We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you don't want to sleep and you love Tejano music stay here!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area
Ranked #175 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed June 12, 2012

If you want to get drunk outdoors listening to Tejano with your motorcycle club and then stumble back to a hard bed this is the place for you!! No internet access in the lobby, yippy. Rude front desk clerk that looks at you like you just ate a kitten when you ask him to print your mapquest, what could be better? So no sleep, no directions, no pancakes in the morning (the pancake machine was busted). Boohoo.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, choose a room towards the front of the hotel. Not the back and plan on eat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mom78411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2012

Dear Mom78411,

Thank you for your stay with us and leaving a review. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. It seems like we fell below your expectations. We’re sorry you were not satisfied with the facilities, hotel staff services and room accommodations you received. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas, We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you again. Hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

185 - 191 of 263 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2012

We booked a room for one night to stay in after our trip to Sea World. We arrived around 8pm and checked in. The neighborhood is a bad one. It is mostly industrial buildings surrounding the hotel. Make sure to park as close to the front doors as possible as it is the most lit area of the parking lot.

Right away we could hear a lot of loud music and party noise coming from the pool area. Initially our room appeared okay. When we pulled the sofa sleeper out for our kids there were no sheets. So we checked to closet and no linen there either. I called the front desk and explained there were no linens or pillows for the sofa sleeper. I then sent my kids up to the front desk to get them. they came back with a set of sheets. No blankets, no pillows. So I send them back and they return with pillows. No pillows cases on them and no pillow cases with the linen they picked up prior. So I went up and specifically asked for each item needed. We could hear the noise from the pool even though our room was on the other side, but I was so tired I didn't feel like dealing with it as the front desk person was clueless to begin with.

The next morning we go to the complimentary breakfast at 8am, with breakfast closing up at 9 or10. The was not much food there. They had a waffle machine, but no batter. They had run our of cinnamon rolls. They had run out of yogurt too. What we were left with was cereal and milk! I went to the front desk to ask about bringing out some food and was told that they had run out for the weekend and that was all they had left! Unreal! I almost exclusively stay at Holiday Inn Express hotels and have NEVER run across this before or since. So we checked out and had breakfast at McDonaldson the way out of town.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greg2171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 25, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Holiday Inn Express SAN ANTONIO-DTWN MARKET AREA.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our brand to improve the guest experience. We noticed you made your accommodations through a third party website and it was reserved as a standard room. When making reservations as a standard room it creates a reservation that will occupy what the hotel has available at the time of check-in. We apologize for any confusion this may have caused. Also we are sorry if the elevator was not working properly. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

The hotel has a good location for walking to the Market and even to the Riverwalk however, it needs some updating or rather just some basic touch ups is really all. Paint peeling, dripping faucet and window unit installed pretty damn crappy!! The hotel staff was very nice and welcoming but they seem to be letting this place go to waste.... it's doable but I stayed in La Quinta around the corner and it seemed to be much nicer and closer : )

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jax915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Dear Jax915,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for your staying with us. We are glad that you liked our location however it is not the only thing that satisfies our guest expectations. During this time I would also like to thank you for citing specific concerns that will help us improve on overall guest satisfaction.

Sincerely,

Irish V.
Case Manager
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We had stayed here once previously on a week night with no problems. However, this stay was on a weekend and a big mistake. The property is across from a night club with outdoor music playing until midnight. The Inn is not in a great area, but convenient for us, but we'll try others the next time. When we requested to move our room (which was by elevator) we were told that noise was worse on other side and that facility was sold out. Running the fan on a/c all night helped. Manager on duty mentioned that other guests had asked why he didn't contact club directly. His reply was "I don't want to get my butt beat."

All table lamps had been unplugged, so we originally thought they were not functional, because light in bath had burned out. Telephone never did work. The rooms seem very dark because of limited windows. It makes them seem small when they are adequate size.

Staff was pleasant but ineffectual. Future guests should know that noise is a major factor.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janefromtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2012

Dear janefromtexas,

Thank you for your stay and leaving us feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We're sorry for any inconvenience the outside noise caused you. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.


Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here. We stayed here on a Saturday-Tuesday, and every front desk person we encountered was extremely helpful and friendly. The only issue I did have was that our room did not get serviced until Monday, which would not have been a huge deal except we needed towels. In the hotel's defense, Sunday we may just have missed our service opportunity. We had do not disturb on the door in the early AM and assumed the room would be serviced while we were at breakfast and had removed the do not disturb, but it was not. When we left the hotel for our day's activities, it still had not been serviced when we returned. On Monday, I asked could the room please be serviced. They did not clean the bathtub though.The breakfast included in the cost of the room was decent, and we would stay here again for the cost. It was also in reasonable driving distance of everything we needed to do, which was great for our gas budget!!!

Room Tip: You may have to request a room with a fridge and microwave if that interests you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alana2620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Dear alana2620,

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you liked the location of our hotel as well as our friendly staff. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry your room did not get serviced in a timely manner. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

My four year old daughter, husband and I stayed here during spring break for one night. After being at Sea World all day, we were ready to just find a hotel and sleep for the night. Instead what we found was friendly staff and a home away from home.

While waiting to check in, the hotel manager found that they were a bit short on towels but went out of his way to take newly dried towels to a couple also waiting with us. Check in was quick and great. The hotel manager on duty even allowed us to park right outside the lobby area, creating a special spot for us because he knew we were tired and worn out from the day.

The room itself is large, clean and quite lovely. As you walk in you are welcomed with a quaint living room and mini kitchen/sink area with bathroom that can be closed off from the separate bedroom. IT is a great concept especially for those families with small children like us who like to unwind by watching tv without disturbing your little ones' sleep. We chose to stay in a standard queen room where the rooms/beds were spacious and quite comfortable.

The only negative I can say about the property is that the breakfast area is quite small and being spring break and all, it was quite difficult to get around the area. I will give credit though, they had the breakfast area stocked with food at all times.

So if you are looking to stay in a home away from home, have comfort knowing that your money is well spent for the hospitality, convenience, and value of the hotel room.

Room Tip: We stayed on the fourth floor near the elevator. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyVacationTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 25, 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how we did during your stay! We hope to see you again in your future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

The staff is rude. They don't clean the rooms properly. We had lots of mold. 2 members of our family got sick from the mold. Breakfast was terrible, and the pool was extremrly filthy. Mariott prices Super 8 quality.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poshdivazone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2012

poshdivazone,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Ben J
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Avenida Guadalupe
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Best Western Alamo Suites
#93 of 358 in San Antonio
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenida Guadalupe
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown Market Square
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#149 of 358 in San Antonio
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area

Address: 102 El Paso St, San Antonio, TX 78204-3101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $86 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Downtown Market Area welcomes you. Located in the heart of downtown San Antonio, our all suite hotel has recently been renovated and is just a few miles from The Alamo, the downtown market district and the scenic River Walk, offering convenient access to the San Antonio International Airport. Our hotel is perfect for your next San Antonio vacation. This San Antonio hotel in the downtown market district provides easy access to area attractions including Sea World of Texas, the San Antonio Zoo, Six Flags Fiesta Texas and Splashtown Water Park. Many popular shopping destinations are also nearby, such as the Rivercenter Mall, El Mercado Market Square and the North Star Mall. Other area attractions not far from our hotel in San Antonio include the Alamodome, the San Antonio Convention Center and the AT&T Center, home of the San Antonio Spurs.Business travelers will enjoy a stay at our newly renovated hotel in downtown San Antonio due to its close proximity to companies such as Tesoro, Xerox, Washington Mutual, IBC, Toyota and SBC. Our San Antonio hotel is just 15 miles from the San Antonio International Airport.During your stay at our San Antonio hotel, enjoy the 24-hour fitness center, heated, outdoor pool, relaxing whirlpool and complimentary hot breakfast bar. Check out the discount rates on our quality San Antonio hotel rooms by the River Walk and start planning your visit today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area
Holiday Inn San Antonio
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing