We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find Close to City Centre at Suburban Prices”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
Ranked #44 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We wanted to stay within walking distance of the RiverWalk and not pay an arm and a leg for the privilege. This is a small and comfortable hotel within a couple of blocks of the RiverWalk (cut through either the huge Hyatt or the huge Marriott to get on the walk. Hotel has FREE parking ( a rarity in downtown San Antonio), a very good free breakfast, free wifi, free fresh coffee all day, and most importantly free very friendly service. All the staff go out of their way to please you. Room rates are very reasonable compared to the pricey alternatives around.

Rooms are super clean, modern and very comfortable and relatively quiet even with the freeway next door. What else would you want?

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side may be quieter although in the day time you still get freeway noise
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dogswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Yes, free everything, except for the employees, it works out we have to pay them :). Thank you so much for your feedback. We are overjoyed that the staff did what they enjoy the most, making friends and keeping our valued guests happy...I will be sure to pass along your compliments to them, that is worth more to them than any pay we give them. As far as the property; yes, everything is free. We just don't understand why convenience of downtown parking, wifi, a good breakfast and clean rooms should carry an extra charge. Please do come back and visit real soon...no charge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,196)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

692 - 698 of 1,196 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2014

The location was perfect for my needs close to everything. The room was very large, clean, neat
and comfortable. But most important was the excellent staff particularly Ana at the front desk,
she as well as the rest of the staff were the best. This is my go to hotel in San Antonio.

Room Tip: Give it a try, you will be pleased.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Fantastic. I guess you are our go to guest for reviews :)...Seriously, we thank you for your feedback and appreciate the kind words. More importantly we thank you for your business and look forward to serving you again. Ana and the staff will e recognized at our next staff meeting, they will be happy to hear they were noticed. Safe travels, see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Hotel is 2 blocks to the Riverwalk and boat tickets. 2 blocks to the River City Mall. 3 blocks to the Alamo, if you cut through the Mall. 3 (long) blocks in the opposite direction to the Hemisphere Tower. If you want a view, have a drink and appetizer at the top and you will get the view and don't have to pay the observation fee. Just tell the hostess that you want to go to the observation deck after your drink.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank readeasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Good advice about the Hemisphere, I'll try the drink line first, I was never fan of paying for a view...and thank you for the feedback on the hotel. We hope you enjoyed the convenience of the close proximity and the free parking. We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I've stayed at many Best Western Hotels and all are normally very nice. This one was at the top of my list. Everything was top notch, from the folks at the desk, to the room, to the fitness and business centers, and the breakfast. Good location. Friendly staff and an excellent value. Could not have been more satisfied. I'd recommend this Best Western to everyone.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Fantastic. First i'd like to thank you for being a valued and loyal customer with the Best Western family of properties. I'd also like to thank you for your feedback and I am so glad we lived up to your expectations and more. We are very proud to have received the Chairman's Award on numerous occasions, and in this case it is even more important to win our own customer's award. I will share your comments with all staff, they will be overjoyed. Please come back and see us soon...thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This a great spot to stay downtown, close enough for a taxi, but far from the noise!! The rooms a quite and comfortable, I Love this Hotel. The have a GREAT STAFF!!!! I will stay there again for sure!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Yay, we love it...thank you for your note. We look forward to seeing you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

The hotel is within walking distance of the Riverwalk and other attractions including the Tower of America. Most attractions are from a few long city blocks to less than 1/2 mile away. There is also a city bus you can take if you don't want to walk that far. The breakfast buffet is not extensive but very adequate. The make your own waffles shaped like Texas are delicious. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank aleasah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

We're so happy we were able to offer a convenient affordable location for your visit to SA. Love to see you back so let us know when you're ready.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

BW Sunset Suites is not really on the Riverwalk. It is across the highway, but still within a couple of miles. Cannot walk to Riverwalk, must drive. Room was nice, A/C unit needs a little attention. Spacious and mostly clean. Front desk staff was cold and "pre-recorded." Parking is the worst. Had to pay for an additional car and then park in EGYPT. Lovely older hotel that has been well maintained, but having stayed in lots of hotels all over the place, this one needs some tweaking as far as staff and customer service go. Located in an industrial neighborhood that is a little sketchy.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank JCntex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

We appreciate your feedback, thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did. The Staff I am checking into because that is an unusual statement for our staff, not the normal feedback we see on them but we won't let it go lightly and will check to see who was working on your day of arrival...Parking, that one I got a chuckle out of. I actually did speak with you in person and I understand that it really wasn't that great of an issue, after all the overflow parking is right across the street from our hotel (not Egypt LOL) and you liked that it was free :). I enjoyed our conversation and loved the feedback..we like to hear every point of view and always use them to the best of our ability to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Staybridge Suites Downtown San Antonio Convention Center
Best Western Alamo Suites
#84 of 358 in San Antonio
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#11 of 358 in San Antonio
1,133 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#17 of 358 in San Antonio
1,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Address: 1103 East Commerce Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#32 Best Value Hotel in San Antonio
#37 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#57 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $91 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Best Western Sunset Suites Riverwalk in San Antonio, Texas. An all-suites boutique hotel offering comfortable, convenient downtown accommodations, free Internet access, on-site parking ($12.95+tax per day), vacation packages and easy access to San Antonio's best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunset Suites - Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Best Western Riverwalk
Best Western San Antonio
San Antonio Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing