We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big Scary Birds” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa
Ranked #68 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Big Scary Birds”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

The hotel is beautiful everything was great except for these 2 huge black birds lingering outside of my window.. Worst view ever. I would recommend the stay to anyone its a beautiful hotel beautiful pools fireplace. I would defiantly go back but request a room maybe on the third floor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    374
    239
    162
    136
See reviews for
761
200
43
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

The hotel was an excellent location for our trip to Sea World. Great atmosphere, outside grounds were beautiful. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel 100% to anyone traveling to San Antonio. It is close to shopping, dinning, and other attractions as well as SeaWorld.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Dianne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, General Manager at Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

There is obviously a reason this hotel is ranked among the average in San Antonio, but a Hilton!

It is very convenient to Sea World, but so is the Hyatt. Stay there. I had a suite adjoined by another room. I had given 30,000 Hilton Honors points to upgrade the room. The air conditioning was not working great when I got there, but really got worse Saturday night. I opened the patio doors to let cooler air in and tat was 77 degrees.

Sunday morning I asked that someone service the AC while we were gone for the day. When we got back it was obvious that nothing had been done, and I called and was promised that someone would be "right up" Guess. No show. The next morning at check out I left a feedback form explaining. Today I received an email from the manager apologizing and offering to give me 5000 points. I choked. I had used 30,000 to upgrade to a "deluxe" room without working AC and when the daytime weather was over 100 degrees.

I told him that if he did not see the wrong in that, he could keep his 5000, and since I've not heard back, I guess he did. There are other hotels in the area and the Grand Hyatt is very nice.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodOlDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, General Manager at Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I do apologize for the issue you had with the AC in your room. Our records show that you brought this to our attention after check out. It was unfortunate that this was not fixed prior to your departure and made for a less than comfortable experience. Upgrades to Suites are less than what you had indicated you paid and we did review this to confirm. We will investigate to see if there is a problem in the system. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We got a really great rate on a room for a Tuesday night stay for a last minute trip to Sea World. The room and accommodations (pool, movies outside, fire pit and s'mores) were so nice and relaxing that we ended up spending almost as much time on the hotel grounds as we did in two days at Sea World. The location and free shuttle can't be beat and the customer service was five star!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tell_it_like_it_is26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, General Manager at Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
I am glad that you found your stay to be very relaxing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Shocked at room condition - shower head not clean with lime/calcium build up. Jetted tub dirty. Noisey bar frig.

The smores in the evening were fun with the kids. The pools were also great fun and the kids liked them.

The grill food was delicious and the portions were HUGE.

Also, all the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and while we didn't take advantage of the kids activities, other guests commented how much fun they had.

I was expecting the a better experience from my other stays at Hiltons. I just have a thing for having a clean shower and tub. If you don't mind that, then, this place is a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wbwooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, General Manager at Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for the review. I would have expected a higher rating based on your overall service experience. I do apologize for the issue you had with the calcium build up on the shower head in your room. We have taken corrective action on the issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Be careful when you buy discounts for this hotel. We got a handicap room in a lower floor in front of the pet rooms. If you are allergic you want to make sure you adv. because there are pets allowed. Be very careful with leaving any belongings in your car. The car beside us got broken in to and lots of belongings were stolen, they had adv. it was the second car that has been broken jn to that day. If you are arriving late make sure you call in advance to let the front desk know...after hours is kind of a hassle to check in. We just stayed for a night because we were going to Sea World. We will not be staying again in this property.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MimiDiQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sachse, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

You get what you pay for! If you are like us, we always look for a great deal and jump at the chance. We have stayed at a local compeditor's hotel with many more amenities but a high price. While our stay was not over-the-top, like we had hoped, like we had at the other compeditor's hotel, we never felt this hotel wanted to make our stay over-the-top unless we spent MORE money there than we would have somewhere else. If you are looking for a place to lay your head and nothing else and can find a great deal, this place might be for you. I would not recommend this hotel for a family vacation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#16 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
Far West Side
Courtyard San Antonio SeaWorldR/Westover Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Far West Side
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lackland Hotel & Suites
Far West Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lackland AFB/SeaWorld
Far West Side
Staybridge Suites San Antonio Sea World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa

Property: Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa
Address: 9800 Westover Hills Blvd, San Antonio, TX 78251-4125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#19 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#60 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#60 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in one of San Antonio's premier communities, Hill Country Hotel & Spa is close to San Antonio attractions such as SeaWorld, Fiesta Texas, dining and golf.Take in the views of beautiful courtyards, indigenous plants and lush landscaping at the Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa. Appreciate a hotel that fosters a relaxed atmosphere featuring a massive flagstone fireplace and cozy sofas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel San Antonio
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel And Spa
Hilton Hotel San Antonio
Radisson San Antonio
Radisson Hill Country Resort
San Antonio Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing