 316 check your ac filter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PattiB1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

PattiB1957 Thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback regarding your recent stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortcomings you experienced. I am glad that I was able to speak with you on your check out day in regards to some of the issues that you had. I will personally follow up with your suggestions and ensure that this does not happen again. Once again, I do apologize.

Sincerely,
Cindy Albano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed here because we wanted to spend time on the San Antonio River Walk but we preferred to spend our money on attractions and food rather than a hotel. This was a perfect happy medium. The rooms were spotless albeit rather out dated in some ways. The hallway cleanliness and freshness was a little spotty but the hotel service overall was excellent. The River Walk is a 15 minute walk from the hotel but in the middle of a summer's day can be a bit brutal. The best part about staying here is the free shuttle to the River Walk that runs from around noon- 9ish at night. The driver gives you his number and you just call him to collect you when you are ready to go down or come back. He is super friendly and can tell you anything you want to know about restaurants, cafes etc. If you are not looking to spend a fortune on a hotel but want to enjoy all the amenities of downtown SA, this is a great hotel to use when they have special deals (which is most of the time!)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

LeiadD Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Holiday Inn Express Downtown Market Square. We were happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the property. I also wish to Thank you for choosing us for your lodging needs when there are so many hotels to choose from. We strive on a daily basis to meet the needs of each and every guest.
Once again, Thank you.

Sincerely,
Cindy Albano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

This is the place for you if you want to be in the Downtown Market area. It's close to every thing and less than a mile from the River Walk. The 3rd floor right beside the elevator has the best view. The beds feel like feathers and the pillows are so comfy. The front desk was very helpful and nice. This hotel also has a shuttle that runs until 9pm. Very convenient. This hotel is also great for couples.

Room Tip: 3rd floor by the elevator has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Holiday Inn Express Downtown Market Square. We were happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the property. We take feedback seriously and we're always striving to improve guest experiences. We look forward to seeing you the next time your travels bring you to the San Antonio area. Thank you again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express North Downtown Market Square.

Sincerely,
Cindy Albano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

The staff is very friendly, although I do think they are understaffed at times...especially breakfast time. WOW! They had one girl having to rush around and keep the pancake machine full, putting out the bacon, eggs, etc. We loved bacon breakfast day....sausage day...not so much. It tasted like fake meat. We passed on the sausage and gravy. Yuck. Oh, and make sure you get there early....once 8 am rolls around that place is insanely packed! Although, I must be fair and say that most of the hotels we have stayed in have that same issue.

I do love that there was fresh coffee and tea available all day and all night!

The hotel itself is nice...the location...eh. It's kinda scary looking in the immediate area but it's very close to the Riverwalk and the Alamo. It's a very small property so they only have a hot tub and a pretty small pool, but it served it's purpose and it was never too packed.

Room Tip: I highly recommend getting the suite. It has two beds and a fold out sofa. There are 2 TVs so we all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeverStopShining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Justcallmeden.....t Thank you for taking the time to express some concerns that you experienced. I want to extend an apology for any problems that you experienced. I read each and every review to see how I can improve or exceed guest expectations. I can assure you that the neighbor is quite safe and we have had no problems to report. If you would like to discuss your stay with me, please feel free to contact me with any questions and or concerns.

Sincerely,
Cindy Albano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Avenida Guadalupe
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Best Western Alamo Suites
#89 of 358 in San Antonio
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenida Guadalupe
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown Market Square
Avenida Guadalupe
Courtyard San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area

Address: 102 El Paso St, San Antonio, TX 78204-3101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $88 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Downtown Market Area welcomes you. Located in the heart of downtown San Antonio, our all suite hotel has recently been renovated and is just a few miles from The Alamo, the downtown market district and the scenic River Walk, offering convenient access to the San Antonio International Airport. Our hotel is perfect for your next San Antonio vacation. This San Antonio hotel in the downtown market district provides easy access to area attractions including Sea World of Texas, the San Antonio Zoo, Six Flags Fiesta Texas and Splashtown Water Park. Many popular shopping destinations are also nearby, such as the Rivercenter Mall, El Mercado Market Square and the North Star Mall. Other area attractions not far from our hotel in San Antonio include the Alamodome, the San Antonio Convention Center and the AT&T Center, home of the San Antonio Spurs.Business travelers will enjoy a stay at our newly renovated hotel in downtown San Antonio due to its close proximity to companies such as Tesoro, Xerox, Washington Mutual, IBC, Toyota and SBC. Our San Antonio hotel is just 15 miles from the San Antonio International Airport.During your stay at our San Antonio hotel, enjoy the 24-hour fitness center, heated, outdoor pool, relaxing whirlpool and complimentary hot breakfast bar. Check out the discount rates on our quality San Antonio hotel rooms by the River Walk and start planning your visit today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area
Holiday Inn San Antonio
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing