We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area
Ranked #158 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Coahoma, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel.”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here awhile back and had a great time. The rooms were clean and it was a good central location for what we wanted to do. There was a hotel shuttle that took us to the riverwalk area and we spent the day there and then caught the shuttle back. The shuttle driver was actually looking for us because it was the last shuttle back and he found us crossing the street trying to get back to the pick up location. Very nice of him to not leave us behind. It would have been a long walk back at night. Overall the hotel was exactly what we were looking for - clean, convenient and friendly. The pool was great too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for letting us know how we did. I value each and every comment and look for ways to improve our hotel. If you would like to discuss any matter with me, please feel free to give me a call directly here at the hotel.

Cindy Albano
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Alamo Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    74
    54
    32
    28
See reviews for
110
51
10
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Schertz, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I had the good fortune to select the Holiday In Express & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market, TX because of two things its close proximity to everything In downtown San Antonio.
I have coordinated two family events at this hotel and my daughter coordinated a wedding. The staff and the Restaurant Manager Luis have been as professional and family like as any group I have seen anywhere.
I saw a new employee get an awesome guest focused training from day one. The people at this hotel are passionate about their guests and always greeted everyone( family and friends) with a smile, a kind greeting on every occasion, not sometimes or most times but every time. I hosted my husband's 50th birthday party there and just recently hosted a family reunion there. The staff was more than accommodated each time with all my request. The staff here really take you in and cares for you like family. I hosted a Texas Hoedown with approximately 60 guest. The room were great, the food was delicious...breakfast buffet was great.

Not in that in your face way but in that very rare way of genuine sincerity. They are ready to help at the asking. I will recommend all my family and friends to stay here so that they can experience the friendliness and hospitality

My family and extended family each commented on the kindness of the staff and there helpfulness in seeing the good sights, places to eat and things to do in the city..

Luis, April, Christina, Tonya (front desk clerk hope I got the name right) has created a special place for their guests and employees. You don't see that everyday. I truly appreciate the excellent care and customer service . I guess that is why I continue to find my way back there. GREAT JOB!!

Room Tip: I always enjoy corner rooms on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you so much for the fantastic words about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Market Square. It is not often that someone goes into that much detail in a review and let me assure you it is greatly appreciated. It was great to hear all the things you enjoyed about your stay and that you enjoyed the property and the rooms. I cannot wait to share this with the entire staff of the property so they can see what a stellar job they did for your stay. I must say the entire management team here at the property is very proud to hear what you had to say about the staff. Thank you again for taking so much time to give such a thorough review of the property. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Love the location, I have no complaints. Everything was great! The staff was very nice. The only thing is that street is weird. That has nothing to do with hotel but it is a bit confusing. The river walk was a bit far to walk from there. The breakfast was very good, The pool was awesome ! I would stay again if I go to San Antonio...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WIllie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
I would like to take the time to Thank you for your comments. I value your input and use any suggestions to improve The Hotel. We strive on a daily basis to meet the needs of each and every guest. Once again, Thank You.

Cindy Albano
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express
210-277-1000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Do NOT I repeat do NOT stay here EVER! This hotel is one of the WORST bug infested, dirty, unsafe hotels I've every stayed at in my life! My daughter had a basketball tourney in town and the team picked this roach trap to stay in. When we arrived I was told by the desk clerk that although my wife and I drove separate cars only ONE parking pass is allowed per room and it's their policy to have the other vehicle park on the street behind the hotel. I immediately told this person I didn't like that and felt uncomfortable with it. Desk clerk said that any cars without a pass on the lot will be towed after 10pm, BUT NO ONE WOULD BOTHER MY TRUCK CAUSE THIS PLACE WAS VERY SAFE. Well guess what? at 1 am my truck alarm went off and someone was inside my truck stealing my ipod,gps,and a few other things. This "policy" cost me over $1000 in lost merchandise and when Cindy Albano the general manager called me the following Monday, she informed me that I parked on the street at my own risk and they hotel wasn't giving me one dime in reimbursement of my loss. So my suggestion to ANYONE is to NOT stay here. It's very dirty, and unsafe.

Room Tip: The suites have old furniture, the one elevator is very slow, and food places leave fliers under you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Sean H,

We would like to thank you for your review. We have sent you a private message with additional details regarding your review.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Me & my family stayed there back on the weekend of July 19th. The hotel was very nice & the staff was very helpful and accomidating.

The first night we were there the room above us was being very noisy by running around the room as we were trying to go to sleep. We called the front desk and the night audit gentlemen took care of the problem immediately.

Only real complaint about the hotel was the lack of parking. When we would come back at night after spending all day gone there was never any parking spots and had to either park on the street or in the front in the fire lanes.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amytx84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel when there are so many to choose from. I appreciate you letting us know about the parking. I will look for ways to improve with the parking situation. If you would like to discuss any issues you experienced, please feel free to give me a call directly here at the hotel. Once again, Thank you.

Cindy Albano
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Alamo Suites
210-277-1000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owings mills
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

So we got to the hotel after a long day of sight seeing and weaving in and out of the 25000 Lutheran kids that were in town for a convention only to find out that our room is on the 4th floor and the elevator was BROKEN. We had two young kids and I had recently had surgery on my leg and we were offered NO help with our bags. We got to the room to find a letter (with a lot of grammatical errors on it) that stated that there was also no hot water! Are you kidding me? CRAZY! I still can't get over how you are putting people on the 4th floor and then not calling people in to help with the luggage. We stayed two night.....the elevator was still not fixed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thankyoupaige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered during your stay. We encountered a power outage that disabled the elevator and blew out our boiler system at approximately 6:30 pm on July 3rd. This was an unexpected event and wish to apologize for any problems experienced. If you would like to discuss your stay with me please call me directly here at the hotel. Once again, I do apologize.

Cindy Albano
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Alamo Suites
102 El Paso Street
San Antonio Texas 78204
210-277-1000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Cloud, MN
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at this property from 6-23-12, to 6-26-12. It states it is within walking distance to the Riverwalk area and I would have to disagree with this, especially in 102 degree temperatures. The only restaurant nearby is a Pizza Hut although there are restaurants that will deliver to this hotel (including Candy's which is worth a call and reasonable). Driving in San Antonio is crazy and by the time you see a restaurant you would like to eat at on the side of the road, you have passed it. Staying near the Riverwalk will give you many more choices and lessen your stress with driving and parking.
When we left, my daughter left her swimsuit in our room 312, hanging in the shower. I realized it the day we left and I called immediately but guess what, they didn't find it? That's funny. It was hanging on the shower rod in plain view. Besides, who wants a swimsuit that has already been worn....gross.
The rooms at this hotel are nice and big. They have a bedroom with two queens with a t.v. and a sliding door to close it off from the rest of the room. They have a sitting area with a large couch and another t.v. in the room which was nice with two teenage girls. The pool is small. The wi-fi connection not great. Beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RRSchultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let me know how your stay was. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and your comments are very welcome to me. I as the General Manager strive on a daily basis to meet the needs of each and every guest. If you have any questions concerning your stay you can reach me here at the hotel. Once again, Thank You.

Cindy Albano
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Alamo Suites
102 El Paso Street
San Antonio Texas 78204
210-277-1000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Avenida Guadalupe
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenida Guadalupe
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
#121 of 355 in San Antonio
726 reviews
Best Western Alamo Suites
#90 of 355 in San Antonio
486 reviews
Avenida Guadalupe
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area
Address: 102 El Paso St, San Antonio, TX 78204-3101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Downtown Market Area welcomes you. Located in the heart of downtown San Antonio, our all suite hotel has recently been renovated and is just a few miles from The Alamo, the downtown market district and the scenic River Walk, offering convenient access to the San Antonio International Airport. Our hotel is perfect for your next San Antonio vacation. This San Antonio hotel in the downtown market district provides easy access to area attractions including Sea World of Texas, the San Antonio Zoo, Six Flags Fiesta Texas and Splashtown Water Park. Many popular shopping destinations are also nearby, such as the Rivercenter Mall, El Mercado Market Square and the North Star Mall. Other area attractions not far from our hotel in San Antonio include the Alamodome, the San Antonio Convention Center and the AT&T Center, home of the San Antonio Spurs.Business travelers will enjoy a stay at our newly renovated hotel in downtown San Antonio due to its close proximity to companies such as Tesoro, Xerox, Washington Mutual, IBC, Toyota and SBC. Our San Antonio hotel is just 15 miles from the San Antonio International Airport.During your stay at our San Antonio hotel, enjoy the 24-hour fitness center, heated, outdoor pool, relaxing whirlpool and complimentary hot breakfast bar. Check out the discount rates on our quality San Antonio hotel rooms by the River Walk and start planning your visit today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area
Holiday Inn San Antonio
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing