We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
Ranked #44 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2014

My fiancé and I decided to drive to San Antonio and when we arrive at the River walk Best Western we were in aww. The hotel was very beautiful. It showed the history of the building and the renovations. The staff was great and very helpful and I plan on going back at least twice a month.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Brandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

It was great having you. Thank you for spending your getaway with us. We look forward to possibly seeing you for your honeymoon(?). Best wishes in the future and a long and happy life together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

660 - 666 of 1,203 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2014

This hotel is clean and has a great décor. It is an easy walk to the Riverwalk and downtown. It is even close to the Amtrak station. This area of San Antonio will be the next to grow and prices will go up.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Don't worry about prices going up, we will always be the best value in town...although feedback like this will certainly enhance our value :). Thank you for the kind words. See you back soon, we hope.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This was a great place to stay; convenient to restaurants and the downtown attractions. We got in rather late and were happy to find the 24-hour Denny's about a block away. It is a short walk to the Riverwalk and the Alamo. We were able to leave our car parked in their lot for our day of sightseeing for free. The hotel is beautifully decorated. Our room was large, clean and very comfortable. The shower was hot with great water pressure. Breakfast was standard fare for Best Western but was served hot and the food plentiful. Even the dishes were a step up from the norm - they use nice stoneware and silverware in lieu of paper plates.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank DJKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Nothing but the best for our guests. The free parking, real silverware and plates, and a nice hot shower is the minimum we can do. I hope the staff made your trip enjoyable and we look forward to having you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This is a conveniently located, moderately-priced hotel which provides comfortable all-suite rooms housed in a restored vintage building that reflects the historic charm of St. Paul Square. Lobby and rooms have lovely oak mission-style furnishings in keeping with the traditional ambience. We found the staff extremely pleasant and courteous, and the front desk welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Wow, can we use your comment in our advertisement? It couldn't have been written better to describe us. Thank you so much for taking the time to let everyone know about your experience, and we appreciate all the kind words. I hope you'll come back to see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

The hotel is in the Historic District. It is a beautiful hotel and the staff was very helpful. The rooms was very nice and comfortable. The daily paper didn't make it to our room and the internet was spotty but other than those two issues we found it to be very pleasant. It is close to the River Walk which was nice for we could just walk everywhere and leave our car in the hotel parking lot. Another benefit is that we were not charged for parking which many in the area charge for, nor did they charge for the internet and many others do. San Antonio's River Walk is very beautiful and we enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 838alans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We're glad your trip was enjoyable and we appreciate the kind words, truly sorry the paper did not make it up to you...an honest mistake on our part. We'll make sure it's there on your next trip...promise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This place is nice, clean, and friendly. However, none of the accommodations are actually what I would call suites. There is no isolation of the bedroom from the living area. This arrangement does not easily allow travelers to have different sleeping schedules, e. g., to put a child to bed before the adult's bedtime. But it is a pleasant place to stay, and a good value for the price.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank SHIRLEY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Thank you for your feedback and i'm glad we met your expectations. Suites at most properties are the standard mini-suits like ours but I would love to offer you a free upgrade to one of our larger suites for the added comfort on your next visit. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed here for 4 days to vacation with another couple for Riverwalk and the Alamo. Loved the rooms and the staff was great. Stephanie at the front desk was the best help you could find. So personable and full of knowledge. She knows bus routes and shops, eateries and small things in the area that make your trip awesome. Better concierge than in many 5 star we have stayed in. She will manage one day for sure.

The only draw back is using the bus system (Via) you have no problem getting anywhere downtown, but it is a hassle finding the 24,25 to return back. We just returned each evening to the Alamo and hailed a cab. $6 to get you back. Not too bad, but you can walk which we did once or twice.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on parking lot side. Front side has great view of Tower of Armerica but road is a lil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank violapreacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Thank you. Stephanie is one of our newest staff members and has blossomed very well, she will be overjoyed with your compliment as we are with her performance...thank you for the thumbs up on your stay, and great directions on getting about town. Please come back and see us soon...and maybe by then Steph would have moved up in her responsibilities, she is fantastic and a go-getter as you know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Staybridge Suites Downtown San Antonio Convention Center
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#11 of 358 in San Antonio
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Alamo Suites
#89 of 358 in San Antonio
511 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
2,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Address: 1103 East Commerce Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#37 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#57 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $115 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Best Western Sunset Suites Riverwalk in San Antonio, Texas. An all-suites boutique hotel offering comfortable, convenient downtown accommodations, free Internet access, on-site parking ($12.95+tax per day), vacation packages and easy access to San Antonio's best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Best Western, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunset Suites - Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Best Western Riverwalk
Best Western San Antonio
San Antonio Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing