We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great and very helpful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alamo Inn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alamo Inn Motel
Ranked #283 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great and very helpful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2009

The room was very clean and was very quite. The price was great. Rick the owner was
great and very helpful with anything we needed. We really enjoyed staying there and made our first trip to San Antonio great.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayceeArkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    20
    6
    7
    12
See reviews for
18
17
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

The other area hotels I attempted to reserve were booked for the July 4th weekend so I looked on the internet and found the Alamo Inn on Commerce Street. On the internet, it looked and sounded like a good deal but when we pulled up to the motel; we were very disappointed in what it looked like and more importantly, where it was located. It is not in a very good part of town. Although they offer a shuttle to the downtown area, there was nothing at the motel to do. It did not have a pool and because of its location, you could not go for a walk around the surrounding area and the breakfast area is very, very small. We were booked for two nights but only stayed one night. If you decide to reserve this hotel be very careful about their cancellation policy. You pay for your stay up front and if you do not inform them right away about your intentions, you will not be given your money back. We had decided to leave the area after the first night and we were not given a full refund for the second night. Live and learn I guess. I do wish there was a good way to get more details about a motel or hotel when reserving a room in an area that you are not familiar with or don't know anything about. I would not suggest staying at this motel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lovetraveling71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwestern Pennsylvania, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2009

Rick, the proprietor, offers the kind of personal service you could not find in a much more expensive motel. The facility is adequate, though not luxurious, but I have never stayed in a motel where the manager also offered taxi service! I would characterize the service at the Alamo Inn as "gracious hospitality."

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JHat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
149 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2009

We chose this hotel based on reviews. Our room was adequte for price and location. It was clean and had normal motel amenities. The rest of our family had a horrible, dirty room with no amenities.

The owner is bend over backwards accomodating and will drop you off wehreever you wish to go.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ednat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2009

I don't know what these reviews were talking about. The room was worst than an hourly motel. If you are used to staying at places that are below standard. This is for you. I booked the room for just one night b/c I decided to go up a day earlier for a conference and my previous reservation could not be changed. I booked it specifically on the reviews here on TripAdvisor. These comments must be from the hotels family or they use fake emails.

The towels were very dingy. We had no bath towels. The shower curtain and rod was on the floor. There was hair in the bath tub. The caulk around the tub must have been from the origional instalation. The pillows were as thin as the comforter.

Spend a little money and stay at a national chain. A Motel 6 compared to this place would be like staying at Trump Plaza.

  • Disliked — The Room
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank damons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2009

We visited San Antonio during Christmas and found Alamo Inn motel from the internet. We had our eldelry parents with us and we were praying that accomodation will be good.

I will say that Alamo inn has exceeded all of our expectations. It is very clean, safe, close to all attractions and very friendly owners. Our parents loved their extra care and friendly shuttle service. Breakfast was simple but very goos with Juice and coffee.

If you are looking for reasanable price, clean and friendly accomodation close to all main attractions, Alamo Inn is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank advisorTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2008

Clean, clean, clean......so friendly and accommodating. This is the only place to stay in San Antonio. I never even started my vehicle, they shuttled me every place I wanted to go. Phyllis Hampton

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hankphyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtow...
#173 of 353 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
East Side
La Hacienda Inn Alamodome/Riverwalk
East Side
Studio 6 San Antonio - East
Studio 6 San Antonio - East
#268 of 353 in San Antonio
3.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Plus Downtown North
#150 of 353 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alamo Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamo Inn Motel

Property: Alamo Inn Motel
Address: 2203 E Commerce St, San Antonio, TX 78203-1901
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #283 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alamo Inn Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Alamo Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamo Hotel San Antonio
Alamo Motel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing