We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elevator broken and NO hot water”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area
Ranked #184 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed July 10, 2013

So we got to the hotel after a long day of sight seeing and weaving in and out of the 25000 Lutheran kids that were in town for a convention only to find out that our room is on the 4th floor and the elevator was BROKEN. We had two young kids and I had recently had surgery on my leg and we were offered NO help with our bags. We got to the room to find a letter (with a lot of grammatical errors on it) that stated that there was also no hot water! Are you kidding me? CRAZY! I still can't get over how you are putting people on the 4th floor and then not calling people in to help with the luggage. We stayed two night.....the elevator was still not fixed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thankyoupaige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

I apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered during your stay. We encountered a power outage that disabled the elevator and blew out our boiler system at approximately 6:30 pm on July 3rd. This was an unexpected event and wish to apologize for any problems experienced. If you would like to discuss your stay with me please call me directly here at the hotel. Once again, I do apologize.

Cindy Albano
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Alamo Suites
102 El Paso Street
San Antonio Texas 78204
210-277-1000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

164 - 170 of 267 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at this property from 6-23-12, to 6-26-12. It states it is within walking distance to the Riverwalk area and I would have to disagree with this, especially in 102 degree temperatures. The only restaurant nearby is a Pizza Hut although there are restaurants that will deliver to this hotel (including Candy's which is worth a call and reasonable). Driving in San Antonio is crazy and by the time you see a restaurant you would like to eat at on the side of the road, you have passed it. Staying near the Riverwalk will give you many more choices and lessen your stress with driving and parking.
When we left, my daughter left her swimsuit in our room 312, hanging in the shower. I realized it the day we left and I called immediately but guess what, they didn't find it? That's funny. It was hanging on the shower rod in plain view. Besides, who wants a swimsuit that has already been worn....gross.
The rooms at this hotel are nice and big. They have a bedroom with two queens with a t.v. and a sliding door to close it off from the rest of the room. They have a sitting area with a large couch and another t.v. in the room which was nice with two teenage girls. The pool is small. The wi-fi connection not great. Beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RRSchultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let me know how your stay was. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and your comments are very welcome to me. I as the General Manager strive on a daily basis to meet the needs of each and every guest. If you have any questions concerning your stay you can reach me here at the hotel. Once again, Thank You.

Cindy Albano
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Alamo Suites
102 El Paso Street
San Antonio Texas 78204
210-277-1000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Driving is a must if you are planning to stay here. The only restaurant within walking distance is a Pizza Hut.

The rooms are big. We had a room with a living room and two queen beds. The room had two flat screen TVs, microwave and fridge.

Some of the rooms are noisy because they are close to the highway and there is a shady bar behind the hotel.

The outdoor pool is between two buildings and we decided not to use it.

The breakfast is minimal and does not offer many healthy options.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_for_fun_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review concerning our hotel. I look at each and every review and see how we can improve our service, product and accommodations. If you have any concerns that you would like to speak to me personally about, please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel. Once again, Thank you for choosing our Holiday Inn Express.

Cindy Albano
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Alamo Suites
102 El Paso
San Antonio, Texas 78204
(210) 277-1000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This hotel is the place to stay during Fiesta or Fan Fair weekend. Friendly staff, nice bar, and so conveniant to all sorts of eateries, shopping, and bars! I would recommend this hotel anytime! Cab rides are cheap and walking distance for some shopping but not all.

Room Tip: First floor for a couple with California king bed (room 141).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hollatme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us an "awesome" review. I also wish to Thank you for
choosing our hotel when you have so many others to choose from. If I can be of any assistance,
please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel.

Cindy Albano
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Alamo Suites
(210) 277-1000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

If you like to hear the sound of rumbling engines and live bands playing all night than this is your place to stay. I asked to be moved twice and got refused. the staff was not very nice. Overall rating F

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jcock10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 210-277-1000

We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Cindy Albano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Booked this hotel for a stay during a conference in town. The hotels closer to the convention center were $200+ This hotel was less than $100. Very attentive staff. Nice spacious room. Breakfast was better than some other Express hotels. Not walking distance unless you like a long walk but the cab ride was only $7.00 and most days I drove to the conference. Parking was free.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBeardenTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did. We Thank you for choosing our hotel and hope that in the future should you come to San Antonio that you choose The Holiday Inn Express Alamo Suites. Thank you again.

Cindy Albano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We chose this place due to the central location and affordable price.
The location is indeed within walking distance to major attractions in the area (the Alamo, Market Square). But there isn't much else there. So for example, we wanted a close by grocery store so we could purchase food for breakfast for the next morning but could only find a deli which was scarcely supplied near by. This was Sunday afternoon so that could be why. The surrounding area seemed desolate and a bit rough though. I wouldn't feel comfortable walking around by myself.
The room was spacious and clean, yes the carpet was cruel on socks but that's something one can easily fix. No free breakfast which was a bit of a suprise. Free parking and free wifi though.
This wasn't a bad place to stay but I imagine there are many better choices in the area and in that price range.

Room Tip: bring supplies/snacks with you, don't expect to purchase them from local shops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mmatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

I wish to extend my apologies for any inconvenience you encountered with the Holiday Inn
that you stayed at. However here at the Holiday Inn "Express" we provide a complimentary hot breakfast buffet. As this is a "standard" for all Express hotels. I believe you are referring to the full service Holiday Inn that is a couple of blocks from the hotel. They have a restaurant on property in which case breakfast would need to be purchased. If you would like to discuss staying at our Holiday Inn Express where we provide a Complimentary Hot Breakfast please feel free to give me a call directly here at the hotel.

Cindy Albano
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Alamo Suites
102 El Paso
San Antonio, Texas 78204
(210) 277-1000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#177 of 358 in San Antonio
75 reviews
East Side
Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio-Downtown/Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arsenal
La Quinta Inn & Suites  San Antonio Downtown
Avenida Guadalupe
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area

Address: 102 El Paso St, San Antonio, TX 78204-3101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $98 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Downtown Market Area welcomes you. Located in the heart of downtown San Antonio, our all suite hotel has recently been renovated and is just a few miles from The Alamo, the downtown market district and the scenic River Walk, offering convenient access to the San Antonio International Airport. Our hotel is perfect for your next San Antonio vacation. This San Antonio hotel in the downtown market district provides easy access to area attractions including Sea World of Texas, the San Antonio Zoo, Six Flags Fiesta Texas and Splashtown Water Park. Many popular shopping destinations are also nearby, such as the Rivercenter Mall, El Mercado Market Square and the North Star Mall. Other area attractions not far from our hotel in San Antonio include the Alamodome, the San Antonio Convention Center and the AT&T Center, home of the San Antonio Spurs.Business travelers will enjoy a stay at our newly renovated hotel in downtown San Antonio due to its close proximity to companies such as Tesoro, Xerox, Washington Mutual, IBC, Toyota and SBC. Our San Antonio hotel is just 15 miles from the San Antonio International Airport.During your stay at our San Antonio hotel, enjoy the 24-hour fitness center, heated, outdoor pool, relaxing whirlpool and complimentary hot breakfast bar. Check out the discount rates on our quality San Antonio hotel rooms by the River Walk and start planning your visit today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area
Holiday Inn San Antonio
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing