We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dinosaur Quest - CLOSED

Dinosaur Quest
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ever been face to face with an Allosaurus? Know why Stegosaurus was a picky eater? And what in the world is a Platybelodon? Take a journey through deep time and discover these dwellers of the distant past at Dinosaur-Quest, a Texas-sized prehistoric adventure for the whole family!Dinosaur Quest features eighteen life-size dinosaur skeletons and over 65 prehistoric skulls in a 20,000 square foot exhibit, displayed under brilliant lighting with dramatic sound. See how dinosaurs lived in high-end computer animation on plasma screens and theater-quality projections. The perfect family attraction, conveniently located in Rivercenter Mall in downtown San Antonio, Texas.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Overpriced even with my groupon coupon. You could see the entire "museum" just by standing at the entrance and looking around the room. No animation or color just dinosaur bones. They have a new thing with different putt putt golf stations throughout the room and if not for this my kids would have been completely bummed. We played putt putt the whole for an hour just trying to make the visit worth it. Should have just taken them somewhere to play putt putt and spent less.big disappointment. Save your money.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    5
    2
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice exhibit and education”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We spoke with Clayton Nye, cousin of Bill Nye "The Science Guy", about the big Sue T-Rex excavation. Very informative.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank adam_ftw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
260 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Dinosaur Quest is a waste of time and money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were the only visitors there and we soon learned why. Fake dinosaur models, very boring, even my six year old was ready to go.

If you want to see authentic dinosaur fossils, travel to the Houston Museum of Natural Science. One word- Amazing.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rsavell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Huge disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Huge disappointment. We took our 3-year-old son, who loves dinosaurs, and we were out in 5 minutes!! It is a boring exhibition in a crappy room, it looks more like a section of an itinerant expo. Among the most aggravating parts of the visit, was that the few skeletons in exhibition are surrounding by a tall fence. So if your child is shorter than 4 feet (like mine), you will have to keep him in your arms at all times.
When were were leaving I asked for a refund (30 dollars to enter that room is a rip off), they denied; the manager did not want to come outside, and the cashier lady just said she could not do it.
In conclusion, expensive, shabby exhibition, not well-suited for children shorter than 4 feet.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Aleja_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copperas Cove, Texas, United States
1 review
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

I have three boys, ages 6, 8, and 10....so dinosaurs are a typical fun attraction. This was not worth the money even with the coupon i spent $47! We stayed for about 30 minutes, and that was trying to drag it out to get our money's worth! We went to the San Antonio Children's museum, spent $30 and about 3 hours there. My boys loved it, and were nice and sweaty too! Next time we make a trip to SA, we will skip the dinosaurs and head straight to the children's museum!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dinosaur Quest also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing