We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ammmmaaazing Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk)
Ranked #77 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Sugar Land, Texas
2 reviews
“Ammmmaaazing Service”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This Hampton Inn is located just a 5-7 minutes walk from the Rivercenter Mall at the Riverwalk. If you drive, it will probably take you 2 minutes to get to the riverwalk from the hotel. It is a very cozy property and the hotel staff are soo soooo kind and accomodating. I was shocked by their extraordinary service, but then again it is a Hilton hotel so technically that is the way it should be, no less than excellent. It is perfect for a family retreat, with or without kids, ideal for couples or just having a solo near the riverwalk. For business, it also has a business center and meeting rooms. Breakfast is awesome!!! I love the place and my family loves it too. I would definitely go back and also recommed friend and family to visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Muhammad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    279
    158
    95
    46
See reviews for
264
222
52
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The staff was very nice and friendly. They were helpful with information on the area. The room was clean and refreshing. We enjoyed the hot breakfast provided. Location was a big plus as we were able to safely walk to the establishments we wanted to.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gypsy29878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This is an old hotel that has seen many guests. If you have a car, parking will cost you $15 per night and this was not clearly noted on the website. The hotel is clean; but it would benefit from a refreshening.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Gerald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The staff was VERY friendly and helpful and the room was very clean. The complimentary breakfast was great. The hotel was very well located in relation to the Riverwalk, which is what we were there to see. We felt safe walking the short distance to and from the Riverwalk.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, FL
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We arrived on 09 July 2013 at 6:10 PM and were checked in by "Virginia" who was very welcoming and a helpful presence during our whole visit. We were placed in Room 223 close to the elevator which was good, but the elevator was usually quite slow to arrive. The room was fairly worn with not much of a view. That said, rooms are important, but location is everything. This location is wonderful because it is within a 5 minute walk of the Alamo. I hate to pay extra for parking, but in this case the $15 was well spent and less expensive than other hotels. The room was more expensive than our normal fare. However, the room, the parking, and the cost were all trumped by the location and by the wonderful staff. Starting with "Virginia" (who checked us in, offered directions, recommended restaurants, extended our stay a couple hours the next day so we could revisit the Alamo, and checked us out), ALL of the staff we met in the halls or the breakfast area were very friendly! There were two large pitchers of ice water (one with orange slices, the other with lemon slices) near the entrance which we really appreciated. We recommend this hotel and look forward to staying again. Total for stay: $162.30.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The staff was very knowledgable when asked about restaurants and other things to do while in San Antonio. The responded quickly to requests. Location is okay too, within walking distance to Alamo and the convention center.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jose D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Everything I expected from a Hampton except a few surprises. The hotel has a gated parking area however they charge $15 per day. The housekeeping staff needs to pay more attention to the bathroom when cleaning it for a new guest checking into the room, we found alot of hair from the previous person that was in the room. I ended up leaving to stay at another Hampton a few miles north on 35 for a better price, clean room, and free parking.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carolinablue26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
East Side
Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio-Downtown/Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Crockett Hotel
#23 of 355 in San Antonio
1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk)

Property: Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk)
Address: 414 Bowie Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#70 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 2 blocks from the River Walk, Rivercenter Mall,and the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center. Around the corner from the Alamo, the Hampton Inn San Antonio-Downtown (River Walk Area) is ten minutes from the San Antonio International Airport. Settle into a comfortable guest room with thoughtful amenities for work and relaxation. Enjoy free high-speed internet access, type away on the handy lap desk or curl up in front of the in-room TV. Start the day right with Hampton's free hot breakfast served daily from 6a to 10a. Stay connected on the lobby computer with free high-speed internet, fax and photocopying. Enjoy a workout in the fitness center or swim in the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk) Hotel San Antonio
Hampton Inn Downtown San Antonio
San Antonio Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing