We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you need a decent internet connection...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn San Antonio - Northwoods
Ranked #97 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you need a decent internet connection...”
Reviewed July 17, 2010

If you need a decent internet connection, I highly recommend NOT staying here. Between dropped connections and extremely slow speed when connected, it was a huge disappointment. Room was clean and staff was friendly. High speed internet is pretty much a standard for hotels averaging $100 plus per night rates. I called the front desk which directed me to their overseas helpdesk. No help at all. If you don't need internet service, a nice place to stay. Otherwise steer clear.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jiggers74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    74
    45
    25
    18
See reviews for
139
51
21
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
468 reviews
266 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 388 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2007

I stay at this hotel one to two times per month for about two nights per stay, alternating with the Doubletree at the Airport..

Overall this Hampton Inn is at the top of its game. Breakfast and lobby area is nice, (though a bit small), breakfast is typical Hampton (egg pucks, biscuts, sasuage, breads, pasteries, juice, coffee.) The rooms are always nice, crisp, and clean. The workout room is tucked in a corner and a bit small. I do however bring my bicycle with me when I drive, as there is a nice shoulder to ride on 1604. There are also good sidewalks around the hotel to run.

The location is on the north side, but not far from the airport. There is plenty of dining in walking distance if you dont have a car. Bennigans next door, Firehouse Subs, Pei Wei, Red Robin, etc....all within easy walking distance.

The outdoor pool is average, and they do not have a real business center, but do have a PC and printer in the lobby you can use as a business center.

For its location in San Antonio, the price is reasonable compared to many other choices.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank pcsanity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2007

I cannot say enough about this hotel! We stayed for 4 nights and I will definately book this hotel again when we go back next year. The staff was friendly, the rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfast was great (huge variety of foods). There is free high-speed internet access in the rooms and a free public computer in the lobby with a printer. The pool was clean and well-maintained and a nice way to end the day after sight-seeing all day in the heat. They also have a nice variety of family-friendly cable channels, not just news and local channels.

Also, it is surrounded by a variety of shops and restaurants including a movie theatre and a grocery store - everything you need is less than 1 mile away and easily accessible.

If you are looking for a quiet, inexpensive hotel for your next vacation, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — the pool
  • Disliked — parking lot was small
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Texas_Travelers086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2007

We stayed 3 nights and 4 days at this hotel and enjoyed everything about our stay. The rom was comfortable, clean and well maintained. The staff was friendly and helpful & the breakfast selection was one of the best.

Best of all was the price. I compared prices in all of San Antonio and this was the best rate for the quality of hotel. Unlike other facilities, Hampton Inn Northwoods gave us a lesser rate for the two weekday nights and a higher rate for the weekend night and their weekend price was lesser than the others.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — The cleanliness
  • Disliked — availability to a variety of eating places
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Okie-gram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united states
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2007

Website for this hotel is misleading about King rooms, there are no suites, we were told the room was overbooked when we checked in, we were given a double queen room, The check in person was sarcastic about putting us in a smaller room. The room had ants, no ventalation in bath area, and the halls were very cold, around 60 degrees. Breakfast choices were so-so, and so to refill. and to top it off we were charged twice for the room. Whats disappointing, we are members of the HiltonHonors program, Makes you think twice.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
Thank cruzgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2006

We arrived in San Antonio after a long drive from the Big Bend, and were extremely impressed with this hotel.

The front desk were great, the rooms were huge, and the bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfast was a nice surprise - a variety of hot foods!

It's great value, and the overall standard of service was very high.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tendons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 9, 2006

Room was nice and staff was friendly,

Great breakfast. But missed out on some ammenities that I am used to in other San Antonio hotels. There is not public accessible internet in a "business" center. THey have a pool but it is outside and there is NO jacuzzi. Those things especially the internet would have been a real plus.

Sincerely,
Terry O.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Far North Central
Comfort Suites San Antonio North - Stone Oak
Far North Central
Courtyard San Antonio North/Stone Oak at Legacy
Far North Central
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hotel San Antonio North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Far North Central
Hyatt Place San Antonio-North/Stone Oak
Far North Central
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio North Stone Oak
Far North Central
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill Country Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn San Antonio - Northwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Antonio - Northwoods

Property: Hampton Inn San Antonio - Northwoods
Address: 2127 Gold Canyon Rd, San Antonio, TX 78232-1701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far North Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#70 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Antonio - Northwoods 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near theme parks, golf courses, historical landmarks and an array of shopping malls, the Hampton Inn San Antonio-Northwoods provides a range of thoughtful amenities. Relax in one of the modern guest rooms and take advantage of free high-speed Internet access and an in-room coffee machine. Reward yourself with a movie on the 32-inch flat-panel T.V. Corporate guests can stay focused in the business center. Free high-speed Internet is available in the meeting room along with a range of professional staff on-hand to offer support. Stay energized with a workout in the fitness center or a dip in the hotel pool. Wake up with Hampton's free hot breakfast - offering a delicious range of options to get you off to a good start. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Groupon, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn San Antonio - Northwoods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing