We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good chips and salsa ”
Review of Barriba Cantina

Barriba Cantina
Ranked #186 of 4,645 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: It's a new bar/restaurant opened by the people who run the County Line: www.countyline.com
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Good chips and salsa ”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

The chips and salsa were good. The chicken enchiladas were good but nothing special. Not a real good drink or Mexican beer selection either.

Helpful?
Thank jdog99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    137
    48
    25
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for Margaritas, chips & salsa”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

What a fun place to sit outside and enjoy a "mini meal" of chips, salsa, queso and Margaritas! We also had a good time chatting it up with our server, Martin, who provided terrific and friendly service. We'll be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juno33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Surprised”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is not your average Tex-Mex. I cannot say enough about the queso delux there! It was awesome. I also had tacos that were good but needed to have extra napkins a bit messy. But the chips and queso make me wanna go back for more

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Estella J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Loved the tacos!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Went here one day for lunch and had chicken tinga tacos. They were awesome! I recommend getting them with the traditional corn tortilla. They're still soft, but add to the flavor more. They also have a good happy hour, but their tortilla chips were definitely stale, so avoid those.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Summer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Food! Authentic Mexican with a twist...”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We loved the food at Barribas. It was the best of our whole trip to San Antonio. It was authentic Mexican food, with a twist. Great service, fun atmosphere. We didn't make it there at night, but we heard from others that they have live music. Certainly recommend it for a top dinning spot.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heidi Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barriba Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Barriba Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing