We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location for Marathon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
Ranked #44 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Great location with free breakfast and free parking. The location is great for the Alamodome and the Marathon start and finish line. I plan on returning to this hotel every time for the race! Walking to the downtown sites take 5-10 minutes and is safe and has easy access.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Yes, you made my day. Thank you for the compliment. We always brag about being the friendliest hotel for the Marathon...we were even on the news about it...so good to see that we did right by you. I don't know why you would want to run another 26 miles next year but we'd love to have you back :). See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

728 - 734 of 1,203 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

Room was very noisy from the street noise, making hard to sleep at night. Was in town to run Marathon and hotel was not a runner friendly hotel. Would not allow late check out as they told me they where booked on a Sunday night which I find hard to believe. Need a shower and to change clothes after marathon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

In my 35 years I have never disagreed with a customer...so sorry but I do need to set the record straight on this one :). We love the runners, as we do the cheerleaders, the bands, the convention attendees and everyone else. For the Marathon we over-staff the property to make sure they can keep their minds on the 26.2 miles ahead of them. We allowed late check out for everyone, just could not do a 7pm check out as in this case. I hope the run was fabolous and we do look forward to having you back next year...BTW, a local TV station even ran a story on us as the friendliest hotel for runners, and the reason we were sold out is because many of the runners chose to spend Sunday night and take in the local sights at a more leisurely rate. See you next year. Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This hotel was recommended to me by a friend as the place to stay while in town for the San Antonio marathon. And, she was RIGHT. Aside from the PERFECT location, the staff was extremely helpful, the room was big and clean and everything was lovely.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

We thank you, and we thank your friend for recommending us as your Marathon Central...we look forward to seeing you and more runners again next year, just need to build another wing to the hotel because of all the referral business :). Come back soon when you don't have to run anywhere - LOL. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Very pleased with this hotel overall. Big rooms, nice oak furniture. Good breakfast. Just a short walk to the main attractions. Very polite staff. VERY clean; they were repainting minor scratches when we were there. One negative - it's right on Commerce and beside the freeway, so there can be a lot of traffic noise.

Room Tip: Get a room that is not facing Commerce St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

We love our staff as much as we love our guests...we think you're all wonderful, glad we could get you together :). Thank you for your wonderful compliments, we share all of them with our staff to show our gratitude for their hard work. Quick note on the hotel; the free parking and close walk to downtown is unbeatable, but the solid oak furniture is something you will not see in any hotel, not even the $250 night ones...throw in a staff that takes pride in their work and I guess we're the only 7-star hotel in town. OK, U.S. ratings don't go that high BUT we feel we're special anyway. Thank you for staying with us and come back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The rooms are large and very clean .The Hotel is only 64 rooms .This was my second stay there and alphas been good.The breakfast is from 6 to 9 and is good. The coffee is excellent and the staff through out the hotel is great.You can walk 4 short blocks down Commerce and be on the River walk and mall.You can get a day pass on the Buss that stops right by the hotel for $4 and ride and get on and off all day--great way to see San Antonio and not have to drive and park.Parking at the hotel is free and close to the front door.--enjoyed my stay

Room Tip: Te first and last rooms on each floor are larger and have 2 double beds but they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobby f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Wonderful to have you back and we look forward to seeing you again soon. So glad that you have found the perfect location for your San Antonio visits. Our goal is to make your getaways memorable and will continue to wow you each time...come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We were pleased with out choice of hotel. It was a short walk to Riverwalk. Each morning we had a full breakfast before starting out touring. The only glitch was our third day. We retuned after 4pm hoping to rest before dinner and our room hadn't been made up yet. We had to wait in the lobby until it was ready. In the maid's rush to get our room ready she didn't empty trash or replenish our lotion. When I got out of the shower I had to send my husband to the lobby to get some for me.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

We are so pleased that you sent your vacation with us, and overjoyed that you enjoyed your stay...please excuse the glitch in the resupply of your lotion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

One reason to stay here is that you are only ten minuets walk to River Walk and don't have to pay for parking. The room was large and clean when we arrived. The breakfast was what you would normally expect from a Best Western with the added extra of having proper cutlery instead of the plastic equivalent . The only problem we had that our room wasn't cleaned on the second day and that another guest had been given the same room. We mentioned this on our departure and was given a discount. Despite this problem I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room near to the road and it was a little noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDSYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Great to have a guest from the old country. I grew up in England and it puts a big smile on my face when I see England/U.K. on our reg cards...hope to see you back soon, and bring some Marmite with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Staybridge Suites Downtown San Antonio Convention Center
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#11 of 358 in San Antonio
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Alamo Suites
#89 of 358 in San Antonio
511 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
2,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Address: 1103 East Commerce Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#37 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#57 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $115 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Best Western Sunset Suites Riverwalk in San Antonio, Texas. An all-suites boutique hotel offering comfortable, convenient downtown accommodations, free Internet access, on-site parking ($12.95+tax per day), vacation packages and easy access to San Antonio's best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunset Suites - Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Best Western Riverwalk
Best Western San Antonio
San Antonio Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing