We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk(San Antonio)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,248)
Filter reviews
1,248 results
Traveler rating
652
385
105
56
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
652
385
105
56
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmission styleoverflow parkingoverflow lotthe river walkamtrak stationcommerce streetwithin walking distancealamo domebest westernsshort walkconvention centercoffee tablewaffleshot breakfastlight sleepertwo blocksgreat place to stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
755 - 760 of 1,248 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed at this hotel several years ago for a football game at the nearby Alamo Dome, and our initial good impression was reinforced by our recent visit. Online reservations were quick & easy, and check in was smooth and painless. The hotel in general and our room in particular was clean, quiet and very welcoming. Front desk and housekeeping staffs very helpful. Very nice breakfast located in a light and open area adjoining the lobby. As mentioned in other reviews, this hotel is not directly on the Riverwalk (and doesn't have the associated inflated prices) but is within easy walking distance. The lighted Riverwalk is beautiful around Christmas, and this hotel is a reasonably priced base for enjoying it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

It was good to have you back, nice to know the years didn't separate us :). Thank you for the wonderful compliments. You are absolutely correct, the vicinity to the Alamo Dome and the River Walk can't be beat, two blocks either way and you have San Antonio Central with free parking, free wifi, great full American buffet breakfast and the best staff this side of the Mississippi...haven't been to the other side but I'm told they're not any better either :). See you back soon, make it a shorter absence next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stay was great except for the street noise. Wished I had been assigned to a room across the hall. Staff extremely professional. Nice room Extra large television. Excellent WiFi. Breakfast was very good as well.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Yram M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

You're a jewel yourself...we treat all our guests like Gold. Thank you for letting us know how we did. Please come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This was a very good hotel! It's NOT on the Riverwalk but it is very close. Definitely close enough to walk to it. (If you are physically able to) Free parking, free breakfast and free wi-fi! You can NOT find that anywhere around the Riverwalk. And the breakfast was good, clean and above average for most free hotel breakfast. You can't beat this deal! Three minor complaints: * The room has very low lighting but nothing we didn't get use to. * It can be noisy. You are right off of Commerce and I-37. So sirens and loud cars was an issue. But it didn't ruin our stay. * The beds were uncomfortable. I know everyone has different preferences when it comes to beds. But for us, the bed was a little to hard for our taste. Of course we sleep on a Sleep Number bed at home so we are a little spoiled. :) Overall...great hotel for a great price. Will for sure look it up next time we visit SA.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Nothing wrong with being spoiled with comfort. Thank you so much for your comments, we appreciate the positives you noted, the free parking, free full hot American breakfast and free wifi are key on any travelers amenities list, specially when the parking downtown can be $20 at best. Your suggestions will not go unnoticed and we will continue to do our best to be the best. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Clean, well presented, friendly staff easy access to the best of San Antonio's many offerings. My second visit to this beautiful city just confirms what I experienced on my first visit in 1998, tourism people from all over the world should visit this city and learn how to package their product. The hospitality experience is first class.

Room Tip: The staff turn a good experience into a great experience.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icegolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Fantastic to hear of your return visit to our beautiful city and I am glad to know that our staff played a role in a great experience. I have one question, why did you wait so long to come back? LOL. So glad to know that you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for your wonderful comments and we hope to see you again real soon...really soon, OK?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

The staff will quote a price to get you to the hotel, then they will not honor the price. The rooms are not clean, phones do not work and the staff has problems speaking English. This was a terrible hotel and we travel constantly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Steven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

So sorry, but this is absurd. We have asked TripAdvisor to verify the validity of this guest. This guest is from San Antonio and obviously an employee of a competitor who doesn't know how to hide their identity...LOL. To all our valued travelers, we apologize for this feeble attempt of competitive rivalry. In the age of Internet how can anyone quote one rate and do a bait and switch? Secondly to insinuate that there is a language barrier is simply offensive and would not require a response. As for the other claims, please read or other guest comments and be your own judge. I won't name the competitor...but shame you on CS :).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews