We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT!!!!”

Two Step Restaurant and Cantina
Ranked #224 of 4,652 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Franklin, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“EXCELLENT!!!!”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This restaurant was everything we expected from its online reviews. The food was great, the service superb. You will not be disappointed. My family and I definitely recommend it. The beef ribs were so tender and my daughter loved the chicken fried steak.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank bsatroop242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    45
    24
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Decent food and a good price”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

This was an interesting place in that you enter directly (almost) into the open kitchen. The food was just above average, but the prices for the portions were good. This place is going thru some growing pains and was calling in all servers to work. The manager was waiting on customers and the call in guys had to keep checking on specials and playing bus boy. The crowd was huge and the only seating was outside, but they fired the patio heaters up to help.

Overall, it's worth a try.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank justllooking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful place for dinner. Ribs and brisket were excellent. Staff was very courteous and visited with us many times. Prices are very reasonable. We will definitely be back.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aresbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Very innovative menu options!”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We had late lunch at Two Step on Nov. 1, and enjoyed the ambience as well as the food choices. My husband and I shared two appetizers (concierge at Hyatt's Wild Oak Ranch told us about the restaurant and gave us a free appetizer card), which were both very good. The fried pickles (with crushed Frito coating) were not something we would ordinarily order, but they were delicious. The Texas rolls are a unique, but very tasty, choice. They somewhat resemble egg rolls cut in half, but are something you need to taste to appreciate. A melange of flavors!
I ordered fried catfish, and the preparation was different from any fried catfish I have eaten before. I liked the addition of some spiciness and Parmesan cheese to the coating. The jalapeño hush puppies were bite-sized, not too hot, and went very well with the catfish. There was a choice of sides, and I chose their special beans-- spicy and good. I gave my husband half of the bowl of beans so I could also try his side of potato salad which I liked even better. He liked his pulled pork sandwich, but it was a bit messy to eat. A Wetnap would have been helpful.
We plan to return the next time we are in San Antonio, now that we know about Two Step. The architecture is very Hill Country style, built including two stacked stone historic ranch buildings in the design.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A nice spin on your usual tex mex restaurant”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

What's not to love... Great patio with live music. Beautiful historic interior. A very enthusiastic waiter. A bunch of us girls had a lovely time there. We all loved our meals . The prime rib was amazing. The three taco plate did not disappoint. The shredded chicken in the tacos was incredibly delicious. The pulled pork taco was divine as well as the brisket. The blackened catfish taco was ok- there wasn't enough in the taco for me to really taste it. The margaritas were decent- El Jefe went down way too smoothly!
At times the waiter forgot about us. I had to ask someone else for water. Another waiter promised he'd bring us some more salsa for the chips but he never did. Usually the the chips and salsa are free in this type of restaurant, but not here.
Overall a good visit- I think I'd go back for the chicken plate.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Johanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Step Restaurant and Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Two Step Restaurant and Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing