We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the area it is a great price but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel
Ranked #82 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The beds were too soft and the room was too hot. The front desk staff was fabulous and the hotel was clean and our room was quiet. Very close to Seaworld. We did not eat at the hotel or have maid service...we were there for three days....we should have pirchased a fan for our room. We tried to leave early but all the other hotels in the area were booked or really expensive. Great hotel for convenience and cleanliness and great front desk staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, General Manager at Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you for the compliments! I think that most of our guests will see the exceptional value that we provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,625)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,139 - 1,145 of 1,625 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

terrible the service was poor was told they were under staffed no bell hop at check in. Long line at check in , billing problems asked to speak to manager was told he was too busy toliet in room did not flush air conditioning was not cold.Food in resturant was horrible not to mention the service was bad

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, General Manager at Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

I appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel. I'm very sorry you had a disappointing experience with us and I have addressed these issues with our staff. Exceptional guest service is the foundation of our brand promise and your feedback will help us improve. Thank you once again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We have visited this hotel a dozen or so times. We really like the amenities and location; however, the breakfast at the Sun Spot has gone down hill over the past few years. The pools are nice, fire pits and nightly movies and smores are fun for the family!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, General Manager at Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you very much for mentioning that you thought the hotel was great. I uderstand that you were not pleaseed with the SunSpot restaurant for breakfast. I will send you a private message to see if you would care to elaborate. Thank You,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This hotel will not be on my list next time I go to San Antonio. The cost of the food was very high, the quality was low. I would not recomend for a family unless you want to order out from a local pizza place or Mc Donalds. The location to Sea world was nice, not worth the price of hotel though.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Shawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, General Manager at Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you very much for the review. I know the review was rated low because of your experience with our Restaurant. I apologize for this and we are making great improvements! We do have a new menu along with great pricing and with broad appeal to be started very shortly. I am sure our guests will be impressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Over the years, I have stayed at this hotel numerous times. It was about a year ago when I started to stay at other hotels in the area. At the time, the GM apologized for the issues and assured me that things were about to turn around for the better. Things have only gotten worst.

On this particular trip, as the elevator doors opened to my floor, I immediately noticed some french fries scattered on the elevator landing. They would remain there for the duration of my five night stay. As I made my way down the hallway, I could see a trail of debris left behind by the housekeepers in front of every room.

Next to my doorway was a four foot pile of soiled linen and towels sitting on the floor. Next to it was a pile of trash. Was this my welcome? Anyone hear of a trash bin or a linen cart?

When I entered my room I immediately noticed stains everywhere – carpet, curtains, walls and the bedspread. In the bathroom there were mildew stains the glass shower hadn’t been cleaned in a long time. This didn’t happen yesterday, this was a long time progressive decline. Was the staff unable to see at how bad things had become or were they not looking at all?

I was there for five days and not once was the trash removed from my room, the floor vacuumed, the sheets changed. The used washrags accumulated in the corner of the shower stall throughout the week.

If this all hadn’t been bad enough, mid-week as I nodded off to sleep, I felt something on my back . It woke me up. When I turned to see what it was, I saw a large 3 inch cockroach running across the bed trying to hide under the sheets. I captured it in a towel and called the front desk.
The Front Desk initially told me they would send someone up. A few moments later, I received a phone call back indicating housekeeping had gone home for the evening and they couldn’t send anyone up. I asked if I was supposed to sleep in the room with the roach, the response was “What would you do if you were home?” Shocked that this was how it was being handled, I said, I wouldn’t have this problem at home. After I hung up, I walked the cockroach down to the front desk.

When I returned to my room, I called the Hilton Hotline, I knew I was not going to get any sort of apology from anyone at the property and I was right. Nobody from the property called to apologize; nobody from the property offered to switch rooms, nobody from the property acknowledged that there was a problem at all.

I spent the remaining nights sleeping fully clothed with the lights on wondering if roaches were going to crawl out from behind the headboard at night and what other bug infestations was I being subject to.

I deliberately postponed posting this review to see if the GM would contact me prior to posting this review. I am sure he will respond to the review but he ignored the problem while I was there.

Room Tip: For a good room, look to the Marriott or Hyatt down the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LAGuy90019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This was our second stay at this location. We recommend this Hilton location to all who visit San Antonio. Proximity to Sea World. Excellent amenities and services. Good in-house food and proximity to many dining places if you want to drive. Pool and pool bar were fabulous. Some nights they show family movies on the big wall next to pool. We will visit this place again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Parag B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex P, General Manager at Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Thank you very murch for the review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for mentioning our wonderful amenities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Shuttle service to Sea World is not was is stated in the vacation package, Wi-Fi in the rooms is bad signal, breakfast buffet food poor quality for price - this hotel is not up to Hilton's standards. I had a bad experience with 2 staff members. Manager was very nice, but overall experience was not good. Certainly not worth the cost!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank jillmoore0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
1,994 reviews
Far West Side
Courtyard San Antonio SeaWorldR/Westover Hills
Far West Side
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch
#15 of 358 in San Antonio
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Far West Side
Staybridge Suites San Antonio Sea World
Far West Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio NW - Seaworld Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel

Address: 9800 Westover Hills Blvd, San Antonio, TX 78251-4125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#19 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#60 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#60 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $112 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take in the views of beautiful courtyards, indigenous plants and landscaping at the Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel. Relax at our hotel near SeaWorld, and enjoy the massive flagstone fireplace and cozy chairs. Conveniently located in one of San Antonio's premier communities, our Hill Country hotel is close to San Antonio attractions including Fiesta Texas, dining, and golf.Settle into a comfy room or suite with warm, Texas ranch-style decor. Find down-filled comforters, marble bathrooms, 32-inch LCD HDTVs and WiFi access. Suites feature rainforest showers and garden tubs with spa jets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel And Spa
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel San Antonio
Hilton Hotel San Antonio
Radisson San Antonio
Radisson Hill Country Resort
San Antonio Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing