We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Conference stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
Ranked #34 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Conference stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

The hotel was very nice. And not a bad walking distance to the convention center/riverwalk except you have to go under the freeway which at night although well lit a bit off, so I would ride the bus, which you can access easily just a short walk from the hotel. The reason we chose the hotel was the free parking,breakfast and Internet, which is hard to find in the area of San Antonio. The room was so spacious, a little dark, mostly lit with lamps. The breakfast was nice with waffles, eggs and some meat everyday plus continental style options. The only negatives we had were if you walk on one portion of the room it seems not as reinforced and squeaks which translates to be able to,near your upstairs neighbor (apparently mine had insomnia). Also there are train tracks nearby, our first night(Sunday) they didn't bother us but during the week they would blow their horn at 11:30-12:30am. Not the best way to wake up. The hotel,was great! Just some of the outside things they have no control over are a little annoying. I would stay again just bring some ear plugs, which really seems to be the norm anymore for light sleepers,staying at hotels.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank batty2kgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
So glad your convention was successful and we were able to play a role in making your visit to San Antonio pleasurable. Thank you for hitting on all the positive points of the property; walking distance to convention center and Riverwalk, free parking, full American buffet breakfast, and spacious rooms...confused about the train whistle because there is a downtown ordinance that prevents them from doing that, unless it was an emergency in which case we hope all was fine. We will check into it and make sure to file a compliant with the train authorities. I hope you'll come back and see us for a leisure visit in the near future...work is always good, pleasure is more fun :).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    342
    87
    46
    43
See reviews for
284
453
58
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Sunset Suites when attending a conference at the nearby Conference Center. Even though there was a shuttle to the sessions each day I preferred to walk as it was so close and the I could see some of the sights if I took the long way to the Center. The Sunset Suites staff were all extremely helpful and attentive and the hotel was perfect for my requirements. I was a little concerned it might be noisy as it is near a major road, but I was not disturbed by any noise and enjoyed the location close to the downtown shops and sights. Breakfast was included in the tariff and even though there was a set range of items, it was varied enough and all the items were fresh and tasty.

There is a 24 hour reception which was ideal as I arrived late and had to leave very early for an international flight. The staff at Reception were able to mind some valuables for me as well and offered advice on restaurants and things to do. I have only good things to say about my stay and my visit to San Antonio.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank timbob42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
It's wonderful to hear back form our international travelers. Although your visit was for a conference, I am happy you ad a chance to visit some of the sights in our beautiful city...can't find another Texas anywhere else in the world, and certainly nothing with the rich history of San Antonio. We are very proud of our town, and our property...glad you shared some of your time with us and hope to see you back on a leisure trip very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

First, I'd like to compliment Art and O'Brien for trying to help when the internet failed to appear at all in six days (oh it did work for 10 mins), and the room keys had to be completely replaced three times. Those problems are not theirs - these problems belong to a management company that does not care to provide services advertised - even when you give the manager a chance to call to make amends - the manager never tried to contact us at all. This company - Best Western, Sunset Suites in San Antonio is a huge rip-off. I could have tolerated the dim lamps - it's true, there are about five of these lamps with dark shades in the room, so even with all of the lights on - you can't see anything, because the lamp shades only provide very dim light. The A/C was outrageously loud as if no one ever maintains them. The breakfast is also of poor quality - I thought it was advertised to have a hot breakfast - well there were some scrambled eggs, and yes, you could make some waffles - but we walked a block to Denny's for a better quality. I think we are really just stunned at the insensitivity of the management when it comes to failing to provide what was advertised. We will never stay at a Best Western again.

Room Tip: The A/C is outrageously loud in the first floor rooms - could not hear the TV and the TV is fixed so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Algorithm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
We just got off the phone per your review on the Medallia guest comment system...as mentioned in our conversation I am deeply sorry about the issues you had encountered during your stay at our property. On the Medallia system you had only mentioned the Internet, which was knocked off due to City construction on our block, Although we made every attempt each day to rectify the situation we were still at the mercy of the cable company and the city folks. In their attempts to make San Antonio a more pleasant city to visit they had made a mistake, but in this case it made us look terrible. During our conversation you had not mentioned the A/C or breakfast, but I understand how one frustration can lead to more, and you can be assured that I will check into those matters as well. However, I am GLAD our conversation ended to your satisfaction and that we were able to rectify the situation as you had wished. We do hope to see you back soon, and look forward to winning you over the next time around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleman, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We LOVE THIS hotel and plan on staying on our next trip to San Antonio. We loved the free parking and the short walking distance to The Riverwalk and the Alamo. It was a 5-8 minute walk. The hotel once was a warehouse and a speakeasy. Fascinating. Loved the Historic District and the view from our hotel.

Room Tip: Room 302 has a great view of the Historic District and the Alamo dome and the Tower of America.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Marcy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
That's fantastic that you were able to get some of the historic facts about our property during your stay...our staff is very proud of their property and love to share tidbits about it with everyone :). We are excited that you will be back to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel is convenient to to all of downtown san Antonio, riverwalk, tower of the Americas. The via bus station is next door, you can purchase a day pass for $4 and go everywhere. The staff was very friendly and helpful, we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank howardorsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Sounds like you hit all the sites with a short walk form the hotel. Yes, the free guest parking, 5 minute walk to the Riverwalk and Alamo, and the convenience of the via bus can not be matched by any other. Come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Jackson, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had a great stay here, but I didn't think it was worth the price. This hotel is a lot more expensive than comparable BW's, and is not in as great of a location as we thought it would be. We thought it would be closer to the riverwalk, and it's definitely within walking distance, but it's on the other side of the freeway and you have to walk under it to get to all of the sights. The building is older, but in more of a historic way, not a run-down way. I was happy, however, with the bath and body works toiletries and the breakfast. They had lots of options, including fresh-cut fruit, eggs, sausage, and biscuits and gravy. Everything was great, I just would've rather stayed somewhere right on the riverwalk for the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jainge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
I love all your comments in the review. I think you definitely selected all the advantages of the property, Historic Boutique setting, the Great Breakfast, Free Parking, Walking Distance to Riverwalk, Bath & Body works guest amenities...the price unfortunately depends on the period and what is happening in a very busy downtown environment so a typical Best Western which we try not to be (we hope we are at the top 3%) may not match what we offer. We love seeing and hearing all of our guests, and hope to see you back with us soon. Just mention this TripAdvisor response to the guest representative at the desk (print it out if you need) and we'll be sure to give you 20% off our standard rates for your return (little disclaimer, obviously other discounts won't apply).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O Lakes, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Ana went to great lengths to get us a room for another day when we needed to extend. The entire Front Desk Staff was good as well.
The Breakfast was very good and room was very nice.
Only issue was parking which of course the stall cannot change.
Tom & Kimberly B

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Ana will be excited to hear her name mentioned at our next check-cashing party with the staff. We are so happy the service was what is expected. The free parking is a rare find in downtown and we do rent additional spaces from the city just a block away from our main lot, at no cost to our guests...we want to make sure that our guests have all the extra amenities at no additional cost and we are always looking for better options including parking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#13 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Far West Side
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lackland Hotel & Suites
Crockett Hotel
#21 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
East Side
Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio-Downtown/Market Square
BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites
#95 of 353 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
Address: 1103 East Commerce Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-3305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#35 Best Value Hotel in San Antonio
#37 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#57 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Best Western Sunset Suites Riverwalk in San Antonio, Texas. An all-suites boutique hotel offering comfortable, convenient downtown accommodations, free Internet access, on-site parking ($12.95+tax per day), vacation packages and easy access to San Antonio's best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Best Western and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunset Suites - Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Best Western Riverwalk
Best Western San Antonio
San Antonio Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing