We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible, Filthy, Disgusting Place”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #306 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Henderson, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Horrible, Filthy, Disgusting Place”
Reviewed July 26, 2011

There was a big ball of blonde hair in the tub when I arrived, along with filthy black footprints in the tub. There were dead cockroaches on the bathroom floor, the sink would back up while brushing your teeth. The sheets were NEVER changed. The pillows were filthy. There was an old bar of dry yellowed soap in the shower. I had to go to the front office every night for "clean" towels. There was a disgusting clerk at the front desk that was very rude. I HAD TO REQUEST CLEANING SUPPLIES SO THAT I COULD CLEAN THE NASTY TUB MYSELF!!!! The "breakfast" was stale bagels and every staler cereal. The whole experience was hideous. I booked this hotel on line via a link from Southwest Airlines. If you don't wanna expose your family or yourself to filth STAY AWAY!!!!! The price is exorbitant for the garbage they provide. The tiles around the "pool" are filthy with dirt and mold. The owner is someone named J. Patel....need I say more.

Room Tip: Shop carefully on line....beware.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wildthing667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    11
    10
    28
See reviews for
36
6
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richardson, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

you better book at a different hotel/motel. I stayed with my family in room #126 on Jul 1-2:
no wi-fi, the telephone didn't worked, two lamps neither, bugs in the bathroom, dirty towels, the rug was so dirty and old, the 'free' breakfast was over at 8:45, terrible in every possible way. Went to front desk on Jul 1 to tell about the phone, towels and lamps, they 'took' notes but nothing happened, even when the manager said will call us during the day to fix our accommodation (never called, of course). It is close to Sea World but stinks. I dare the manager and employees to spend a night in room #126 w/o wi-fi, phone service, towels and the bugs in the bathrooom

Room Tip: you'd better find out another facility even if it is no so close to Sea World
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank negroatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland, IA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Do not stay at this hotel! It was the filthiest hotel I've ever seen! Dirty carpet, dead bugs, stained bedspreads, stained sheets, stained pillow cases, pillows from the 50's also stained, mattresses were stained with burn marks on them, dirty shower had not been cleaned in months, dirty toilet, dirty sink with toothpaste in it, cracked moldy mildewed ceiling, food on floor, nothing wiped off, and filthy pool! This was our second room. Our first room was even worse. We were moved to another"cleaner room". Everything was really old and dirty and everything needed replacing. Do yourself a favor and DO NOT STAY HERE!!! If it belonged to me....I would burn it down and start all over!!!

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SimonPhelps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2010

Booked into a smoking room...then moved into a non smoking room. During the night, someone tried to gain access to our room with a card...the third time, my husband conforted the man who said he had been assigned to our room???!! Then the worst part was that when we got home, I found out my new GPS unit was missing from my suitcase along with the GPS charger as well as my charger to my phone and digital camera. My advice....never never stay at this hotel. Not only do they have a thief on staff....but the room was filthy....finger prints on the doors, stains on the linens and tattered towels. My advice is to avoid this hotel at all costs. I'll bet the Hotel 6 just across the way from this hotel would be a better bet.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 33691Clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Far West Side
Quality Inn near Seaworld
Quality Inn near Seaworld
#185 of 357 in San Antonio
103 reviews
Northwest Side
Red Roof Inn San Antonio West Sea World
Far West Side
SpringHill Suites San Antonio SeaWorldR/Lackland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Far West Side
Sleep Inn & Suites near Seaworld
Sleep Inn & Suites near Seaworld
#212 of 357 in San Antonio
48 reviews
Northwest Side
Comfort Suites Near Seaworld
Comfort Suites Near Seaworld
#154 of 357 in San Antonio
185 reviews
Rodeway Inn at Lackland AFB
#248 of 357 in San Antonio
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 2211 SW Loop 410, I-40, exit 7A, San Antonio, TX 78227-2538 (Formerly Knights Inn San Antonio/Near Seaworld)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #306 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel San Antonio Near Seaworld Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing