We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Breakfast, Great Location off I-10”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Northwest Medical Center
Ranked #94 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast, Great Location off I-10”
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Free parking, great breakfast very centraled location to everything. You need a car to go to the riverwalk. I do not recommend their snack but overall everything else was good and rooms were clean. Free wireless internet and friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    67
    31
    11
    10
See reviews for
142
39
9
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stayed on San Antonio Drury from June 30 to July 05,2011. This hotel is great and very easy to get to. We got there just in time to eat at the snack time and it was more than snack it was dinner!!! Bad thing is that the next days we stayed to very late in parks and that was the only time we could eat there. I could be fanstastic if they extended the kick back snack time at least until 8:00 p.m. That could save a lot of money to people like us that travel with kids. Breakfast was fine, the people that works there are very nice and they are always cleaning. The room was very clean BUT the carpet smelled horrible and had many stains on it. Bathroom super clean. We will definetly come back and also we will look for other Drurys hotels to places will go. Great experience, very happy!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back not facing the 1-10 very noise at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carmen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Northwest Medical Center, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Sounds like you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for letting us know about the condition of your room carpet. We take pride in our clean rooms, so we will work hard to track down any rooms that need some carpet cleaning. Thanks again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, WA
Level Contributor
176 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed here for 4 wonderful nights. From the room to the full hot breakfast to the evening reception to the free soft drinks and popcorn to the pool and hot tub this hotel for great. The service was very good. The location was not in downtown but it took us less than 20 minutes to the get to the Riverwalk. There were no less than 12 restaurants within a 5 minute walk of the hotel and grocery store about 10 minutes walk away. A word of caution, we stayed hear over Memorial Day weekend and the place was hoppin'. The breakfast and evening reception were quite crowded but with some patience we managed to get fed. I would definitely stay at this Drury Inn again if in San Antonio!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Unknown_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sour Lake, TX
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2011

The wife and I went to San Antonio to spend a couple of days house hunting for a son who has been admitted to Medical School. We found this particular Drury Inn while trying to find a hotel that would accept our dog, a small Yorkshire Terrier. The hotel was pet friendly, as they advertise their chain to be. Our room was very nice and clean. We asked for and got a room on the back side of the hotel, away from I-10. I didn't get a chance to check out their indoor hot tub and pool because it was monopolized all Saturday evening by a large family. The breakfast & evening "kick-back" events were pretty much as they were advertised. The one disappointment that we had was not a fault of this hotel, but after joining their frequent stayer club (in anticipation of many more Yorkie trips), I found out that this 2-day stay wouldn't earn any frequent stayer points because it was booked through petswelcome.com instead of directly with the hotel or chain. The internet discount was not very substantial, so I thought that portion of the frequent stayer club policy was a bit mean. The following weekend, I found out that Drury's national chain website had a discount promotional code that would earn frequent stayer points, and was indeed less than the internet rate I got the weekend before.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side away from I-10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FootballRefJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

We stayed at The Drury Inn NW for 5 nights in a 2-room king suite.

Pros:
Fabulous staff! Everyone we talked to or passed in the hall was very friendly, from the front desk to the kitchen staff, to the maintenance man. The staff was super-quick to respond to our request for extra blankets and to replace a hairdryer that wasn’t working.
Check-in was lightning fast – from the time we walked in the hotel’s front doors until the time we were in our room was less than 5 minutes.
Our suite was pretty standard in terms of room size – it was fine for two adults and an 8-year old.
The king-size bed was very comfortable and had a half-dozen pillows to choose from. Our daughter said that the sofa bed in the living room “made a lot of noise” when she rolled over on the mattress, but that it was “pretty comfortable” none-the-less.
Our suite had a full-size fridge and a microwave. (There were no utensils or dinnerware provided, so we had to go downstairs to get Styrofoam plates & cups, and plastic forks & spoons from the buffet.)
The breakfast buffet had a lot to choose from – cereal, breads, eggs, French toast, make-it-yourself waffles. The staff was quick to replenish items when they ran out.
There was a lot of seating in the dining and lounge areas, so we never had a problem finding a table to sit at during breakfast.
The hot dinner buffet seemed to be a big hit with the other hotel guests. (We did not eat anything because most of the food was either meat and/or fried.)
Free popcorn in the lobby from 3pm-10pm was nice to have for a snack before/after dinner.
The indoor pool area was clean, and there were two small outdoor patio areas where you can go out and get some sun.
Laundry Room – washing machines cost $1.25 for each load; dryers were about the same – it only took one cycle in the dryer to finish a whole load.
Location is very convenient: Only about 15 minutes to downtown and to SeaWorld. (Note: The highway on & off ramps are kind of screwy in this area – be sure to Google your route so you know which lane you need to be in to get to where you are going!)
There is an HEB grocery store just across the highway, and several restaurants within walking distance. (Ruby Tuesday shares the parking lot with the hotel; Pasha, a great Mediterranean restaurant, is just a block west.)
For families with kids, there is a nice new playground at Phil Hardberger Park 10 minutes east of the hotel. (Follow Wurzbach Road/Parkway east about three miles to Blanco Road. Left on Blanco about half a block to the parking lot.)

Cons:
Noise was a big issue for us in this hotel. Our room was on the I-10 side of the hotel and the traffic noise was constant. Between the sirens, honking horns, and thumping bass, we had a hard time falling (and staying) asleep. (New windows might help this issue.)
Two of the nights, there was a yippy little dog in the room next to ours; thankfully, the owners were able to keep it quiet most of the time. On the Friday and Saturday nights of our stay, we had to contend with rowdy kids running up and down the halls, pounding on everyone’s doors, and singing loudly.
The bathroom in our suite was tiny – there was only about a 2” clearance between the front of the toilet and the door. In order to close or open the door, we had to squeeze ourselves in the narrow space between the vanity and the toilet or in between the toilet and the tub.
As someone mentioned in an earlier review, getting to use the computers in the business center was a hassle. The second night we were at the hotel, one man had apparently set up his office in the room - he had a tray full of food from the buffet sitting next to him on the desk and had spread out all of his papers too. When we first tried to use one of the computers at 5pm, this man was there along with a woman on the second computer; when we came back from dinner at 8:30, the “eater” was still there and another man was on the second computer. (There are signs posted that food is not allowed in the business center and that there is a 20-minute limit for using the computers.)
On Saturday night when I went down at 7:00pm to print our boarding passes, only one of the computers was up and running, and a young man was using it. When I inquired about what was wrong with the other computer, the woman at the front desk told me that the CPU for the second computer had been stolen out of the (locked) business center the night before.
When I went back in to ask the young man in the business center how long he was going to be, he just shrugged his shoulders and said “I don’t know.” He was on his cell phone at the time and was logged onto Facebook. I went back down an hour later and the young man was still on the computer; he quickly logged off when I told him that he needed to let me use the computer. Before he left the room, he turned to me and asked whether he could borrow a dollar so he could “take the bus home.” Obviously, this young man was not a guest of the hotel. This hotel needs to tighten up their security & surveillance; if people can simply walk in off the street and get into a locked business center to use and/or steal a computer, who is to say that they can’t also get into the locked guest rooms?

The staff was fabulous and there were a lot of great things about the Drury Inn, so I really hate to give a thumbs-down to this hotel, but when I factor in the noise and the security issues, the “cons” out-weigh the “pros”. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MplsMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Northwest Medical Center, responded to this review, April 11, 2011
We sincerely apologize tha you had concerns during your stay at our hotel. We value your business and sincerely regret that the level of service was not what you expected and deserved.
Your comments will help us address the issues you have mentioned so that we can improve our service for future guest at our hotel. We truly appreciate your business and hope you will give us additional opportunities to serve your lodging needs.

Gail Mapus
General Manger
Drury Inn & Suites NW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

We stayed here for a week and the hotel is wonderful. The free hot breakfast was great and they have free drink/popcorn daily as well for snacks. They Also have a GREAT evening reception with light dinners and free wine/drinks. The kids really loved the hotel and so did we! Indoor pool/spa and fitness center were nice as well. The area is near everything that's definitely a plus.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2000SM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2011

To start I should let everyone know I travel a lot & drury has always been my choice I love the updated suites & peacefulness. I would recomend it to everyone! im even a member of their gold key rewards club...but after my experiance last night I wouldnt suggest anyone stay there. I checked in promply @ 530 a.m the staff could not find my reservation so i ended up in a different room (equal value not the one i wanted). 11 a.m rolls around and i go to the front desk to pay (since i checked in at 5:30 they told me to pay again at 11) Danielle the lady at the desk looked up my room & said i was ok and didnt need to pay. Ok so the evening comes im out on the town with some old buddies enjoying my night my wife & child at the hotel , I call and April answers front desk & refuses to transfer me, hmm i dont like april at 3:30 in the morning shes disturbing my family telling them to pay for the room in ten mintues or she would throw them out...thank God my uncle was there to pay. But you see i had went to pay so why wait until 3:30 am to bother my family this is ridiculous , I felt she was judging my character I talked with another lesbian couple in the elevator & they also said she was rude &judemental towards them!! as much as i stayed there I probably paid the drurys electric bill but now I will never stay there ever!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jess_garza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, Manager at Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Northwest Medical Center, responded to this review, June 6, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We do not have team members at this hotel by the names you mentioned, but would like the opportunity to address your concerns about your stay. Please contact the hotel and ask to speak to the General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northwest Side
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Near La Cantera Parkway
Northwest Side
Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Antonio Medical Center North
Northwest Side
Hyatt Place San Antonio Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Side
Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio Northwest/Medical Center
Northwest Side
Staybridge Suites San Antonio NW Medical Center
Northwest Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Northwest Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Northwest Medical Center

Property: Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Northwest Medical Center
Address: 9806 Interstate Hwy 10 West, San Antonio, TX 78230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#62 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Northwest Medical Center 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Northwest Medical Center is two miles from the South Texas Regional Medical Center, USAA, University Park Tech Centers and University of Texas Health Science Center. Enjoy standard rooms and extended stay suites with a full kitchen, living room and bedroom. Free hot breakfast is served daily as well as free hot food and cold beverages at our evening 5:30 Kickback(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Northwest Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Northwest Medical Hotel San Antonio
Drury Inn And Suites San Antonio Northwest Medical Center
Drury San Antonio
Drury Inn San Antonio
Drury Inn Hotel San Antonio Northwest
Drury Inn And Suite Northwest San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing