We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hotel for a Sea World getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham San Antonio by Seaworld
Ranked #168 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My family and I stayed here from July 8th - July 11th. This is a very good budget hotel for families going to Sea World. The staff is extremely professional, friendly, and very accommodating. The hotel has been opened for less than a year and is very clean. When looking for hotels, I was looking for one that shuttled to/from Sea World. This hotel charges only $10 per stay for the shuttle. Very few hotels in this area actually shuttle to Sea World. This amenity is great considering the shuttle drops/picks you up at the front entrance of Sea World. One of the shuttle drivers, Mike, provided a lot of information regarding the area, including places to eat and things to do. His professionalism and hospitality matches, if not exceeds what I expect at high end hotels. Overall, I felt this hotel was very good. I highly recommend this hotel for the budget minded family who wants to spend a few days to experience Sea World. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Keep an open mind when staying here. The walls are thin and there are lots of families that stay he...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank The_Houston_Texan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (659)
There are newer reviews for Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham San Antonio by Seaworld
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

611 - 617 of 659 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2012

Great hotel for a great price....very clean,staff very friendly,very nicely furnish,and near sea world. They even have a shuttle to sea world. if I could say anything negative...maybe breakfast not alot to choose from but ok. I came for a family vacation to sea and was very happy with stay. Stay for 4 nights. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank avargas5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Cons: Long black hairs on the floor in the bathroom floor upon arrival. Ventilation system is horrible - neighbors smoked pot the entire first 24 hours and our room was a fog. Air conditioner unit is loud - not just when it comes on, but the entire cycle. Walls are thin and double rooms are very small - not much room to move around even with 2 adults and 2 small kids. Staff scheduled our shuttle for a different time than we were told to be ready and proceeded to argue with me about it.

Pros: Staff was responsive to our complaints about our pot smoking neighbors and did everything possible to determine where it was coming from. Eventually, they moved us to a completely new room - otherwise, we would have checked out and found another hotel. They did manage to squeeze us onto the shuttle pickup that we were originally told (the one they had written down incorrectly). When we were ready for pickup from Seaworld, we simply had to call and schedule it with the front desk. Location is great - convenient to restaurants, Walmart, HEB, Academy, and about a 10 minute shuttle ride to Seaworld. Shuttle is $10/stay, and we used it frequently back and forth. We tipped the drivers because they were nice enough to stop by Walgreens for us on the way to pick up some meds for our kiddo. Breakfast is typical continental, but ample and plenty of coffee. Pool was clean and hot tub was hot :-) Even have towels for the pool. Rooms have microwaves and fridges, but no coffee maker.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank penrenpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in early July of 2012. This is a fairly new hotel and even the room had the "new" smell to it when we first checked in. The room was a little small but was completely neat and clean with new everything. I will say, the one flaw we found with the room was the paper thin walls. You could hear everything in the surrounding rooms, just regular everyday noises, not even loud obnoxious noises. Other than that, this hotel stay was wonderful. The staff was super friendly from the first moment to the last. The breakfast was good. Consisted of cereals, waffles, oatmeal, yogurt, toast, bagels, muffins. Basic continental breakfast items. The breakfast area was a little small with not enough seating, but if you timed it right and went down earlier than the rest of the crowd, then there was plenty of space. The hotel also offered a shuttle to and from Sea World. While we didn't use it, it is nice that the option was there. The room even had a window seat in it with a cushion and pillow. My children loved this and took turns sleeping there instead of the bed. The beds were extremely comfortable. Overall this was a great hotel to stay at. We would definitely book this again if we ever venture to SeaWorld. It was only about 4 miles from the entrance of the park. I don't think you can go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 171kelly171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Our stay at this hotel was fantastic. Mike, Sandra, and Estella were super friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and the beds were really comfortable. We took the shuttle to Sea World and it was well worth it. Mr. Mike was very nice and informative. Microtel is the place to stay. We highly recommend this hotel. We hope they keep it up like this in years to come.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mckinneym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed 2 nights at location in July 2012. Overall,hotel was clean. Hotel room had a unusual smell when we first walked in which just smelled like it had been closed up for a while. Chose this hotel due to shuttle service to Sea World. After checking in, found out shuttle service was an additional $10 per room which was not advertised on their website. Also found out that Sea World corporate actually owns hotel.
Outdoor pool was small and overcrowded and water was cold even though it was 100 degrees outside.
Staff was polite and complementary breakfast was just toast, waffles, oatmeal and drinks. Not much there including no place to sit down to eat.
Air conditioner system is inter connected between rooms. Was quite a surprised when we got back to our room and it smelled like someone had been smoking marijuana in the room. Complained to front desk and there had been 2 other complaints from rooms on different floors that also smelled like marijuana. Desk clerk called Manager who flat out refused to call the Police on guests breaking the law smoking marijuana. They also did not offer any form of compensation or discount for having to put up with obnoxious smell.
If you are law abiding, find another hotel. If you smoke pot then this is the hotel for you because they will not call the Police on you.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fireeater324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Our stay at this hotel was awesome. We stayed for four nights. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We took advantage of the shuttle bus to sea world. Drops you off at the sea world entrance. The cost of the shuttle bus is only a one time fee of ten dollars. You can use it everyday of your stay. If you decide to drive yourself you will pay 15.00 to park at seaworld. The front desk and the drivers were very knowledgable and informative about area attractions. the place was very clean. Beds very comfortable. The pillows were so comfortable that I purchased some when we checked out. We came here after spending three nights at schiliterbahn. Microtel was 156.00 cheaper a night. Again extremly nice hotel would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: we were room 202 which is the last room very easy access to the pool
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danette b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Far West Side
Comfort Inn Near SeaWorld
Comfort Inn Near SeaWorld
#189 of 358 in San Antonio
95 reviews
Far West Side
Quality Inn near Seaworld
Quality Inn near Seaworld
#194 of 358 in San Antonio
104 reviews
Far West Side
Staybridge Suites San Antonio Sea World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Side
Comfort Suites Near Seaworld
Comfort Suites Near Seaworld
#157 of 358 in San Antonio
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham San Antonio by Seaworld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham San Antonio by Seaworld

Address: 1605 W Loop 1604 S, San Antonio, TX 78245-3199
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range: $68 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham San Antonio by Seaworld 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham San Antonio by Seaworld reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing