We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham San Antonio by Seaworld
Ranked #188 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Our stay at this hotel was fantastic. Mike, Sandra, and Estella were super friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and the beds were really comfortable. We took the shuttle to Sea World and it was well worth it. Mr. Mike was very nice and informative. Microtel is the place to stay. We highly recommend this hotel. We hope they keep it up like this in years to come.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mckinneym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (676)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

632 - 638 of 676 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed 2 nights at location in July 2012. Overall,hotel was clean. Hotel room had a unusual smell when we first walked in which just smelled like it had been closed up for a while. Chose this hotel due to shuttle service to Sea World. After checking in, found out shuttle service was an additional $10 per room which was not advertised on their website. Also found out that Sea World corporate actually owns hotel.
Outdoor pool was small and overcrowded and water was cold even though it was 100 degrees outside.
Staff was polite and complementary breakfast was just toast, waffles, oatmeal and drinks. Not much there including no place to sit down to eat.
Air conditioner system is inter connected between rooms. Was quite a surprised when we got back to our room and it smelled like someone had been smoking marijuana in the room. Complained to front desk and there had been 2 other complaints from rooms on different floors that also smelled like marijuana. Desk clerk called Manager who flat out refused to call the Police on guests breaking the law smoking marijuana. They also did not offer any form of compensation or discount for having to put up with obnoxious smell.
If you are law abiding, find another hotel. If you smoke pot then this is the hotel for you because they will not call the Police on you.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fireeater324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Our stay at this hotel was awesome. We stayed for four nights. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We took advantage of the shuttle bus to sea world. Drops you off at the sea world entrance. The cost of the shuttle bus is only a one time fee of ten dollars. You can use it everyday of your stay. If you decide to drive yourself you will pay 15.00 to park at seaworld. The front desk and the drivers were very knowledgable and informative about area attractions. the place was very clean. Beds very comfortable. The pillows were so comfortable that I purchased some when we checked out. We came here after spending three nights at schiliterbahn. Microtel was 156.00 cheaper a night. Again extremly nice hotel would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: we were room 202 which is the last room very easy access to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danette b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

This place deserves more than 5 stars for an incredible Value! Great rooms, very friendly staff, good free breakfast, and the shuttle service to Sea World really made our trip hassle free! Our driver was cool and also quite informative....he offered many tips about Sea World and San Antonio in general. Schedule your own drop off and pick up times at the front desk. Estella was extremely helpful and very friendly....we knew from the moment we checked in that our stay was going to be a good one. The beds were very comfortable and the cleanliness of everything was absolutely spectacular. Great overall stay for the entire family!

A few side notes:

Someone is missing out on a golden opportunity to open a nice restaurant near this hotel. You have to travel 9.5 miles North from the hotel to find a good selection of restaurants at Loop 1604 and Culebra Road. The Riverwalk is exactly 17.4 miles away...that would be your second best option for dining nearby.

Also, it is kind of annoying that you cannot cross Loop 1604 at Dove Canyon Road, where the hotel is. If you want to go North....you have to travel 1/2 a mile South and turn around. If you're heading North, you have to travel 1.5 miles past the hotel and turn around at Potranco Road. This got old quick, and like I said...kinda annoying.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nayrbness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights for a Lackland AFB graduation. The hotel was great but extremely frustrating to find. Because the hotel is new, the address is not available for those using gps. Placing 1400 Dove Canyon in the gps will bring you to the hotel though. Other than finding the place, the breakfast in the morning was pretty good and they also served an evening cocktail hour for free. The room was very clean and even had high tech touch screen thermometers in the room. Bed was made everyday and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tjeffries22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed at this location one night after visiting Seaworld, which is only 4 miles away. This is a new property and was flawless. Our check in and check out was great; the staff members were very friendly and continually asked if there was anything they could do to make our stay more comfortable. The rooms were spotless with great amenities. The pool was perfect and the hot tub area was even better. The breakfast was really good. Thanks Microtel, we will definitely be staying with you again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group
Thank ctidmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

After searching for a reasonably priced hotel in the San Antonio area, I settled on the Microtel near Sea World.
What I didn't realize is the paper thin walls that separate the rooms and since this hotel is near Sea World, there are a lot of families with kids. The noise was terrible on our second night even after asking the neighbors to please keep the noise down. I also discovered a giant live cricket in the bathtub on the morning of our departure. I will never stay at this hotel chain again.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Far West Side
Comfort Inn Near SeaWorld
Comfort Inn Near SeaWorld
#187 of 357 in San Antonio
96 reviews
Far West Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio NW - Seaworld Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Far West Side
Quality Inn near Seaworld
Quality Inn near Seaworld
#199 of 357 in San Antonio
104 reviews
Northwest Side
Comfort Suites Near Seaworld
Comfort Suites Near Seaworld
#164 of 357 in San Antonio
186 reviews
Far West Side
SpringHill Suites San Antonio SeaWorldR/Lackland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham San Antonio by Seaworld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham San Antonio by Seaworld

Address: 1605 W Loop 1604 S, San Antonio, TX 78245-3199
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range: $66 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham San Antonio by Seaworld 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham San Antonio by Seaworld reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing