We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
Ranked #35 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
mexico
1 review
“wonderful”
Reviewed November 28, 2009

Great hotel, super clean, beautiful rooms, friendly personel, I am on my way to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salvador_coyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    618
    352
    95
    48
    43
See reviews for
294
465
61
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2009

Being a frequent international travelers, our experience in this hotel was outstanding. Front desk personnel was always excellent, gentle and showed an honest interest in helping and solving our needs. Rooms maintenance could not be better. Rooms were well clean, spacious and very neat. Location is extraordinary because access to trolley and city transportation is next to the hotel and it is within walking distance to downtown and major attractions. Our compliments to Quiantara, the front desk attendant for her pleasant attendant and service attitude. Price paid could not be better for the quality of this hotel. We recommend 100% this hotel in downtown San Antonio. They delivered what they promised to us.
Angel and Marta Puerto Rico

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marteresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox,British Columbia,Canada
Level Contributor
298 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2009

Great little hotel a little bit out of the way of the riverwalk but easily accessible as well.(we walked there daily)The location is good for the Alamodome and generally very close to most things downtown and the freeway exit is right there as well.You never know with a Best Western,but this one was good and the staff are superb and attentive.For the $3.50 charge for breakfast you cant loose,it's not gourmet of course and the price reflects this,but good value IMO.Rooms were clean and spacious.Property has no amenities to speak of in terms of pool and gym,full service restaurant etc.
All in all an enjoyable stay for us

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islandrockin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norris City
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2009

If you are looking for a relaxing atmosphere, with exceptional employees, this is the place to go. They offer a hot breakfast for a small charge. Within walking distance of the riverwalk without all the noise, 3 blocks, and there is no charge for parking. The rooms are suites and very clean and spacious. Easy to find and get to off I-35 and easy to get on. We go as often as possible and have every intention of staying again and again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gramie74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2009

We traveled to San Antionio from Houston for a couple nights to experience the Riverwalk area, and of course the Alamo. We are Best Western travellers so we booked the Sunset partly for price, and for location. Check in was brisk with a business like manner, and not much time for questions. There had only been one other couple checking in. This was a Sunday afternoon around 300 pm.. I did like the nice touch of ice lemon water in the antique water urn. Very refreshing. The beds were comfortable and the rooms large enough.
Our room was nicely appointed, with a view of the front street area, the San Antonio tower. There is a Chris and Ruth steakhouse just to the left on the corner.
The location is only a couple blocks from the Riverwalk mall and the entrances to the Riverwalk itself. The only concern was having to walk under the highway overpass, however, it was very well lit with colourful lights. The walk to the mall felt safe as well, as we immediately came upon the entrance to the Marriott just after the underpass.
We chose to have breakfast along the Riverwalk, try Rita's. The BW charged a breakfast fee for their modest buffet. First I had heard of from BW's. We had a second breakfast in the 100+ year old Menger Hotel. With its 1920's art deco decor, we followed it up with a brief relaxed sitting on the rocking chairs jsut off the Victorian lobby overlooking the beautiful gardens. We would certainly give the Menger a consideration on any future trip despite reviews of rooms being too old. It is across from the Crockett and Alamo and if you like classic older hotels this one is worth the try; as the price is not too far off the BW rate.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2009

Unlike the other comments I did not have a good stay here. My window was broken so I did not feel secure and no one ever came to fix it. Management was rude, unprofessional and unfriendly. Staff was no better so professional customer service does not exist here. I would have rather stayed elsewhere, and next time I return to San Antonio I will....the extra money I would spend on another hotel is worth it to me when the staff treat you kindly and professionally.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelwriter99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslet, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2009

We stayed at this property on a sight seeing trip to San Antonio, I found it very convienient to all the local sights, the River Walk and The Alamo are totally within walking distance. We parked the car at the hotel and did not drive it again until we went to Sea World. We walked everywhere. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. The only problem we had was the last night we had some very drunk and disruptive neighbors, which were dealt with very efficiently by the hotel staff. The hotel has a hot breakfast bar every morning for a small fee of about 3.50. I would definately come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEWKAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#12 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#23 of 354 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
Far West Side
Best Western Plus Lackland Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
East Side
Staybridge Suites Downtown San Antonio Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Property: Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
Address: 1103 East Commerce Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#37 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#57 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Best Western Sunset Suites Riverwalk in San Antonio, Texas. An all-suites boutique hotel offering comfortable, convenient downtown accommodations, free Internet access, on-site parking ($12.95+tax per day), vacation packages and easy access to San Antonio's best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunset Suites - Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Best Western Riverwalk
Best Western San Antonio
San Antonio Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing