We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Free Parking, Dated Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk)
Ranked #87 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
469 reviews
267 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 392 helpful votes
“Great Location, Free Parking, Dated Hotel”
Reviewed January 24, 2010

The Hampton San Antonio downtown is a relatively old Hampton Inn. The rooms small and the bathrooms are tiny. Room decoration seems rather dated and the climate control is noisy. The rates at this hotel seem to swing quite a bit. The lobby is small but comfortable. They provide cookies in the evening. Check in was efficient and friendly. The rooms have limited desk space, free internet, and acceptably decorated. The beds were comfortable. The room has nice flat screen TV's. The great thing about this location (when the price is reasonable) is that you get free parking. that is very unusual in downtown San Antonio. Climate Control is acceptable and you can leave the blower motor on for white noise.

The only negative of the room was that the curtains did not do a sufficient job of blocking light out of the rooms.

They have a small . The "business center" is a bit weak with only one PC and printer in the lobby, but there never seemed to be a horrible wait. The pool looked typical for a small limited service hotel.

The included breakfast in the morning is typical Hampton. Cut fruit, pastries, "hockey puck" eggs or omelets biscuits, sausage, juice, milk, and coffee. They also have the typical Hampton Grab and Go bags. (Muffin, water, fruit, and cereal bar.)

You have all of the dining and entertainment options of the San Antonio Riverwalk a safe five minute walk away! When the prices are reasonable this is a great option. Otherwise I would consider the Residence Inn across the street for a nicer room and amenities. (though you pay for parking)

I choose to stay here so I can go running on the extended parts of the riverwalk as well as enjoy walking on the riverwalk.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcsanity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    289
    168
    99
    53
See reviews for
284
227
56
305
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2010

Fine Hampton Inn with nothing to boast about except easy walking distance to River Walk and FREE PARKING! (It's impossible to find free parking anywhere near downtown San Antonio.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tj1551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights attending a conference at the convention center, less than a 10 minute walk away. This is not the newest Hampton Inn, but for me I found it very comfortable (extremely comfortable bed too), convenient, much more affordable than other downtown hotels of similar quality, one of the only ones that offers free parking and free wifi, and the staff, from front desk to housekeeping, all very helpful and friendly.

Sure, it may be a bit worn around the edges, but it's clean, safe and completely met my needs - and I am quite a picky traveler.

Be sure to ask for a room away from the freeway - I got a room on the top floor away from the highway with a great view of downtown and the Alamo Dome.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelreviewer333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UPstate NY
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2009

Nice Hotel, Easy walk to Riverwalk and Shopping Mall. Easy in and out if you want to drive to other attractions within San Antonio. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Would recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmptyNestersFinally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2009

I travel with work regularly and generally find Hampton Inns to be of consistent quality. This hotel falls far outside the normal standard.

I arrived in San Antonio for my 10th visit and thought that I'd try the Downtown Hampton as it would be close to the Riverwalk. Unfortunately my stay there was much shorter than I'd planned (1 night instead of 5) due to the poor quality of the hotel.

The first room I was placed in had mold growing around the toilet seat, drain smells when it was flushed and the carpet looked like it was 50 years old with all the wear and tear and dirt that comes with that.

I requested a second room and at first it did look cleaner, however I later realized that the A/C was really noisy at switching, the sink was blocked so the water took 30 minutes to run clear, the toilet had a slow leak so it filled itself every 30 minutes and this room was right on the interstate which made it so noisy in the morning.

The location actually was around a 5 minute walk from the Riverwalk, so the potential is good, but they'd have to change a lot (like flatten it) to make me stay there again.

The place looks like it's had a cheap refresh in the past year in that some paint is sprinkled here and there, but the carpets are old and the elevators so dated - you can see junk in the gaps when they close that looks disgusting.

San Antonio is a really nice place though. I would recommend staying downtown, just not at this hotel, it your first visit as the Riverwalk has a lot of character.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank realwarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dietlikon, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

We enjoyed two nights at this hotel. We were travelling with our 2 kids and my wife's parents. The hotel is very close to the Riverwalk (3-4 minutes to walk) as well as the Alamo (5 min. by foot) and to the Tower of the Americas (maybe 15 min. by foot). The shopping mall at the Riverwalk (3-4 minutes from the hotel) was another highlight. The room was cozy and the king bed very comfortable. Using internet with my laptop was very easy, we would definitely go to this location again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tpschwarz2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2009

Rooms very nice, Flat screen TVs, Great Breakfast, FREE parking , NIce pool friendly staff

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CinnRED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio-Downtown/Market Square
East Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk)

Property: Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk)
Address: 414 Bowie Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#70 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 2 blocks from the River Walk, Rivercenter Mall,and the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center. Around the corner from the Alamo, the Hampton Inn San Antonio-Downtown (River Walk Area) is ten minutes from the San Antonio International Airport. Settle into a comfortable guest room with thoughtful amenities for work and relaxation. Enjoy free high-speed internet access, type away on the handy lap desk or curl up in front of the in-room TV. Start the day right with Hampton's free hot breakfast served daily from 6a to 10a. Stay connected on the lobby computer with free high-speed internet, fax and photocopying. Enjoy a workout in the fitness center or swim in the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk) Hotel San Antonio
Hampton Inn Downtown San Antonio
San Antonio Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing