We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Sushi”
Review of Thai Lao Orchid

Thai Lao Orchid
Ranked #850 of 4,645 Restaurants in San Antonio
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Neighborhood: East Side
St. John's, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“No Sushi”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This restaurant is listed on Urbanspoon as being a sushi restaurant, There is none on the menu.

That said, it was a decent enough place. Mostly Thai--I did not scour the menu for Vietnamese (which is another thing that USpoon says they serve). The Panang Curry was okay, I ordered mine medium, which was fine for me, but a companion ordered the same dish and asked for it to be very hot--we compared and they were indistinguishable. The crab roll appetizer was made with fake crab--which is fine but the menu did not say that.

Still, it is a relief to find Asian food in a city dominated by greasy Tex Mex. TLO was located conveniently, off the Riverwalk Disney frenzy. easy to find. I recommend it, just so long as you are looking for middle of the road Thai food....

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yyt_world_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    19
    12
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lisle, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Tiny, little storefront off the main strip. Wonderful food! Excellent service! I was delighted! This was the best meal we had in San Antonio. Vegetarian and gluten-free friendly. The dishes were beautifully presented, even the vegetables in my stir fry were artistically cut and sculpted. And very, very tasty. I don't think they serve alcohol.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NGreenla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Asian food 1 block from the ALAMO!”
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Delicious and delicate flavors. Perfectly cooked steak and fresh al dente vegetables. Small "Mom & Pop" authentic Thai restaurant. I will return to try Everything on the Menu.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobertAlva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Asian food Downtown.”
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Mmmm Neum. Authentic Thai and Laotian flavors. Unique dish with crispy rice, fresh green onions, nicely minced chicken breast served with fresh crisp lettuce and cilantro. Delicious!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobertAlva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Outstanding Little Downtown Thai Restaurant”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This restaurant moved to downtown San Antonio about 9 months ago. What looks like a little hole-in-the-wall restaurant is actually a superb little Thai bistro just north of Houston Street at 116 Broadway. It is just a few steps away from the Alamo, the River Walk and the Majestic Theater. The website is www.thai-laoorchid.com. My wife noticed it on a recent trip downtown and after looking at their website we decided to try it before a SA Symphony concert. Wow, we were very surprised! The quality of the food, freshness, and the presentation was exceptional. Most meals are abour $9-12. Of course the sauces and curries are what make a Thai restaurant great and we were not let down on these. We definitely look forward to coming back here again. (They do close at 8:30 so you can't come here after concerts, etc.)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SanAntonioTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Lao Orchid also viewed

 
San Antonio, TX
 
San Antonio, TX
 

Been to Thai Lao Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing