We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Salado Creek Villa's 4th of July week” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salado Creek Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Antonio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Salado Creek Villas
Kansas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Salado Creek Villa's 4th of July week”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed in a 2 bedroom unit July 4th week. This was our first trip to San Antonio. The resort is right off the highway (off a frontage road) but we stayed at the back of the resort and did not notice any traffic noise...in fact the unit was very quiet. The pictures on the website are accurate as to what the units look like. Nice size unit , but overall much smaller than most 2 bedrooms we have stayed in at other resorts. The second bedroom had 2 twin beds, but no dresser to put clothes in etc...The kitchen was missing many items, but considering the overall kitchen was small I can understand it not being able to house various items. We asked for several items from the front desk staff and we were given the items immediately. Staff was very nice. We booked a tour through the front desk and it was an enjoyable day. There was a convention of 35,000 Christian teenagers in town for a convention so the downtown area was packed for the entire trip. We visited Seaworld and the Riverwalk area and had lunch at Dick's Last Resort which was a hoot. The resort has a large swimming pool with 2 separate kids pools of verious depths. We did not use the pool but the folks in it seemed to be enjoying it. There are 2 hot tubs, but one of them was out of service. My husband used the one closest to the check in area and he enjoyed it all to himself while I did laundry at the coin operated laundry room. There is also a nice sized play ground area. We had breakfast one day in the lobby which was ok. They offered cereals, muffins, English muffins, bagels, sausage and pancakes as well as instant oatmeal, juice, coffee and hot chocolate. The porches on the 2 bedroom units have 2 rockers and a small table if you choose to sit outside. Yes they overlook the parking lot, but at least they offer an outside space. The resort doesn't really offer things to do so if you have small children you would either have to swim a lot or plan to go places to entertain them. Several days a week the resort offers a social with free beer, pop and nacho's with cheese sauce from 4-6:00 P. M. Overall I would stay here again if visiting San Antonio. We had no major problems and liked our unit. The King bed was comfortable and both bedroom as well as the living room had ceiling fans. There were 2 bathroom both with tub/shower combinations and nice sized vanities with granite counter tops. We had plenty of towels, soap, shampoo etc...

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the resort for a quiet experience and to be away from the hotel units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tiggrabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    13
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
15
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dallas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed here June 23-30, 2013 with our son and his three young children. Unfortunately, San Antonio was experiencing a ferocious heat wave which made participating in any outside activities a challenge.

The unit was adequate for our family. The kitchen was fully equipped, although I would have liked more dishes and storage containers. We were pleased that the unit was cleaned every day and stocked with clean towels. We made sure to tip the maid a dollar or two most days. They work hard and do not earn much money.

My big complaint was that the pool was too hot to swim in during the day (not the resort's fault). Early in the day and in the evening it was always crowed with families and children. It was not possible for we adults to comfortably swim. I suggest they have an adult swim time with "no children allowed."

There was a "happy hour" Tuesday through Friday from 4:00 to 6:00. They gave out free wine, beer, soft drinks and pretzels. The wine wasn't that good but it was free!

The continental breakfast had some healthy options (bagels, yogurt, fruit, oatmeal, granola) and some unhealthy choices (pancakes, sausage, sugared cereal). We were grateful that they offered this free breakfast as most resorts do not.

The front desk was very friendly and responsive to our requests for more towels, trash bags, etc. They were also quite helpful when we asked for directions and help booking a tour. The customer service was excellent.

There is easy access to many of the area attractions as this resort allows easy access to the freeway system.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dianedallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were scheduled to stay two weeks at the Salado Creek, but it was so bad we left after three days. Interval International was able to find us another place to stay in San Antonio the remainder of for our first week, but could not find anything for the second week, so we had to cut our vacation short by a week and return home!

The livingroom furniture was filthy, the arms of the stuffed chairs were stained. The mattress in the pull out couch was torn and stained and only 3 inched thick. The second bedroom can not be considered a bedroom! It had two twin beds and that’s all! No dresser, no end tables or any place to put your suitcases.

Our second week we were scheduled to stay in an even smaller unit. When the staff showed us the unit it was so far below our expectations that we chose to return home rather than stay in it.

The pictures on the website are deceiving, they show the second bedroom from the hall thru the door so you can not tell how really small it is.

The units are quaint and if cleaned up and advertised accurately would be a nice place to stay at a lower rate, but as they are now with the inaccurate description are bound to disappoint future guests. With an accurate description one could choose to stay fully aware of the size of the rooms. The furniture needs to be changed however.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Antonio hotels

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We spent Memorial Weekend at the Salado Creek Villas. It was nice the staff was friendly. The place was clean. It was rustic decor nicely updated. We had a two bedroom end unit with lots of privacy. I would have not wanted to be in the pool area where the room are across from each other. It looks like a motel with rows of rooms on one floor. Continental breakfast was ok pancakes and sausage and white English muffins juice yogurt juice cereal milk coffee tea. Similar to spring hill suites breakfast. The best part was free Internet everywhere in the room pool area lobby. I was also able tp print my boarding passes. The area is a little scetchy I wouldn't go for a walk at night. But close to the freeway and downtown. Grocery stores restaurants and Walmart near by.i would come back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bevsroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

As Shell time share owners from Toronto, we drove to San Antonio to stay at the Salado Creek Villas. Our biggest problem was finding the property as it is off the main highway and the GPS does not know that the exit to be taken is an earlier one so that a driver can access the collector lanes. It took us about three days to figure out the Highway turnabout system.
Apart from that , the property is conveniently placed for access to downtown. We had a 2 bedroom unit that was spacious and comfortable. As it was a timeshare we were surprised that breakfast was available every day.
The only negative is that the picture of the outside of the unit with a porch and rocking chairs does not show that the view from the porch is of the asphalt parking lot and the units opposite

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank reynbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown
Level Contributor
144 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Girls at front desk were friendly,helpful. Continental breakfast was ok. The first 2 small plates we got out, still had food on them, had to scrub pots & pans before we washed them. Got the metal spatula out to do eggs, it too had small chunks of food on it, THAT WENT STRAIGHT TO THE FRONT OFFICE!! Got a new one, & a apology from manager. Whirlpool tub broke. Around each water jet was a line of black "mold", where tub meets the wall, more "mold?" First 3 days there the computer located in the main lobby did not work. The round kitchen table, had glass on top of it, food between the table, & glass. The resort had a social meeting, tue.-thur. Free beer,wine,
soda, chips,pretzels. I sure hate to bi@%$, at a free beer party, BUT, my beer was not cold,& pretzels were STALE!!! I have some pictures to back up my words. Just telling it like it is!!!!

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of resort, less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SamMiddletown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris County, NJ
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I wish there was an option between Average and Very Good--the accommodations were good, but there were other aspects that were average.

My husband is a Shell Vacations Club member and owner, and we have stayed at several of their properties around the country. I think this was not the best. The room was comfy and roomy and adequately appointed. The hardwood floors are beautiful and the granite counters were the same as we have at home. With that said, the bed is very small. I'm not sure if they call it a King, but it is not. It's probably not even a Queen. The pillows were also horrible squishy things. A plus was having two televisions and plenty of drawer and closet space. The couch was very comfortable too, and the location is great right off the 410 loop and very close to the airport. We were easily in downtown within 15-20 minutes.

The hot tub was nice and my husband enjoyed using it. It was too cold to use the pool but it was a nice size with lots of space around it. There is a large playground area for children near the pool.

The negatives: the housekeeping service. We stayed here for three nights and all three days we were gone from early in the morning until later in the afternoon. Each day we would return to our room to find it hadn't been tended to yet. Moments after sitting to relax, the maid would appear at the door. This was very annoying and inconvenient, because then we had to disappear for some time. Furthermore, they only refilled towels and emptied garbage, so not sure why it should take all day for them to come. In other Shell resorts, the beds were made. Here they were not. The complimentary toiletries were tiny little bottles. Bring your own conditioner.

The ice machines are located around the property in little huts. That is, if you can find one. I had to go to three different huts before finding an ice machine.

Two of the days we had to leave our room for the maid, we ventured down to the main building to use the computer and sit. Each day it was 4pm (the time for the evening reception) and nothing was being set up. If this took place, it wasn't in a location that we were aware of. We assumed it was where breakfast was, but we never saw anything of the sort.

The breakfast was adequate, and a plus considering most Shell resorts don't include anything. Here it was a variety of cereals, juices, bread and bagels. Also yogurt and packets of oatmeal, peanut butter and hot chocolate.

The only other issue I saw, that wasn't really an issue for us, but might be for others---if you opt to bring food in and cook for yourselves, there is no table and chairs to dine at in the one bedroom unit. There is a desk with a chair, and a couch with an ottoman. While the kitchen is fully furnished, not sure where people are supposed to eat, unless they go outside to a picnic table. There are also BBQ grills located around the property to use.

If we return to San Antonio, we would definitely stay here again, only now we'd have more realistic expectations.

Room Tip: We were in the very back and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tracylesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northeast San Antonio
Travelodge Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport
Wyndham Riverside Suites
#181 of 353 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#16 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast San Antonio
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Antonio Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salado Creek Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salado Creek Villas

Property: Salado Creek Villas
Address: 2383 NE Loop 410, San Antonio, TX 78217-5602
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northeast San Antonio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Specialty Lodging in San Antonio
Number of rooms: 155

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing