We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
Ranked #44 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel is clean, friendly and comfortable. We are an older couple. It was about 10 blocks to the Alamo one way (a little too far for me).The stairs to go down to the Riverwalk are about 4 blocks away. It is close to the Alamodome the River Center Mall and the Tower of the Americas. The breakfast was plentiful with several options. It was a quiet hotel (nice). Great Value!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jailmarm07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We are so happy you found the hotel to be clean and accommodating...on the distances, I know perceptions sometimes can be very personal, but I assure you that the River Walk (stairs) are ONLY two blocks away and the Alamo three and half blocks :)...non the less I know on certain days my lunch walk to the River (2 blocks) seem as 2 miles because I am so hungry :). We hope you come back and visit, and give the trolley a try, much easier to get around town and to all the sights.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

876 - 882 of 1,202 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

We loved our stay here. We would come again. Clean, safe, quiet. Breakfast very sufficient. Staff is very courteous. Our room was very large and spacious, could be a bit brighter, though. Everyone on staff was very friendly and helpful even the Maintenance supervisor who helped me find the laundry room. Just great customer service. We met the General Manager and he was wonderful, too. We are telling all our friends of our great visit to San Antonio at the Best Western Sunset Riverwalk!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IslandGirl986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

It was a pleasure having you as our guest. I am glad your trip to San Antonio was a memorable one and happy to know that our Staff was able to play a role in your positive experience. Please come back and see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel was ideally located for attending the BOA super regional competition at the Alamodome. Once parked at the hotel, we easily walked to the contest and to the Riverwalk to spend our free time. The room was spacious, quiet, comfortable, and spotlessly clean. With breakfast provided, the BWP Sunset Suites was the perfect choice for our trip.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Fantastic review, thank you so much. We are the closest property to the Alamo Dome and one of the few properties that offer FREE parking downtown, making us the property of choice for all events at the Alamo Dome. We love to have the Bands, the Cheerleaders, concert goers (both for the Alamo Dome and Sunset Station), and the College Alamo Bowl or Military Bowls...bottom lines we LOVE OUR GUESTS :). Keep coming back and let us know if we can do anything to make your stay even better. See you soon and wish you safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This hotel has a good location, a few block walk to the Riverwalk. Although it's next to the freeway and near a train station, it was very quiet. The room was very clean and staff was very courteous. Breakfast was good. The only thing they could improve was the room was very dark. It would be nicer if they could get some more light in the room, but it's a great value compared to many of the other hotels in the area. Also, very convenient parking and nice lobby. Room was also very large with an extra seating area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goodtimecharlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us; the location is perfect, the rooms are beautiful and we do like to brag about our Staff...THANK YOU for letting us know we did well. The Tiffany lighting which is a part of the overall ambiance of the decor in the rooms, with the solid oak mission-style furniture, has given us a challenge apparently with the glow factor...please know that we will work on it and try to improve the work space lighting so you can work and still relax in the ambiance of Historic San Antonio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location in San Antonio. A friend and I stayed here for two nights. As soon as u enter the hotel the smell of cinnamon fills the air. The hotel was very clean and offered a great breakfast. The room was very spacious and offered a seating area with couch, chair, and desk. The only issue I had was the lack of lighting in the room. There were numerous lamps but none of them were very bright. Other than that everything was great. I would for sure stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bella4156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you so much for your feedback. We have to thank our Sales Staff for the scent of cinnamon, a new idea they brought to the property after a visit to a local fragrance store :). We're glad you enjoyed our spacious rooms, the Solid Oak Mission Style furnishings are beautiful, but from time to time we do run into a lighting issue with the turn-of -the-era Tiffany lamps, but know that we are working on it. We hope you'll come back to see us real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and have not got a bad word to say. We had a very big and clean room with good facilities, there were two double beds and we still had enough space to pull the sofa bed out to make a third bed.

The lobby was particularly spacious with a small shop next to the reception and friendly staff. As there was always someone on the desk the shop was always open. Also, breakfast was complimentary each morning. It was buffet style but had plenty of choice for what to eat and I was particularly impressed by being able to make my own waffles.

Location was excellent as well. A 10 minute walk to the Alamo, Riverside Walk and the Tower of the Americas - as it is so hot outside you would not want to be walking any longer! Although the hotel is right next to the freeway you will be able to see the cars but not hear them, so a good nights sleep will be had. Great value!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hajimaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the spacious rooms (hope you liked the decor), the convenience shop in the lobby and the short walk to the sites...the free parking is a huge plus in the downtown region. I will be sure to share your kind words with the Staff, especially with the Front Desk and Breakfast Crew. See you back soon, for a longer stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Very nice lobby and friendly reception. Very large room with fridge, coffeemaker and microwave. Very large and clean room. Bathroom also very nice and clean.
Nice breakfast selection with everything I 'needed'. Joghurt and fresh fruit was available.

Short walk to the famous 'River walk'.

Only down side: Close to the tracks, every once in a while you can hear a trainwhistle.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaturdaySoftware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Thank you so much for your feedback. I will be sure to share your compliments with our housekeeping staff, they work very hard and do an incredible job...The solid oak mission-style furniture gives a great old era feeling to the rooms, but it's the staff that really brings out the beauty of our property. I have to say the train whistle is VERY UNUSUAL...about 5 years ago one of the wealthiest developers in the Country built a high priced condominium across the street from our property (the Vidorra, I'm sure you saw it). Well with a lot of politicking he was able to stop the train whistles in our area of town, when the rest of the City is still being traversed by multitudes of these noisy creatures :). Anyway, so glad you enjoyed your visit in San Antonio. Hope to see you back soon and we'll keep our eyes and ears open for that rogue train.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Staybridge Suites Downtown San Antonio Convention Center
Best Western Alamo Suites
#87 of 358 in San Antonio
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#11 of 358 in San Antonio
1,147 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
1,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Address: 1103 East Commerce Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#37 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#57 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $114 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Best Western Sunset Suites Riverwalk in San Antonio, Texas. An all-suites boutique hotel offering comfortable, convenient downtown accommodations, free Internet access, on-site parking ($12.95+tax per day), vacation packages and easy access to San Antonio's best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Sunset Suites-Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunset Suites - Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Best Western Riverwalk
Best Western San Antonio
San Antonio Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing