We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location near downtown SA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area
Ranked #171 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Enjoyed our stay for business trip. Nicki and George were great. We needed a shuttle to take us to eat and they had it covered. Their facility is small but has everything we needed, free breakfast was delicious with just the right selections. Everything in the room and hotel worked including the work out room. I only have one suggestion and that is some wipes to wipe down the equipment before and after working out. They even have a small pool and hot tub. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CW2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 210-271-1002

We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.
C. Albano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 178 of 262 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is a typical Holiday Inn and was reasonably priced. The staff were very friendly and we had a king suite on the third floor. Parking was free and the hotel was only a mile from the River Walk (we drove over). The bed was comfortable, the A/C worked well, lots of hot water. The bathroom was quite small and the bathroom door would not open completely because it hit the toilet! Everything was clean and the hot breakfast was very good. Unfortunately the pool was being cleaned so was closed. The other problem was that the front desk clerk told us that the parking meters around the River Walk were free on the weekend and we ended up with a $34.00 parking ticket! Staff should not give advice unless they are sure of their facts!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris Duc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thank you for your great feedback. We strive to ensure every guest has a great experience at Holiday Inn Express Alamo Suites. I will be sure to speak with the staff in regards to parking in and around downtown. I do apologize for any misunderstanding in regards to this parking situation. C. Albano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed for three nights in early September late August, the hotel was decent, for the friday and sat night it was fully booked. Breakfast was good on Friday and Sunday , Saturday the front desk staff was workin the kitchen for the breakfast arena and it was bad in terms of no food and not being able to keep up with the number of people in the hotel. The lady who looked after the breakfast on the other two mornings is a tremendous asset to the hotel.
The staff at the front desk was very helpful as well, as the custodian.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djedm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Holiday Inn Express SAN ANTONIO-DTWN MARKET AREA.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our brand to improve the guest experience. We noticed you made your accommodations through a third party website and it was reserved as a standard room. When making reservations as a standard room it creates a reservation that will occupy what the hotel has available at the time of check-in. We apologize for any confusion this may have caused. Also we are sorry if the elevator was not working properly. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We loved our stay at camaron st. holiday inn express. The clerks were great! (good work Jennifer and the night time gentleman) our rooms were clean ...housekeepers very good. and food was wonderful. Breakfast really helped start our days off right, and they were so helpful with directions to the places we were going! I would go back in a heart beat!! (wish we were!)

Room Tip: ask them !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jp S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how we did during your stay! We hope to see you again in your future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We almost exclusively stay at HIX or HI because of their consistent excellent quality. This hotel was a disappointment, especially for the price of around $137( before fees/taxes). Oh, and I can't believe you had to pay for internet service on top of it. Carpet was dirty and the room was dingy. Bathroom smelled of mold and urine (a little bleach water can go a long way folks!). The hotel feels very old and dated with a lack of upkeep. I was not comfortable there and won't stay there again. There are a lot of other hotels in San Antonio!
On the upside, the staff was friendly and I didn't see any bedbugs.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PathsTaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Holiday Inn Express SAN ANTONIO-DTWN MARKET AREA.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our brand to improve the guest experience. We noticed you made your accommodations through a third party website and it was reserved as a standard room. When making reservations as a standard room it creates a reservation that will occupy what the hotel has available at the time of check-in. We apologize for any confusion this may have caused. Also we are sorry if the elevator was not working properly. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel before and had no problems but this time was very different. We checked in and went to our room and were booked in a double size bed room after making a reservation for a king size suite. The room was not too clean and there was hair on the bed. Gross. After I went to ask to change room the attendant told me that they were completely booked and could not do anything about it. Not a good way to keep customers or make them want to come back. I had no towels in my room and the phone did not work so I had to keep going down to the front desk to ask for things that should have been in the room to begin with. I am really glad that I only booked for one night. I guess I will have to dish out the extra money to rent a higher class hotel next time. We learn from our mistakes.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drgnfli25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Dear Drgnfli25,

Thank you so very much for sharing your experience with us. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you encountered due to the room allocation, cleanliness of the room and amenities. I am also sorry if we were not able to honor your request due to circumstances. I have taken note of your comments and we will address these points to improve the quality and service that we offer to all of our guests.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I would like to publicly share a wonderful experience with a Front Desk Receptionist at this location. Wanting to use my Priority Club points and having loved this downtown location, I selected it for my stay. Priority Club representative continued to tell me there were no rooms available for me to take advantage of my points. Amy clearly and as friendly as possible assured me they would accommodate my specific needs and for the Priority Club Rep to call her directly. It took a wait, but Amy came through for me just as she has assured me. +++ Over and above customer service. Thank you Amy…Hats Off Holiday Inn…

Room Tip: Rooms to the front are quieter. $5.00 cab rides w/Yellow/Green Taxi Service anywhere downtown, 201...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 361-Poncho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how we did during your stay! We hope to see you again in your future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Avenida Guadalupe
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Best Western Alamo Suites
#89 of 358 in San Antonio
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenida Guadalupe
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown Market Square
Avenida Guadalupe
Courtyard San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area

Address: 102 El Paso St, San Antonio, TX 78204-3101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $88 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Downtown Market Area welcomes you. Located in the heart of downtown San Antonio, our all suite hotel has recently been renovated and is just a few miles from The Alamo, the downtown market district and the scenic River Walk, offering convenient access to the San Antonio International Airport. Our hotel is perfect for your next San Antonio vacation. This San Antonio hotel in the downtown market district provides easy access to area attractions including Sea World of Texas, the San Antonio Zoo, Six Flags Fiesta Texas and Splashtown Water Park. Many popular shopping destinations are also nearby, such as the Rivercenter Mall, El Mercado Market Square and the North Star Mall. Other area attractions not far from our hotel in San Antonio include the Alamodome, the San Antonio Convention Center and the AT&T Center, home of the San Antonio Spurs.Business travelers will enjoy a stay at our newly renovated hotel in downtown San Antonio due to its close proximity to companies such as Tesoro, Xerox, Washington Mutual, IBC, Toyota and SBC. Our San Antonio hotel is just 15 miles from the San Antonio International Airport.During your stay at our San Antonio hotel, enjoy the 24-hour fitness center, heated, outdoor pool, relaxing whirlpool and complimentary hot breakfast bar. Check out the discount rates on our quality San Antonio hotel rooms by the River Walk and start planning your visit today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area
Holiday Inn San Antonio
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing