We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay close to river walk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
Ranked #34 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great stay close to river walk”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is an older building... Historical.. And made for a neat hotel! It was clean, very clean...fresh, and very comfortable! We traveled with teens and a young child. Everyone was happy! The teens said the pullout was a little stiff...but, I booked online last minute and it was one of the only options..but the room was spacious and worked out great. I was also a little worried about location to River Walk... But it was only a couple blocks away.... You can cut through other building to get to the rw faster. It was a safe and short walk, no problems with teens and a stroller.... I recommend this stop to anyone who doesn't mind a short walk! You will not be disappointed! Staff was great!

Room Tip: No pool, but we were not there to swim....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amanda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Although the original building dates back to the late 1800's, the Guest Room Suites are in the attached building that was built in 2000...we made sure we carried the historical aspects throughout both buildings with mission-style solid oak furnishings and tiffany lighting in all the suites, original hardwood flooring and brass ceiling tiles in the lobby area. So glad you enjoyed the ambiance and that we were a hit with all ages...Bring the family back for another visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    346
    89
    48
    43
See reviews for
289
460
58
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Staff was so helpful on phone and at hotel. Room was clean. Beds great. Nice to have
kitchen area. Breakfast was fair but more than just continental. A little far to walk to
riverwalk for elderly person. Cannot say enough about staff!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
We're so glad that you enjoyed your visit to our beautiful City and that we played a role in your pleasant experience. The Staff will be so happy to hear your compliments...next time try hopping on the Bus right in front of the Hotel to all the sites and save the short walk if you don't feel up to it. We'd love to see you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles County
Level Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The address is confusing, the front entrance is actually on Chestnut Street. They have a very small sign at night very difficult to find if you are not familiar with the area. The check went without any problems. Obrien the desk clerk was very professional and made the check in process seamless

The room was huge almost double the size of of normal hotel rooms. The room had two small double beds and a pull out bed. My only complaint was the a/c could not handle the size of the room. It was warm during the night. Parking was free. The breakfast was average at best.

Over all my experience was good and I would stay there again when in the area..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mack184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Definitely looking forward to seeing you again. I will let our newest Staff Member (O'brien) know he is off to a great start. A/C will be looked at immediately, thank you for letting us know.

See you back real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The hotel was very nice. And not a bad walking distance to the convention center/riverwalk except you have to go under the freeway which at night although well lit a bit off, so I would ride the bus, which you can access easily just a short walk from the hotel. The reason we chose the hotel was the free parking,breakfast and Internet, which is hard to find in the area of San Antonio. The room was so spacious, a little dark, mostly lit with lamps. The breakfast was nice with waffles, eggs and some meat everyday plus continental style options. The only negatives we had were if you walk on one portion of the room it seems not as reinforced and squeaks which translates to be able to,near your upstairs neighbor (apparently mine had insomnia). Also there are train tracks nearby, our first night(Sunday) they didn't bother us but during the week they would blow their horn at 11:30-12:30am. Not the best way to wake up. The hotel,was great! Just some of the outside things they have no control over are a little annoying. I would stay again just bring some ear plugs, which really seems to be the norm anymore for light sleepers,staying at hotels.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank batty2kgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
So glad your convention was successful and we were able to play a role in making your visit to San Antonio pleasurable. Thank you for hitting on all the positive points of the property; walking distance to convention center and Riverwalk, free parking, full American buffet breakfast, and spacious rooms...confused about the train whistle because there is a downtown ordinance that prevents them from doing that, unless it was an emergency in which case we hope all was fine. We will check into it and make sure to file a compliant with the train authorities. I hope you'll come back and see us for a leisure visit in the near future...work is always good, pleasure is more fun :).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Sunset Suites when attending a conference at the nearby Conference Center. Even though there was a shuttle to the sessions each day I preferred to walk as it was so close and the I could see some of the sights if I took the long way to the Center. The Sunset Suites staff were all extremely helpful and attentive and the hotel was perfect for my requirements. I was a little concerned it might be noisy as it is near a major road, but I was not disturbed by any noise and enjoyed the location close to the downtown shops and sights. Breakfast was included in the tariff and even though there was a set range of items, it was varied enough and all the items were fresh and tasty.

There is a 24 hour reception which was ideal as I arrived late and had to leave very early for an international flight. The staff at Reception were able to mind some valuables for me as well and offered advice on restaurants and things to do. I have only good things to say about my stay and my visit to San Antonio.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank timbob42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
It's wonderful to hear back form our international travelers. Although your visit was for a conference, I am happy you ad a chance to visit some of the sights in our beautiful city...can't find another Texas anywhere else in the world, and certainly nothing with the rich history of San Antonio. We are very proud of our town, and our property...glad you shared some of your time with us and hope to see you back on a leisure trip very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

First, I'd like to compliment Art and O'Brien for trying to help when the internet failed to appear at all in six days (oh it did work for 10 mins), and the room keys had to be completely replaced three times. Those problems are not theirs - these problems belong to a management company that does not care to provide services advertised - even when you give the manager a chance to call to make amends - the manager never tried to contact us at all. This company - Best Western, Sunset Suites in San Antonio is a huge rip-off. I could have tolerated the dim lamps - it's true, there are about five of these lamps with dark shades in the room, so even with all of the lights on - you can't see anything, because the lamp shades only provide very dim light. The A/C was outrageously loud as if no one ever maintains them. The breakfast is also of poor quality - I thought it was advertised to have a hot breakfast - well there were some scrambled eggs, and yes, you could make some waffles - but we walked a block to Denny's for a better quality. I think we are really just stunned at the insensitivity of the management when it comes to failing to provide what was advertised. We will never stay at a Best Western again.

Room Tip: The A/C is outrageously loud in the first floor rooms - could not hear the TV and the TV is fixed so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Algorithm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
We just got off the phone per your review on the Medallia guest comment system...as mentioned in our conversation I am deeply sorry about the issues you had encountered during your stay at our property. On the Medallia system you had only mentioned the Internet, which was knocked off due to City construction on our block, Although we made every attempt each day to rectify the situation we were still at the mercy of the cable company and the city folks. In their attempts to make San Antonio a more pleasant city to visit they had made a mistake, but in this case it made us look terrible. During our conversation you had not mentioned the A/C or breakfast, but I understand how one frustration can lead to more, and you can be assured that I will check into those matters as well. However, I am GLAD our conversation ended to your satisfaction and that we were able to rectify the situation as you had wished. We do hope to see you back soon, and look forward to winning you over the next time around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleman, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We LOVE THIS hotel and plan on staying on our next trip to San Antonio. We loved the free parking and the short walking distance to The Riverwalk and the Alamo. It was a 5-8 minute walk. The hotel once was a warehouse and a speakeasy. Fascinating. Loved the Historic District and the view from our hotel.

Room Tip: Room 302 has a great view of the Historic District and the Alamo dome and the Tower of America.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Marcy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
That's fantastic that you were able to get some of the historic facts about our property during your stay...our staff is very proud of their property and love to share tidbits about it with everyone :). We are excited that you will be back to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#13 of 354 in San Antonio
1,075 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#23 of 354 in San Antonio
1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Far West Side
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lackland Hotel & Suites
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
East Side
Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio-Downtown/Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
Address: 1103 East Commerce Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-3305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#37 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#57 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Best Western Sunset Suites Riverwalk in San Antonio, Texas. An all-suites boutique hotel offering comfortable, convenient downtown accommodations, free Internet access, on-site parking ($12.95+tax per day), vacation packages and easy access to San Antonio's best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Best Western, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunset Suites - Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Best Western Riverwalk
Best Western San Antonio
San Antonio Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing