We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
Ranked #42 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Bryan, United States
2 reviews
“Outstanding”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We have stayed at a few different hotels in San Antonio and this one will definitely be used again! The staff were exceptionally polite and helpful. The location was great. It has easy access to the highways and located only 2 blocks from the River Walk making all the places we wanted to see within walking distance. The breakfast was superb, as good as you could get at a restaurant but included with your stay. It was quiet and clean. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. Our Staff will be overjoyed to hear your compliments on their friendly, attentive service...it is you they work to please and knowing they did right by it, will make everyone's day. The breakfast is fantastic, isn't it...you do not find the typical packaged breakfast of other facilities at our hotel We prepare everything fresh in our full service kitchen, that's how we get restaurant quality food at absolutely NO EXTRA COST to our guests, all complimentary. So now that you have a home away form home in San Antonio, we look forward to seeing you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    358
    98
    49
    47
See reviews for
302
474
61
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Havre, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The location of this hotel can't be beat. It's less than a 10 minute walk from the Riverwalk but is just a little bit away from the all the tourist bustle.

We had a room at the end of the hall on the 4th floor and didn't hear a peep from any of our neighbors. The rooms were clean and simply decorated. Our room included a couch and rocking chair, which was. The bed was very comfortable.

The breakfast was decent. One day, it included eggs, sausage, yogurt, fruit, good coffee. The second day, the main dish was biscuits and gravy, which made it hard to find enough food at the buffet for someone who was gluten free!

When we arrived (extremely late at night) the parking lot was full. Luckily, there were additional parking spots at the apartment building across the street. The staff was excellent in helping us get settled, get parked, and help guide us through the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kalley642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
We are so glad that we hit all the marks with the comfy bed, free parking, and restful night's sleep. We'll take another peek at breakfast and increase the variety of offerings, each day. Thank you so much for the feedback and come back to visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

The night check in staff is very accomodating. Check in aroun past 12 midnight. The location is great. The room is a bit dark even i switch on all the lights. The noise from the commerce street is noticeable. Must improve sound proofing. The room was vlwan and nice.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank arielpayat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Great feedback. Thank you for taking the time to give us constructive ideas...we're always looking for better options on lighting while maintaining the ambiance of the historic aspects of the property and giving that warm cozy feeling. Be sure to come back and visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had never been to San Antonio but wanted to stay somewhere with reasonable rates, WiFi, free parking, breakfast, and close to the downtown riverwalk area. This hotel met all our criteria and we booked it. We were very pleased with our 4 days there. The staff could not have been more pleasant or helpful and the facilities were immaculate. We'd definitely stay there again. The only problem was some highway construction near-by which only slightly impacted our 1 1/2 block walk to the riverwalk. Overall, it was a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xanna2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is good to hear that our staff was right on the mark with their smiles and helpfulness, they truly enjoy their jobs and we appreciate all they do for our guests and returning friends. If the construction is all we have to fix, then I can assure you that it will be over soon and the city will be much better for it....so come back and visit soon, we're best friends now :).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We enjoyed a great 2 nite stay. Good access to the Riverwalk, it's about a 5 minute walk which puts you at Rivercenter Mall area, which is good. The alternate parking lot is just diagonal from the small front parking area, not too far away as we had feared it would be. Seemed like safe area to us. Room and bath area were VERY clean and AC worked great! Some noise from the road, but not bad. Was great to have mini fridge for drinks. The bed was large, but seemed too firm for us, but if you like a firm mattress, would be perfect. Bedding and towels were soft and clean. We only ate breakfast one day, waffles were the best part of it, but sufficent for the price. Would rate this as a 3 star or above for amenities, though it is only rated as a 2 1/2 star. Staff was friendly. All in all we enjoyed our stay and never moved the car for 2 days! We walked all over the Riverwalk and visited the Alamo. Be sure and enjoy a night boat ride on the River, much cooler at night!

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the road would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Ah, I think we have the overflow parking perfect now...glad to hear your approval. After a couple of months of negotiations we were able to secure additional spots (just so everyone knows, PARKING is completely FREE) right across the street at the upscale hi-rise condos. So exciting. We're glad the entire stay was perfect, the distance to downtown just right and you enjoyed the free parking amenity...saves $20 from any other downtown hotel. We'll see you back soon, right? We hope so :).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed 3 nights and everything was great. The staff were all very nice and did a great job in making our stay there very enjoyable. We really enjoyed the free breakfast and it's location to the riverwalk.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlh7933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you took an extended time to visit all the site in San Antonio, there is really so much too see. And, the free parking, the two block walk to the sites, great breakfast and spacious rooms are a good way to start it all...but you already knew that :). See you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We enjoyed staying at the Best Western Plus Sunset Suites Riverwalk!! The staff are very friendly, especially Obrian, who gave us outstanding customer service!! We enjoyed the location, close to the Riverwalk and great freeway access! Great rooms and service, looking forward to staying again!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shere L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We're looking forward to having you back. Thank you for staying with us. We will be sure to let O'Brian know you mentioned him by name, he will be very excited, as we are. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#13 of 355 in San Antonio
1,110 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#22 of 355 in San Antonio
1,897 reviews
Best Western Alamo Suites
#89 of 355 in San Antonio
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Staybridge Suites Downtown San Antonio Convention Center
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Property: Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
Address: 1103 East Commerce Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#37 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#57 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Best Western Sunset Suites Riverwalk in San Antonio, Texas. An all-suites boutique hotel offering comfortable, convenient downtown accommodations, free Internet access, on-site parking ($12.95+tax per day), vacation packages and easy access to San Antonio's best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Best Western, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunset Suites - Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Best Western Riverwalk
Best Western San Antonio
San Antonio Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing