We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Quality Everything - Careful Here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 San Antonio/Airport
Ranked #231 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Ulladulla, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Poor Quality Everything - Careful Here”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

This is one of those places you never want to experience again.
The location of this hotel was the prime attraction, but the owners let themselves down badly here due to very poor cleaning standards, bedding and breakfast.
It was evident the carpets needed urgent cleaning with my wife complaining that she got dirt on her feet from walking on the carpet.
The bedding stunk. Although linen was clean, the pillows were well past their use by date and needed urgent washing at the very least.
Breakfast was a really poor effort. Breakfast cereal was limited to 2 high sugar choices, stale muffins and stale bread. There was a waffle machine provided but the pre-mix after cooking was a blobby mess. Coffee was luke warm and when complaint was made the coffee was nearly cold, I was completely disregarded by the reply, "No it's hot."
We have never stayed in a hotel where staff have been so miserable and the constant scouring looks just add to the atmosphere of this establishment.
There was excessive noise created by children in the early hours of the morning, which turned out to be the children of staff members.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kruzinoldguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    39
    58
    20
    40
See reviews for
64
43
31
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

Most horrible disgusting place I have ever stayed in my life. For $90 I can't believe it. I've stayed in $40 a night places 15x nicer. Half the lights in the room didn't work. Mold in shower. Someone's left over food was in the fridge. So much dust. Absolutely terrible. Most horrible smell in the room. And they had a condom machine next to the lobby. Real classy. Hate this entire city. Can't wait to be back in Stephenville.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jcslater13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskoka District, Canada
Level Contributor
389 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

Very convenient to airport and Budget rent a car (400 metres away)
Hotel is old but fairly clean.
Breakfast offering is very minimal: One kind of cofee, waffles, toast, 2 cereals.
Offers airport shuttle for free but not rental car. Office does not have an umbrella to lend to guests when the rains come down!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe_Ursano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

Typical low end motel. Old and in need of update. Toilet needed repair. It would run and run. lobby and hall smelled of cigarettes. Water damage stains on walls in room. I would not stay again, despite price of $ 54.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hogman111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Caney, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

just stayed one night and had no problems, clean rooms, friendly staff

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheClarks2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sulphur Springs, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

Reading the reviews, I can't believe this is the same Super 8! It has been completely remodeled. We asked for and received a Non Smoking room with little walking. Comfy bed. All new bedding. It was all very nice. The only thing I would criticize is the water pressure. Very close to SA Airport, but little noise from it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

I booked a room through Priceline.com and when I arrived at the hotel I was put in a smoking room. I asked to transfer to a non smoking room. They charged me an extra $20.00 to do this. Then they had to program the HBO on the tv, which took them an hour to do. After being in the room for about two hours, I pulled down the covers to the bed and it was covered with crumbs. It was obvious they had not changed the sheets. Then as I was sitting there I felt something land on my shoulder, I looked down and it was a bug (looked like a termite). I looked up the wall and they were swarming up the wall toward the ceiling. I called the front desk and the person on duty came down and looked. He implied that I put the crumbs in the bed, but said he would move me to another room due to the insects. After being moved to another room (the 3rd one) I saw the same thing, insect climbing up the wall. At this point I no longer wanted to stay at this hotel. It was clear that it was a trashy place. I asked for a refund and the clerk on duty said he would need to talk to the manager. He asked me to wait for him. After about 30 minutes, the manager shows up (in a t shirt and shorts) and tells me that he cannot give me my money back because I booked through priceline. He was very rude. He also refused to give me back the extra $20.00 I paid for non-smoking (even though that wasn't through priceline). After I refused to leave with out a reservation somewhere else or my money back (because I had confirmation and had already paid for the room), the police were called and I was asked to leave with out a refund or a place to stay. I was there on business and was suppose to be there another two days. Priceline said they would refund my money, but I have yet to get it back. I am also still waiting to be refunded the $20.00 for the room change. Over all it was a nightmare experience. I would highly recommend that everyone avoid this hotel at all cost. It's a horrible place with even worse management. The manager was very rude and unprofessional. That's just my experience, take from it what you want.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dujavesail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northeast San Antonio
Studio 6 San Antonio - Airport
Studio 6 San Antonio - Airport
#277 of 354 in San Antonio
3.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Uptown Broadway
Red Roof Inn San Antonio - Airport
Northeast San Antonio
Super 8 San Antonio Near Fort Sam Houston
Super 8 San Antonio Near Fort Sa...
#175 of 354 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uptown Broadway
Candlewood Suites San Antonio Airport
Candlewood Suites San Antonio Ai...
#150 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
East Side
Super 8 - San Antonio at I-10
Super 8 - San Antonio at I-10
#242 of 354 in San Antonio
3.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Far North Central
Comfort Suites Airport North
Comfort Suites Airport North
#216 of 354 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 San Antonio/Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 San Antonio/Airport

Property: Super 8 San Antonio/Airport
Address: 11355 San Pedro Ave, Hwy 281 & Nakoma, San Antonio, TX 78216-3121
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northeast San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #231 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 San Antonio/Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 San Antonio/Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 San Antonio
Super Eight San Antonio
San Antonio Super Eight
San Antonio Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing