We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT SO GREAT!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Studio 6 San Antonio - Medical Center
Ranked #285 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed February 21, 2011

This place was aweful! There is no lighting in the stairwells or walkways. SAFETY ALERT! Secondly the sheets and towels were disgusting. I found some gross material on the coveres when I turned them back and the towels had someone elses pubic hairs. There was an excessive amount of hairs in the bathroom corners and in the shower. My overall description of this place is "NASTY".

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelerwone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 30 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2010

I attended a large (50,000) convention in San Antonio and did not want to spend 125 dollars or more a night for a room for 4 days, which was the going rate if I booked through the convention. I amde my reservation directly with Studio6. I did book 9 months before the convention. It only took me 15 minutes to get downtown and parked every day. The hotel was clean, comfortable, and quiet. The hot water was plentiful, the air conditioner worked great and the door locked securly. Housekeeping was minimal but you do know of this ahead of time. A dish brush and detergent was not provided but I new of this ahead of time and hit a dollar store for supplies. Wi-fi was 4.95 for a month and worked great. No com port blocks or band width limits that you encounter frequently. Great grocery store and a Taqueria less than a mile away. This property is truly a great value for the money. I met fellow convention attendees that were paying twice as much as I did for rooms and service that were equal to mine. I heard some stories about the downtown hotels being overwhelmed. 3 hour waits to check in. Airport shuttles taking hours. Hot water running out. 20 minute waits for an elavtor. Parking nightmares, Lost car keys, lost cars. 25 bucks each time to get your car. These were the 150 and up per night properties. I will stay in this property again when I return to San Antonio which has now become my favorite city.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gadgetsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

Good value - but found better one with better room, free Internet, pool and cheaper across the street. Front desk staff for first week were disinterested-metal piece sticking out of mattress, waited 2+ hours for assistance on first morning (Sunday)-locked out of room-area manager called-no apologies, etc. Second week there was a new male (friendly-new) then female front desk person "very nice" in his presence. Maintenance and housekeeping staff "excellent" - friendly, helpful!!! OK for few nights or a week but like I said - better across the street.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OTtravelergh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2008

The presence of a full kitchen (minus baking oven) and a cheap weekly rate lured me to make a reservation at this property. For a single traveller the room size was okay, but nothing more. Check-in was quick; WiFi comes at once $4.95 for up to 28 days of stay.
The 2 studios is inhabited were sufficiently clean.

The problem I had was that any sound made in the nextdoor studio came through the connecting door absolutely unfiltered. Switching on the a/c-unit to overshadow the noise from nextdoor is of no good use, as it is of that type that shuts down completely once the set temp is reached (in contrast to units that keep the fan milling).
After the situation escalated one night, I moved to another room (studio) without a conencting door and slept well for the remainder of the stay.

Parking is ample, but access from the Interstates is a bit tricky (especially with lots of construction work in the Interstates going on). It took me 3 attempts to find the fastest route to the airport due to blocked entrances and exits. Btw, the route from the airport is much easier to find.

Would I stay here again ? Undecided, but never in a unit with a connecting door.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Archie02DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2008

Here is what I liked:
1. The woman at the front desk was friendly.
2. The room was cheap.
3. The manager gave us a $45 refund after our vehicle was burglarized ($1500 damage to our truck and $1600 worth of stuff was stolen).

Here is what I disliked:
1. The room was FILTHY! I cleaned the bathroom and the kitchen, including washing the walls, so my children and I could be comfortable.
2. When the room needed to be vacuumed, we had to walk across the establishment to borrow a vacuum cleaner (and return it when we were finished).
3. Any time we needed clean towels, we had to bring our used ones to the front desk to be traded for clean ones.
4. There was no dish soap and the dishes that were provided had obviously not been washed with soap before they were put away.
5. The room smelled like either really dirty feet...or something. We used air fresheners to help.
6. Our vehicle was burglarized while we were there. The officers said that they had many reports at this address, but they added that there was no real "safe" place to park a car in San Antonio.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjjsak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2007

Before heading off to Japan this past June 2007, I was searching for hotels to entertain my guest from Japan, who was visiting in August 2007. I decided to test run this hotel before suggesting this to my guest.

For 69.99, the room was spacious, comfortable and included a nice kitchen area complete with refrigerator, oven, pots, pans and dishes, just like home! We were very please with this, even though we were only staying one night. I thought it'd be a great place to for long-term travelers!

The TV had ample amount of channels, plus the bathroom was big and spacious. Pretty neat amount of amneties for a one-star hotel. Cleaning service was available daily if you needed and they hotel staff was by far friendly and generous. Never felt so comfortable in my life!

There were some problems, however. The hotel is a bit dated with the floors and carpet looking a bit old (but they were clean). The bathtub was a little bit stained with soap build-up but nothing my b/f and I were able to clean up in seconds. The pots and pans were not washed properly, but again, something we were able to wash within a minute or so. The 2nd time we stayed, the utensils were missing from o ur room, which we promptly reported. They quickly made sure we would not be billed for it and took care if it with urgency.

Another gripe about Motel 6 is that the night before we were to check out in August, our room was filled with the stench of toxic fumes along the lines of paint thinner. It was coming from the room next door (some college kids were staying there) I called the after-hours line and the guy said simply "I'll tell them in the morning." I was in complete awe, wondering how they'd let us sleep in such a horrible situation! The front desk apologized the next morning and presumably the college kids got thier butts thrown out.

Other than that, we felt so comfortable and happy despite the shortcomings!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Delita_chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2007

This hotel was in a really great location right down from sea world. The staff was very helpful and very nice, The room was to the best of a motel 6 clean not saying that it was totally spotless. Tv was a great plues, along with wifi they do charge 4.95 to use it but hey small price to pay to have it and not use dial up. Now the things i didn't like very hard bed noise from behind and above my room i mean you could hear every movement they made above you. the price was also something usually its like 66.00 a night but i had to pay 81.00 so not to bad considering in a good location but could have gave there usual nightly rate. Food you may have to drive onto 410 to find something advice is unless you want fastfood call the place ahead of time.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cwa8807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northwest Side
Best Western Plus Medical Center South
Northwest Side
Motel 6 San Antonio Medical Center South
Motel 6 San Antonio Medical Cent...
#220 of 357 in San Antonio
26 reviews
Northwest Side
La Cantera Resort & Spa
La Cantera Resort & Spa
#28 of 357 in San Antonio
3,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#7 of 357 in San Antonio
3,162 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#10 of 357 in San Antonio
1,168 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#16 of 357 in San Antonio
3,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studio 6 San Antonio - Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studio 6 San Antonio - Medical Center

Address: 7719 Pasteur Court, I-410 at Fredericksburg Road, San Antonio, TX 78229
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #285 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range: $61 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Studio 6 San Antonio - Medical Center 2*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studio 6 San Antonio - Medical Center is within minutes of U.T. Health Center and Wonderland Mall. We are also within 10 miles of Six Flag Fiesta Texas, and the Alamo. Fully equipped kitchens in all modern rooms & Wi-Fi available for $4.95 per stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Motel-6, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Studio 6 San Antonio - Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studio 6 San Antonio - Medical Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing