We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommendations right on”

Two Step Restaurant and Cantina
Ranked #223 of 4,625 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Southwestern, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Recommendations right on”
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

This place was recommended and we enjoyed the food and atmosphere. Not sure about the best margaritas, but everything was good with large portions and not too pricey.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brandyplus4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    44
    24
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helotes, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Excellent food and reasonable prices!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Ate lunch today. The sauteed chicken breast with mash potatoes was excellent and worth the wait. Our server Kimmy was friendly and attentive. Clean place and the atmosphere inviting. One of our favorite places to eat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“One of the best in SA since it first opened”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at the HIE near by while looking for a home prior to moving to SA. We thought it looked interesting, great old building, nice landscaping, etc., so we went over for dinner. It wasn't officially open yet, in fact they were having a free food for friends and family night prior to their grand opening. They graciously invited us in, fed us great food ( for free!), and we have been going back every chance we get! Excellent food and service always. It's Texas comfort food done gourmet style. Brisket stuffed jalapenos, Texas rolls, jalapeno coleslaw, and pulled pork are some of my favorites; but everything we have ever tried has been delicious. The live music is enjoyable, and the wait staff is superb.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4TexasGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helotes, Texas
Level Contributor
152 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“I don't care how good the margaritas are, they need to work on their queso”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Service is always friendly and I actually have tried the margaritas on two separate occasions and can not agree that they are the BEST in town. The fried pickles are rolled in crushed fritos and make for a "different" taste. The fish special with pico de gallo and avocado chunks is absolutely heavenly. The three meat tacos is a variety that makes for an entire meal or a pretty filling appetizer. But, seriously? who are they kidding when they serve this mexican a bowl of what they call "queso" and it's not in liquid form? hello? Who gave them the authority to change "queso" that is normally dipped with a tostada chip into a semi-hardened form of melted cheese? Yuuuuckkkk! So, when the door manager asked me how i enjoyed my visit, i told him! He said that was THEIR way of making queso. I replied with "I'll never order it again".

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mymexicaneyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We visited two step for the first time this weekend, and it was awesome. The restaurant is excelling on all aspects. The texas rolls appetizer was delicious as well as the margaritas. Both of our dinner entrees were great; you have to try the chicken fried steak. Bread pudding desert was the perfect ending. We sat outside on patio and the atmosphere was perfect. Inside the restaurant was full and a little noisy, but I wouldn't have minded sitting inside either. The service was great, and there was a small grassy area where children could play. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone, and we will definitly be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matmanjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Step Restaurant and Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Two Step Restaurant and Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing