We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“River Walk Fun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk)
Ranked #66 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Salina, Kansas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“River Walk Fun”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have been consistently pleased with Hampton Inn since I started staying with them a couple of years ago, and San Antonio Riverwalk was no exception. I still love the beds and pillows, and this was a rather large room with a good layout. I only wish they would have more low-carb fare on their breakfast bar, as I eat low-carb. Great coffee though! Staff was helpful, as I checked in late at night, and was able to stow some luggage after check-out while waiting for a friend to pick me up. Best part?? Walking distance to all the River Walk attractions. I would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Rooms on south side so you can see the sun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kssnflwr69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    272
    154
    91
    39
See reviews for
255
215
50
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Bathroom shelves were you placed towels were very dusty. room did not have a great smell and the bathroom needed to be clean a little better. Hallways noisy were you could hear doors being slammed all night...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chug247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben O, Manager at Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk), responded to this review, April 23, 2013
I appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel. I'm very sorry you had a disappointing experience with us and I have addressed these issues with our staff. Exceptional guest service is the foundation of our brand promise and your feedback will help us improve. Thank you once again for your comments.

Ruben Ortega
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

You know how the Hampton prides themselves on the beds. This Hampton has old beds. You could feel the springs on your body. This is the primiary reason why I stay at the Hampton because of their beds, and this time the bed was horrible.

Everything else was great. So if you don't mind that ... Then it was good.

The breakfast was good and the staff was nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridan, Wyoming, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2013

hotel was close to many restaurants, shopping & tourist spots.

only problems were hallway noise and neighbor's noise in the middle of the night, and no connectivity to internet, which was reported within an hour of our checking in, and was supposedly an at&t problem & was never resolved.

management could have followed up with at&t and resolved problem, and checked to be sure it was fixed. we were there two days, which should have been ample time to fix internet problem.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergamo
Level Contributor
100 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is a good hotel.
Rooms are large and clean.
Breakfast is included in the room fee: this is large continental breakfast; all you need for starting the day.
Coffee is always served at the lobby.
Internet wi-fi is present in all rooms and hotel.
Gym is available too: this is very small, but it is a modern gym.

The location is OK: 10 mins walk from THE ALAMO, in the town-centre.

Only one bad aspect: the hotel is located in front of a highway (or something similar). If the room is on the that side, the night can be noisy. That was my case: I slept with the earplugs indeed.
My reccomendation is: ask to stay in a room not in front of the highway.

For the rest, the hotel is ok.


Oh...also, the hotel has NO restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in a room not in front of the highway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bergamo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben O, Manager at Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk), responded to this review, April 23, 2013
I’m sorry we were not able to provide you with a great experience during your recent stay. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we appreciate your feedback about the traffic noise. Your comments will help us to correct these issues. We hope you will consider staying with us the next time you are in the area

Ruben Ortega
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
295 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Was just here for a conference downtown, and stayed here for the proximity to everything we needed to do. Staff is amazing, from the desk to the cleaning staff. Always had a smile and a very friendly hello. Beds are comfortable, rooms are quiet. I had a room across from the elevator and was worried, but wasn't disturbed at all by any outside the room noises. Even with a very crowded and busy breakfast area, the staff is well prepared and was able to accomadate any needs.

Room Tip: As far as I could tell, any room, even close to the elevators are a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2013

My Stay AT The Hampton Inn Downtown San Antonio Was Great Overall. The staff was 5 star they went above and beyond to make my stay the best it could be. I loved the location as it was close to places I needed to access. I could walk to the shopping areas. It was close to a lot of good places to eat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
East Side
Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio-Downtown/Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#13 of 354 in San Antonio
1,075 reviews
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk)

Property: Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk)
Address: 414 Bowie Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#70 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 2 blocks from the River Walk, Rivercenter Mall,and the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center. Around the corner from the Alamo, the Hampton Inn San Antonio-Downtown (River Walk Area) is ten minutes from the San Antonio International Airport. Settle into a comfortable guest room with thoughtful amenities for work and relaxation. Enjoy free high-speed internet access, type away on the handy lap desk or curl up in front of the in-room TV. Start the day right with Hampton's free hot breakfast served daily from 6a to 10a. Stay connected on the lobby computer with free high-speed internet, fax and photocopying. Enjoy a workout in the fitness center or swim in the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk) Hotel San Antonio
Hampton Inn Downtown San Antonio
San Antonio Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing